Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2001
An amazing debut album. Travis, Radiohead, Coldplay.....classed as wonders of the modern industry, while 10 years or so ago, an energetic Scottish band broke onto the scene and as fast as they were to appear popular, they were gone. Although they still produce, WORLD was there finest and even still to this day SHAME ON YOU beats and strums in my ears. Im older, wiser and for a time I forgot. But listen again and wonder why they were not bigger. Simple as that.
33 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Bought this as a second-hand product from the supplier zoverstocks (for less than the price of a pint) and the condition was excellent, so well played them...

The album is one I had years ago when it was released. I bought it on cassette tape (it was 25 years ago). I was 'revisiting' this digitally and like it better now than I did those 20 odd years ago. Real rock without going totally over the top. Driving vocals from Mark Rankin and plenty of guitar riffs, but no over self indulgent solos. Interestingly, female backing vocal's on a number of tracks feature Texas singer Sharleen Spiteri, who I understand is Rankins cousin. It clearly sound like her on the excellent, atmospheric, closing track 'I Will Be Waiting'.

A totally underrated band. If you like unfussy rock music and haven't heard much by these guys, then do yourself a favour and buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2000
This is a brilliant first album from Gun. They manage to create that unforgettable 80's rock feel in each song. Despite mostly singing about the usual cliches of shattered dreams and losing or lusting after love, these songs are far from being boring or monotonous. Instead, the rocky up-beat tempo and crazy guitaring is guaranteed to put a smile on your face- 'better days' and 'inside out' are prime examples of that. Having said that, i found the title track, 'taking on the world' a little depressing but i still liked it. The opening bars are strangely haunting, an extremely moody but powerful song. The most striking thing about this album is that it sounds like Gun genuinely sing from the heart, there's a real sense of hidden meaning behind the words.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Glad to see GUN are back and performing again. Very under rated band who deserved more success. Better Days and Taking on the World are brilliant tracks.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Very good solid first album from one of glasgows finest rock bands.Should have had more success than they did top notch
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
I was 17 years old when Gun released 'Taking On The World',their debut album, back in 1989 and 20 years later I'm still listening to their songs and am still an avid fan. To me there is something special and unique about this album as, although it is firmly placed in the 'rock' category, nothing else sounds quite like it. Gun went on to release 3 further albums after 'Taking On the World' but, in my opinion, none of their other releases matched the quality of their debut. If you like melodic rock with emotive vocals look no further than this album - I guarantee after you listen to it a couple of times the songs will be among your favourites for many years to come.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
SUPERB ALBUM ,this should have been massive every song is excellent .Saw them live in Sheffield promoting this and were brilliant ..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Brilliant album the two extra discs are great also can not wait for the follow ups.many thanks sean.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Great CD to help bring a few memories back. Good 3 CD package. Better than what I remember.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)