Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2011
If you ever needed solid proof of why they call Elvis Presley THE KING OF ROCK'n'ROLL, then any argument ends with this CD.

This is Elvis Presley live on stage in August 1969 at his rocking and wildest best. Just pure unadulterated rock'n'roll with a couple of balads. And playing behind him is the tightest rhythm section you will ever hear, put together by Elvis himself and led by guitarist James Burton.

As if to make you sit up to attention, Elvis kicks off with the heaviest and fastest BLUE SUEDE SHOES ever performed, and without leaving you any time to catch your breath he explodes into an electrifying version of JOHNNY B GOODE. By the end of those two songs you feel like you have just been thrown off a moving rollercoaster. Knowing that, Elvis takes pity and soothes you with ARE YOU LONESOME TONIGHT?

But suddenly the pity ends as he again stampedes through the next few tracks. He belts out HOUND DOG, MY BABE and MYSTERY TRAIN/ TIGER MAN with the aggression of a lion that's had a huge rock dropped on its' paw.

As you listen, you are thinking: Is this person real? Is it possible for someone to be this good?

Your question is instantly answered as Elvis rips into SUSPICIOUS MINDS. It is shockingly powerful. This performance alone can supercharge your phone without connecting a charger.

In between this whirlwind of hits, Elvis dazzles you with ALL SHOOK UP, IN THE GHETTO, I CAN'T STOP LOVING YOU, and the Bee Gees' WORDS.

After closing with Can't Help Falling in Love, you realise there is no equal to Elvis Presley. Check out this CD and I dare you to think otherwise.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
This was recorded live at The International Hotel Vegas in August 69. If you are looking at the content and thinking there are only 12 tracks and I've heard them all before - think again. This CD is awesome..its before the 2001 spacey odessy stuff, I think Elvis is wearing a karate suit and there is no orchestra, the sleeve notes are pretty thin and the stage looks like the sort of thing a scout pack would use to put on a gang show.....but Elvis was only about 35 and he lets rip..just play this CD LOUD because its amazing ..
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2004
We don't really have a live concert from Elvis in the 50s, due to the screaming fans and poor recording technology there simply wasn't the chance, but if you're really interested this is the closest we'll ever get.
Recorded in his return to live performing in mid '69, a lean and mean Elvis belts out a collection of his hits, from the 50s rockers ("Blue Suede Shoes" and "Mystery Train") through his then recent hits ("In The Ghetto" and "Suspicious Minds") and finally juices things up with some cover versions ("Words" and "My Babe"). All are fantastic. Elvis is fully committed to all the material, and in deed there isn't a better version of "Blue Suede Shoes" on the market. Elvis at the top of his form is funny, lively and raw. God I wish they had this in video.
Why not 5 stars? The value for money is terrible. The album pulled together songs from all over the gigs, so why not release the whole of one concert or release a best of with more tracks. I know for a fact he sung "What I'd Say", why not pad the album out with that?
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Perfection, as almost always, but this is 'perfect' perfection. This period of Elvis' varied career stands out like a beacon and one doesn't have to be a 'fan' or 'follower' to appreciate the man performing on this album.

Close your eyes and let this enigma of sheer brilliance wash over you - absolute magic from the one and only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Sound is great, forget the fact you may have heard these songs before or have them on another live album, you NEED this one. The sound is so clear, Elvis sounds so fresh, when I heard the album first I was like wow, this is really good and I have good few Elvis albums on cd.
Get it and enjoy, your ears won't believe it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Excellant album I am glad it is on CD now.First got this on LP when it came out first.Good quality in sound and the first Concert(s) on LP.A must for the Elvis fan.One of my favourites!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
I love the album I had the LP. So I bought the cd Elvis sounds grt at his best love the man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
I had this on tape and it's great to have it on CD. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Fantastic mmmhm!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Perfect but I was expecting the double album that I had in the 70's still I shall have to buy the other half now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)