Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Dirty
  • Customer reviews

Dirty
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 August 2017
Back in 1992 I was into Neil Young Pearl Jam Smashing Pumpkins etc .. I have always known about The Sonic Youth since the 80s but never listen to them .. Now some 25ish years later and 49years old I saw the Dirty cd with the extra cd at a bargain price I love a bargain and brought Dirty.. l always remember the Dirty album cover from 1992 it made me laugh and still has the same effect !!! On first listen to Dirty I prefer the calmer or mellow tracks I will get used to the frantic tracks ?? Over all Dirty to me is a solid album from The Sonic Youth and still sounds fresh and raw in 2017 as it did way back in 1992.. I will invest in more The Sonic Youth will buy Sister and Murray Street .. Dirty is well worth the price with or without the extra cd ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
NO farting about with words , this is one hell of a brilliant album (double) even by sonic youth standards,
its easy to get caught up in one then you move on to the next and so on but this has 2 of my all time fav-
sonic youth songs which is something in its self...'Theresa's sound world and Sugar kane are timeless as
is most of their music , its hard sometimes to remember just how long they have been going as a band, and
how close they were to ';punk' ...i dont know of any other band save the velvet underground which by the way
are , to me at least ..the best band i ever heard , that sonic youth come closest for their music.....i love the
pixies ,. the chameleons , and a good few more bands but Sonic Youth just go on and on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
fast - good value, great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2017
great tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2016
One of their best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
We need more sonic youth band's! too much "safe" crap out there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2009
I remember reading a review for this album and a follow up band profile in the now expired Select magazine way back in 1992. I was an acne riddled 17 year old with a zealot attitude towards "good" music namely anything indie/alternative/experimental and "bad" music namely anything pop/MOR/AOR. I lost the original disc in a house move some years ago and speaking about my teens to my better half the other night following the final episode of Skins - Sonic Youth cropped up - when she mentioned Nirvana. I was astonished that she had never heard of Sonic Youth, being into Nirvana. So last week I bought this and what a buy. In amongst the grunge noise and feedback are well crafted songs filled with bitter sweet meloncholy. Like Interpol? Smashing Pumpkins? Nirvana? Pearl Jam? then you will like this album. And after a few listens you may just start to love it. One thing is for sure each track will throw out surprises when you least expect it. Almost, almost a masterpiece.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2003
Dirty and Daydream Nation are the only two Sonic Youth albums I own, but they are both utterly amazing, though for different reasons. In the case of Dirty, its for cooler-than-cool, disaffected post-punk and grunge-pop. More song-based and straight-ahead rock than the somewhat proggy Daydream Nation, its nevertheless tempered with fine bursts of white noise, magical guitar duelling, grinding riffs and propelling, heavy bass.
Everyone mentions '100%' and 'Sugar Kane', and both are good, the former a driving, posturing, cool punk number and the latter a radio-friendly, poppy rock song. However this album by no means stops there. Springing to mind is the utterly wonderful 'Theresa's Sound-world' which builds from quiet, reflective melody to a wall of beautiful, heavy, ear-bleeding noise. 'Drunken Butterfly' is propelled by a catchy riff (recently ripped off by Cooper Temple Clause for their single 'Promises Promises') and an earnestly ironic chorus of 'I love you, I love you, I love you, what's your name?'.
Their political drive comes to the fore on the slower, but equally menacing 'Youth Against Fascism', which contains sneering vocals, a monster of a bass sound and guitars that sound as if they are being ritualistically tortured rather than played. The album veers from creepy ('Shoot', 'On The Strip') to all-out punk ('Orange Rolls, Angel's Spit' and the cover of 'Nic's Fit'). The more commercial 'Chapel Hill' sits alongside 'Sugar Kane' nicely, but every track on here has a sense of melody. Then there is a bit of lunacism, like the strange and twisted closer 'Creme Brulee'.
Every track on this album digs its own musical furrow and the album is all the better for it as despite its length of 15 tracks each one is worthy of high acclaim. Above all, listening to Dirty, you get the sense that they were influencing scores of alternative bands to come: much of the album seems a template for bands like My Vitriol, Cooper Temple Clause and Ikara Colt, 'Youth Against Fascism' seems to have influenced Mclusky and 'Chapel Hill' sounds like it may have wormed its way into the minds of the Manic Street Preachers at times. This is an amazing album, an equal of Daydream Nation, and probably the best starting point for newcomers to this brilliant band.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2017
At the best sonic youth were a damn fantastic band.... Mixing an aggressive sound with a melodic buzzy feedback.... Random lyrics and just an unpredictable energy.. . 'dirty' finds them pretty much putting all the best bits of what went before... After this they went too far down the pretentious turn pike... But let's remember one of amercia's great Bands at the best...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2008
This is the first SY record I've heard (about another 10 followed), and it's still my personal favorite. This time there are actual "songs" in here! Sometimes you can even sing along!! Isn't it strange for a SY record? There are a lot of songs, and a lot of GOOD songs (if not all). It's groovy, heavy, and it's got a definite 90's sound.

That's a good place to start, if you haven't heard anything else by Sonic Youth. It's not "that" weird as the rest of their albums. For me, Sonic Youth never did better than that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)