Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
80
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2017
Solid collection of 15 of The Stranglers best known and impressive hits from 1977-1990 with several early, raunchy classics such as 'Peaches', 'Something Better Change' and 'No More Heroes' as well as the smooth early 1980s trio of the gorgeous 'Golden Brown', 'Strange Little Girl' and the Spanish flavoured 'European Female'. In addition, there are a number of well crafted songs such as 'Skin Deep', 'Always The Sun' and, from 1990, the superb cover version of '96 Tears'. Although there are 1 or 2 omissions here, overall this 54 minute album is good value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
Bought as a present for my husband and he was happily singing along and enjoying the tracks. We had forgotten just how many hits the Stranglers have had. Glad I bought it and delivered quickly and with no problems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
The cd inside the stranglers case was the jam best of?!?!? Will not use seller again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
There comes a time in your life when the marker posts of a youth gone by rush past. When I listen to The Stranglers I am transported to Poole Arts Centre and the mass gyrations of fans at their concert. Thirty years and the memories are still fond, hence the purchase of this compilation of their iconic standards. This is Adult-Orientated Rock at its finest with considered performances and musicianship
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
Excellent condition of a great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
Because of the times they sprang from the Stranglers were always known as punk but really they were closer to the Animals or even Slade.
I don't think they had much of an American career but slotted in straight away to both the 60s garage band and the garage revivalists like the Flamin' Groovies.
But if punk means musically deficient like the Sex Pistols or Sham 69 then no way
At least that's how I see it
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2012
I feel that the Stranglers have had a rough time of it in the punk / new wave nostalgia industry and cannot really understand why. Perhaps it's the fact that that they have never split up - OK Hugh left in '91 and there have have been several personnel changes since but the core has never varied - so there has never been the much-hyped reunion tour and subsequent remastering sales pitch to raise their profile. They have just continued to tour and play and do what comes naturally to them.

Anyway be that as it may, I once heard the Stranglers described as the musicians of punk, to the Damned's Jokers, the Clash's politicians and the Sex Pistol's hate figures; and I would at least agree that the Stranglers were the better musically from the off. And the songs on this compilation show this off brilliantly - OK so they get a little cabaret-ish with the brass section coming in near the end of this selection, and they were not initially the strongest lyrically (No More Heroes and Peaches being perhaps the worst offenders) but for me Strange Little Girl is still one of the best and most haunting songs ever, Something better Change is dark and brooding, All Day and All of the Night a great cover of a great song.

All-in-all a great compilation of a much under-rated band who deserve more recognition.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)