Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
Gone Again
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 29 April 2013
brilliant, muse laden, Smith at her quirky best. If you like smith you will love this, If you hate Smith you'll loath this as it is quintessential/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2015
Patti Smith can do no wrong another excellent cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2016
Amazing album, bought as a gift as I like it so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2014
Again. Another gem. Come back to Hebden!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2015
Great job. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2015
Love this album, it's the second time I've bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2007
This double packincludes two of Patti Smith's greatest albums. With Horses, she reinvigorated rock in the mid 1970s. A lot of British Punk was just 3-chord anger, but Horses opened up new worlds with its poetic lyrics and melodicism. This ominous version of Gloria, the lilting reggae of the melancholy Redondo Beach, the evocative surrealism of Kimberly and the violently erotic title track were like nothing else in rock music, and they're still unique and special.

I'm not crazy about each & every track but they all have great worth and Horses will forever stand as a monument to the best in rock music. Excepting the complex title track, all the aforementioned songs are quite accessible and hummable to the mainstream (as opposed to Art Rock) fan.

Gone Again is the brilliant 1996 comeback album. It overwhelmed me since it contains everything that I've always loved about her music, and that I find lacking in the subsequent Peace & Noise and Gung Ho. Although many of the songs are about loss, the overall mood is one of transcendence and strength in adversity, as encapsulated in the lines: "Dead to the world/Alive I awoke." My favourites are the four beautiful ballads Dead To The World, Ravens, Beneath The Southern Cross and the very folky Farewell Reel.

Everything that makes her music great is here: poetic, inspired lyrics, great soaring melodies and that visceral, soul-wrencing voice of hers, plus the passionate playing of the band. The players include John Cale on organ, Tom Verlaine on guitar, Jay Dee Daugherty on drums, Lenny Kaye on drums and Kimberly Smith on mandolin, plus Jeff Buckley (R.I.P.) on backing vocals. Gone Again is definitely one of the Top 5 rock albums of the 90s, and ranks among her best work ever - up there next to Horses and Easter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2001
This brilliant 1996 return by Patti Smith overwhelmed me since it contains everything that I've always loved about her music, and that I find lacking in the subsequent Peace & Noise and Gung Ho. Although many of the songs are about loss, the overall mood is one of transcendence and strength in adversity, as encapsulated in the lines: "Dead to the world/Alive I awoke."
My favourites are the four beautiful ballads Dead To The World, Ravens, Beneath The Southern Cross and the very folky Farewell Reel. Everything that makes her music great is here: poetic, inspired lyrics, great soaring melodies and that visceral, soul-wrencing voice of hers, plus the passionate playing of the band.
The players include John Cale on organ, Tom Verlaine on guitar, Jay Dee Daugherty on drums, Lenny Kaye on drums and Kimberly Smith on mandolin, PLUS Jeff Buckley (R.I.P.) on backing vocals. "Gone Again" is definitely one of the Top 5 rock albums of the 90s, and ranks among her best work ever - up there next to Horses and Easter.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2011
I agree with the above reviews: this is indeed a very special recording, raw, undiluted and direct. Loss has never been more directly imported into popular music and yet, yet!, there's always a glimmer not of hope but of a no less raw life force that gathers strength throughout the songs. What's most surprising is that the reality of loss and the sense of daring go hand-in-hand, never suppressing each other but becoming supportive in a forward-looking momentum. Plus, it's darn good rock music unlike most other. Quite awesome music, really.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Horses
£5.99
Banga
£6.00
Twelve
£5.99
Trampin'
£6.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)