Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2001
Has to be the Heavies best Album: all tracks create a sense that you just can't help but move to. 'Have a good time' is excellent, along with the classics such as 'midnight at the oasis', 'back to love' not to mention 'Brother Sister' the whole album in fact just be beaten, a must to buy!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2005
One of the best acid jazz albums ever made!
enough said.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
Listened to this as I drove backwards and forwards to visit my Mum in hospital. She recovered and so did my soul. A beautiful album that grows even stronger with repeated plays. It made an old Jazz/Funkerforget his blues!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2007
I recently dug this out for a re-listen, and must say I don't think its aged particuarly well.

The good points are, you get 15 tracks, with 3 excellent tracks (Dream on Dreamer, Midnight at the Oasis, and Brother Sister), and a consistent sound across all the tracks.

The bad aspect is that I feel that the sound itself has aged, sounding quite overproduced to these 2007 ears, and those three tracks aside, the album has a bit of a sameness to it - not enough stands out.

Only for fans of the acid jazz, funk genre I would say.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Brand New Heavies, class act top rated band. This album just epitomises the jazz Brit cool with a touch of American soul.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This will remain in my view one of the classics of its time and probably Brand New Heavies' best album to date.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Saw them at Koko and Herne Bay. They can do no wrong. Superb musicians playing timeless songs. This album may have been released some time ago, but the funky grooves still feel fresh and up to the minute. Knocks the likes of Daft Punk into a copped hat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Excellent BNH If you're a fan,you'll love it.If you appreciate a bit of acid jazz with brilliant musicianship and vocal performances,give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
I am a huge fan of the Heavies and long may they continue. This is a fantastic album, so freaking talented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
there is no doubt this is their best cd to date !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.69

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)