Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2000
I've bought Good Feeling after The Man Who and was bowled over by the up beat tempo of it. The Man Who being being so lyrical and 'slow' - it was surprise ! 'All I want to do is rock' goes straight to your bones and keeps you rocking all the way to the 'softer' end of the album - 'More Than Us' a lovely 'smooth' song, amazing! Get it - you won't regret it ! Travis are simply brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Very happy with my purchase x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2003
Debut albums are important, as successful debuts like The Darkness have proved. Those that don’t see the limelight will die out after one-hit wonders, like the unfortunate Deep Blue Something. Which is why those that lie in-between are always difficult to determine whether their first album will also be their last. Good Feeling is one of those albums.
I can tell you now it must have been considered a success, due to The Man Who, The Invisible Band and 12 Memories albums occupying Travis fans CD racks today. But due to the nature of its predecessors, Good Feeling sounds like Travis trying to discover their roots, and unfortunately doesn’t quite match their current material.
The album kicks off with All I Want To Do Is Rock and the sound of drumsticks being hit together, which in musical terms, portrays a dynamic beginning. Disappointment struck me when Fran sings 'Heeeeey’. Although it has a large, resounding feel (repeated through the album) the laid back tempo causes anything, instrumentation and vocals, to drag and slightly spoils what could have been a good introduction song if only faster.
The 2nd track, U16 Girls, suddenly creates the interest you would expect from the first track. The writing is superb; it’s easy listening, slightly rocky, slightly romantic at times, funny at times, but above all it’s faster. It’s difficult to explain if you haven’t heard it, but is definitely one of the top songs on the album. The Line Is Fine comes third and unfortunately repeats the elements of Track 1, especially with the call and response of the word ‘Fine’ at the end of the song. Track 4, 5 and 6 remain similar with the laid-back tempo, although Track 5, Good Feeling, is quite enjoyable.
Tied To The 90’s follows suit to U16 Girls and stands proud alongside it as one of the best tracks. The rock elements don’t tend to drone due to the upbeat tempo and the hint of acoustic guitar playing methods (definitely present in their future material) top it off nicely. The remaining tracks are a general mix of nice but slow and rocky yet dynamically lacking songs, which bring the end to an unfortunate depressing conclusion. For a keen Travis fan my response may seem somewhat harsh, but purchasing The Man Who and The Invisible Band before discovering Good Feeling, has probably affected my viewpoint.
All the lyrics go with their songs so there’s nothing bad about them in that respect. It just falls down in enjoyment on most of the songs…let’s put it this way, there is ‘drag’ and there is ‘draaaaag’. The album itself it less polished than future releases, so their dragging tracks lose out because of this. I definitely prefer The Man Who and The Invisible Band because although the majority of songs are mellow, they at least have a substantial amount of tempo and non-dragging dynamics. But if you’re after Travis with more raw energy, look no further and give Good Feeling a try.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 1999
Good Feeling is brilliant, if you like "The Man Who" you'll love this. It's a fantastic debut album and I can't understand why it's taken them so long to rise to fame. The album contains upbeat singalong tunes such as "Tied to the 90's" and "Happy" plus mellow songs like "More than Us". The music is very similiar to The Man Who, lots of guitars and drums, plus brilliant lyrics. Pop this album in your shopping basket.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2005
Just got this album was was very pleasantly surprised. I got it coz of the fantistic new singles album and it did not disapoint.
Better than the man who which is saying something.
i like travis
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2005
Having Played their fantastic album "The Man Who" almost to death!I was keen to hear more,& eagerly tracked down this earlier 1997 release, which had the following review quote on the front of the CD from Select Magazine... "The Most Heartstoppingly exciting album since Definately Maybe"
I can only assume that,that particular reviewer must be related to someone at their record company, or is indeed a close family friend to a member of the band, because no matter how good Travis are NOW,(& I personally hold them in very high esteem!!)
It`s still no excuse for critics to retrospectively, overpraise this album.
This is not a great debut, & to draw any comparisons to Oasis`s classic first release,is frankly a bit of a joke.
Its 2 stand out tunes are "All I Want To Do Is Rock" & "Happy" which both hint towards the greatness that was to come ,but the other 10 are sadly, quite forgettable.
Heartstopping or Exciting It is not.
Its more of a climb up the ladder, to an later Album that most definately was...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)