Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
17
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2016
Very familiar songs on this album, certainly to me, an ardent Joni Mitchell fan.

I'm not going to bore you all with a ten song in-depth review, suffice to say that "Dancin' Clown" was my favourite song.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
A much better album than most of her later offerings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
To be honest I am extremely shocked by some reviews and reviewers over here, they call this album "a not as good as other albums of hers" and whatever names I do not really wish to repeat, such disgraceful and appalling they are.
I want to say that I have been longing for this album on CD, so I have finally bought it and, you know what, I knew it was going to be the record of the records! Words fail to express the joy I am feeling while listening to this masterpiece! "My Secret Place" is such a cosmic, overwhelming and soothing tune, it simply takes me to the outer space from the first notes, or, more relevently, to a secret place. The album represents a collection of stories on a variety of topics still relevant to the present day- wars, environmental issues and global warming, the responsibility of humans to the Mother Earth and what we really are. In actual fact, this record slightly echoes her 1985 predecessor "Dog Eat Dog" in terms of a subject matter, and questions raised in the songs. Music wise, or sonically, this CD is a true masterpiece which must be taken into account and never left out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Not as good as her other albums sadly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
🎸🎸🎸🎸🎸
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
I love joni Mitchell and this one was a replacement of a vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Not her best by any means,but it's Joni Mitchell so whats not to like at this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
I bought this as I have it on vinyl, which isn't played much ( although I have the kit to play it ) so now I can hear the whole album without getting off the couch half way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
DREAMY, ATMOSPHERIC SONGS
This atmospheric album contains several gems, like My Secret Place, a duet with Peter Gabriel. Lakota is a political protest song with a lovely Native American feel, and on Dancin' Clown, Billy Idol and Tom Petty help out on vocals. I don't know if it's mean as a comment on dance culture, but it's an uptempo love song with a catchy tune and contains the phrase "cherchez la femme" which may or may not be a reference to the song by Dr Buzzard's Savannah Band. If so, it's very gentle, inlike for example Frank Zappa's funny but acerbic Dancin' Fool. Cool Water is a dreamy poetic piece with Willie Nelson adding vocals. The lilting, swaying Beat Of Black Wings is ominous and disturbing as it probes the psyche of a disillusioned veteran - a line from the lyric gives the album its title: ""I'm just a chalk mark in a rainstorm." One of my favorites is The Reocurring Dream - a criticism of advertising and shallow materialism that Bongwater's Ann Magnuson explores so delightfully on Bongwater's work - with its interesting arrangement. Chalk Mark concludes with A Bird That Whistles, her gentle interpretation of the traditional Corrina, Corrina. This is a brilliant album that contains some of her most compelling songs.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2003
This album from 1988 has a very cosmoplitan feel for Joni has assembled for this album a diverse cast of players, which includes "Don Henley",Willie Nelson",sax player "Wayne Shorter" and "Benjamin Orr" from the Cars.
Instead of "Thomas Dolby" producing, whose cluttered production buried her previous recording "Dog eat Dog" her ex "Larry Klein" (really great bass player)is in the directors chair. From the superb opening track a duet with "Peter Gabriel" you know this is going to be an audio treat,using a multi-tracked vocal for Ms Michell, this technique turns this track into a haunting song.
This multi-tracked vocal effect is used to great effect throughout the album creating an eerie, echoing quality. This is best exemplified on the centrepiece of the whole album "The Beat of Black wings" where the layered harmonies induce an almost hypnotic melancholy and huge shafts of synthesizer sound wash over its gentle percussive roll, in other words "awesome".
Another stand out track is "The Tea Leaf Prophecy" with guest back ground vocals from "Princes" one time band members "Wendy Melvoin" and "Lisa Coleman".
The track that suffers from lack of quility control is the throw away "Dancin' Clown" which sounds like it was put together on a rainy afternoon.
"Joni" has put together an album which still retains her wit,lyrical sense and intelligence that charaterizes all her work, best album from her in the 80's...
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)