Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.99+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2017
One of the best films ever made!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2001
Of course the movie is absolutely wonderful. One of the best ever made, and when it comes to the soundtrack, it has to be among the best 50's/early 60's compilations ever made. If you have the slightest interest in that kind of music, this is an essential album. It might not contain the most popular songs, the number 1's, of that era (even if it has a few of those as well). Instead it contains only really great songs which really captures the time. Interesting fact. 10 % of the movies budget went to obtaining the music rights, and that really was money well spent.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2005
this is simply the best rock n roll soundtrack of all time i
have only just bought for my collection,after watching the film
loads of times,it follows the film track by track,stand out tracks very hard to pick as all very cool even the less well
know hits but love potion no 9,runaway,party doll are classic.
buy this cd and lose yourself in sheer bliss it magic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2001
I first heard this album years ago upon its release (before I saw the movie) and I was utterly hooked! I bought the album but subsequently 'lost' it (and many others) in a burglary. I searched for a replacement for years only to be told by a very high profile record store that it had been deleted! Now finally I have found a copy! My life is a little more complete now! The Wolfman Jack voice overs really add to the overall panache of this slick compilation of classic tracks which serve to perfectly evoke 1960's American teen spirit. A must for any rock 'n' roll fan or anyone interested in nostalgia. Go buy this album now!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2000
Well what can i say about george lucas's first feature film, and what a classic it is. Having recently watched it, i was was amazed by some of the tunes that were being belted out, one after another, and all classic's, it made the film that much more enjoyable, if you love the 60's music, then i recommend you definatley purchase, this, there just too many good tunes to mention, Fantastic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2003
Of all the categories of music available on compact discs (or cassettes), one of my favorites has always been the movie soundtrack. Not only does a good soundtrack album helps listeners remember favorite scenes from the movies, but it also may inspire them to explore musical styles they would have otherwise never listened to.
Just as John Williams Romantic-era stylings of his Star Wars scores opened my ears and mind to classical music at the age of 14, the songs of various artists featured in the soundtrack for 1973's George Lucas nostalgia-laced American Graffiti opened my heart and soul to the early rock 'n' roll and doo-wop of the late 1950s and early '60s. Having been born in 1963 into a household where only my older sister listened to such artists as The Beatles, Tom Jones and Englebert Humperdinck, it was only in the days of "Happy Days" (a TV sitcom that was inspired by the success of Lucas' first real successful movie) that I got a taste of early rock 'n' roll songs in the vein of "(We're Gonna) Rock Around The Clock," the song that kicks off this 2-CD, 41-song album.
The songs presented here were not only chosen by director George Lucas because they fit the time period (no song here was released after 1962), but also because the songs themselves were like a Greek chorus commenting on the on-screen doings of Steve, Laurie, Curt, John, Carol, Debbie and Toad. If the mood is upbeat, then songs like "Rock Around The Clock" are featured. For more emotionally charged sequences (Steve and Laurie's heart-rending argument at the school dance, for instance), The Platters' famous cover of Kerns' "Smoke Gets In Your Eyes" and "Only You" are perfect accompaniment.
From that first track by Bill Haley and the Comets (such a whimsical and punny band name) to the surfin' crowd-pleasing Beach Boys' "All Summer Long," the original soundtrack album of American Graffiti will not only have listeners who saw the movie remembering the film's various characters and situations, it will also evoke the seemingly more innocent era of that pre-Cuban Missile Crisis summer of '62, with its cruising teenagers, drive-in diners with roller skating waitresses and the optimism of the Kennedy years.
This is a fun soundtrack album to listen to. If you're old enough to remember the era, it will be a personal musical portal to the past. If you're like me, born after 1962 and more familiar with Billy Joel, Bruce Springsteen, Usher, and Britney Spears, give it a listen. It may open your heart and soul to older, yet still wonderful styles of early rock 'n' roll.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
One of the few things that improves with age is nostalgia. The film has had a lasting impression on me since I saw it when first released. I bought the vinyl album soon after and now have the CD/DVD set which still gives me a buzz. If you are a 60's child or fan, American Graffiti is the one for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
Great music from a great time. Nostalgia on a disc!
Bringing back memories from a time gone past, great relaxing driving music!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2000
Some of the greatest rock n roll artists of all time come together to make a perfect album,result one of the greatest soundtrack of all time is being made. I have atleast asked 50 people that have you heard of a movie called American Graffitti, and no one has, then i ask the same people have you heard of the Album, there reply one of the best. This basically is the story a realy known but best music piece of 20th century. From Rocking around the clock, to becoming a fool with Frankei Lymon, and ultimatly almost growing with ChuckBerry, but this isnt all, there is much more from Buddy Holly to the BeachBoys. If there was a question about the History of rock n roll AMERICAN GRAFFITI is the anwser.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
I enjoyed the movie, the sound track has some good tracks on, good to play in the car!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)