Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2003
Probably the most baggy album you are ever likely to hear in your life! Absolute class, even if its only bought for 'weekender'. However every tune on this album is brilliant. Other stand out tracks include it's on, which is upbeat, cocky, also phobia which completely sums up paranioa. Liam Maher also sings in a cockney accent as well which makes it a bit different as this has never really been done before (not including the Small Faces or Chas & Dave). to say that Flowered up are a cockney Happy Mondays is harsh, as they should be treated as a great band, who sound original. Find out for yourself.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2008
A great Manchester album by a bunch of Londoners! Although this is a 'best of' it's basically Flowered Up's one and only album 'A Life with Brian' with 'Weekender' tagged onto the end.
This is all very baggy, a perfect crossover between dance, pop and rock in a similar vein to the Happy Mondays, they even had their own 'Bez' in the shape of Barry Mooncult! For me, 'Mr Happy Reveller' and 'Egg Rush' stand out as quality tracks. It's all good though, however, Liam Maher's cockney shouty singing does grate after a while. Musically though, this was a great band and it's a shame they only lasted such a short time. The highlight of this album is of course the 13-odd minutes of sheer bliss that is 'Weekender'. I make no excuses for comparing it 'Stairway to Heaven' and 'Bohemian Rhapsody' in that it tells a story and cleverly covers different musical bases during it's epic length. It's well worth looking up the film/video to it too (which is a few minutes longer) it really is a piece of art compared to other videos of that time. Buy this album for Weekender, the rest is a bonus!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2001
If for nothing else this album is worth buying just for the 12-inch version of Weekender on it - this band could have been bigger than the Happy Mondays. They were certainly a decent indie/dance crossover band - they had the tunes and a decent singer with attitude but then they go and split up after producing one of the all-time great British singles - Weekender - an anthem for every 9-5, monday to friday wageslave.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2001
This band has produced a real mixture of styles and moods that just about works. They sound like a crisper Happy Mondays or a modern The Small Faces.
I really like the council house rock feel of the album. The lyrics seem like they are meant and nothing seems put on!
You really have to check out Weekender, what a great tune, it really is worth buying this CD just for the 12" version!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Top draw album at a great price. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
I loved flowered up so much, and I put the gig at Nottingham Venus club as one of the most fantastic musical experiences of my life I ended up on stage, on the speaker stacks, with Barry Mooncult sitting on my head - all over the place.
Mental!
Thanks for the good times Liam.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
I downloaded the LP thinking that the 12" version of Weekender was the Andy Weatherall mix (which is absolutely amazing). Unfortunately it isn't. Still - it's a very good version of the track - something to watch out for though if you remember the brilliance of Weatherall's version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
London group with attitude worth it just for weekender
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
Delivery service was in time and no complaints. Wrt to the album itself I am hardly qualified to write a review for Flowered Up, so apologies to their better fans; I only ever remembered the all-time classic WEEKENDER and bought the album just for that track, which happens to be the longest, last, and best one on this album (in my humble opinion of course). There are some other good tunes, some of which sound similar to my fav.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)