Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
76
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.29+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2007
Just after purchasing the remastered version of A New World Record and listening to Out of the Blue, I guess this is the best ELO-album, the one you'll be going to listen to frequently. It's their grandest sounding-album, complete with choirs and orchestra and it's (almost) a fantasy-concept-album. Other than bands like King Krimson, Yes and Genesis, ELO will never be 'cool'; too much melodies, very influenced by the Beatles, but that never mattered to me.

Highlights are the intro/I can't get it out of my head, Poorboy and the Eldorado/Eldorado(finale)-tracks! If you want to try something by this band, start here (for under four quid!). You'll be amazed!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2006
This is the best of all of ELO's albums, being not as harsh as their early experimental work, neither as over synthesised or over produced as later albums. The album of course benefits from the use of a large orchestra accompanying the main players but this only enhances the fantasy soundscape Jeff Lynne was trying to produce. Standout tracks for me are "Laredo Tornado" I love the bluesy bass line in parts and "Mister Kingdom" the way it goes lifts you up in a crescendo then calms you down again, Brilliant! But hey all the tracks are great! If you only ever buy one ELO album, don't buy one of the multitude of greatest hits, buy THIS!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2001
This is a brilliant beautifully crafted album.It is the essence of great lyrics as in the songs like Cant get it out my head,added to the great music arrangements too,make this a semi-operatic number really, with great choral backing and strings too,and a great thing about this album is that all the songs lead into each other effortlessly.From the prologue right through the rest of the album especially noticable when Mister Kingdom ends and Poor Boy the Greenwood starts.Other great songs are Illusions in G Minor,and Laredo Toredo. Nobodys Child has a kind of blusey feel to it too.A kind of wild west hero rehearsal if you like. When Jeff Lynne and Roy Wood first thought of the ELO this is what they really meant it to be like. It took 4 years to perect the style of there original idea and what proved a great idea in the years to come. This is the electric light orchestras arrival. Bin the albums this is great on cd!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
Eldorado is THE classic ELO album with the perfect fusion of classical and rock music. From the opening track (Eldorado Overture) through 'Can't Get It Out Of My Head' to 'Illusions in G Major' this album is brilliant. Every single tune is extremely catchy and have to be played over and over again. This remastered version includes a demo of 'Dark City' which eventually became 'Laredo Tornado', but the real bonus is the 'Eldorado Instrumental Medley' which is awesome and leaves you wanting more and constantly hitting the rewind button on the CD player.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2008
I remember this one first time around. I bought the vinyl version back in the mid-70s and swapped it recently for the digital version.

As many of the other reviewers have inferred, this is undisputedly the best (or one of the best) ELO albums. I would go further than this and say this is one of the best 70s albums - a real "Desert Island Disk".

If you thought ELO were the progressive violin-rock band of "10538 Overture" and "Showdown" or the poppy pre-electro combo that brought you "Livin Thing" and "Wild West Hero", think again.

"El Dorado" is the missing link between both genres and despite the politically correct attitudes of today that forbids anything called a concept album, all of the songs stand in their own right setting several moods all the way through the quickest 40 minutes of music you'll ever hear.

Very oddly, however, commercial success wasn't forthcoming. True, "Can't Get it Out of My Head" was a top 30 hit, briefly, back in 1975 and that was it as far as singles from the album were concerned. And yet the album bristles with great music and a great story parodied on the front cover artwork by Dorothy's famous red slippers from the 1939 film "Wizard of Oz".

For me, "El Dorado" surpassed the previous and excellent "On the Third Day" and, rather harshly, I would add that ELO went slightly off message with subsequent "Out of the Blue" and "New World Record" efforts although this is a bit like saying that the Aston Martin has been spoiled because the ashtray is full.

"El Dorado" is a more than a gem.....it's a big diamond.

Do yourself a favour.....buy it!!!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am just reviewing the main extra track here, as all the other reviews tell you what you need to know about the main album.
I got this as a 2-4-1-pack (Eldorado plus Secret Messages)in a clever but cheap cardboard sliding (aka scratching) sleeve, but the CDs inside are gems.
I bought the Eldorado extended edition because I had always wanted the Instrumental Medley bonus track. It's exactly what I had expected - some of the orchestral / band 'backing tracks' (no voices) all joined up into an 8-minute mini-overture - just like you're at the opera! It's def worth getting for this extra. Ideally, it would be at the start of the album, to settle you down ready for the main album, overture-style. (You can even have an 8-minute karaoke session on your way to/from work.)
I always thought of the album as a mini-pantomime soundtrack, with the whole recording being quite 'close' - you are in a small local theatre rather than a massive concert hall as the later albums. My vinyl album was very fuzzy, but this remaster is excellent - all the orchestral instruments loud and clear, adding to the magical 'school orchestra and local opera group/drama group' effect. All the ideas that came to fruition a little later (as other reviews) are in place, but with the production a tad under budget. But this is part of the charm. There is a strange magic ;-) to this whole album - a Christmas feel to it. I give it 4 stars because there is no 4.5; and New World Record probably pips it, as nothing will top the last 3 minutes of that one - and there are plenty of other ELO albums just as good or better. The triple box (or, rather, 'book') set is great, too, if still available.
The 2nd extra bonus track is a throwaway 45 second add-on.
I hope that helps if you're looking to buy the extended edition.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
...and it's stupendously good. A Rock Opera. A concept album up there with Sgt Pepper and Dark Side of the Moon IMHO: Jeff Lynne's open-heart musical surgery exploring the theme of unrequited yearnings, that pot of gold at the end of the rainbow - or Dorothy's ruby slippers.

As stated by others, ELO became poppy in the later 'seventies, and prior to this point had been experimenting with some very rough edges. So Eldorado sits on the crest of Lynne's creative wave - the pouring forth of his Hamlet moment (like a Shakespearean tragedy not the cigar), and it must have emptied his soul of a lot of angst as his future records became increasingly light-hearted. It all comes together here, with the first use of an actual orchestra on an ELO record (stand up and take a bow Louis Clark) - as distinct from isolated band members thrashing cello and violin - and a warbly choir that adds so much pathos to the ELO trademark sound, and the sentiments of this album in particular. By definition, everyone thinks ELO = strings. The choral element hardly ever gets a mention, but it really is key to the best symphonic rock I reckon. Lynne is adept at some brilliant dubbed backing vocals on subsequent albums, but on Eldorado his lead vocal has more of an isolated quality, befitting the themes, with the angelic choirs sympathetic but as if looking on from a distance at the hero's turmoil. Jeff Lynne became a very polished singer. He was still in the process of discovering that confidence here, but the wide-ranging theatrical expression and feeling can't be questioned.

The lyrics are oblique enough to allow the listener to apply his own personal framework, as all good prog / conceptual works should be. Personally I have a fancy that the profound Mr Kingdom is a kind of prayer - only with a more poetic title than Dear God. Nobody's Child (surely the real title should be Painted Lady?) drips with lugubrious sensual foreboding: The doom-laden drums and menacing bass, the seedy bar-room piano, the strings with their eyebrows raised, as it were. The track pre-empts the theme of Genesis' The Lady Lies by a mile, and with bags more drama.

Illusions in G Major comes over as a bit fluffy in the overall context, but serves well as a dramatic contrast preluding the album's jewel in the crown, the title track itself: From hyper to depressive slump in a moment. Eldorado, the song, almost out-melancholies Moody Blues classic Melancholy Man, and that's saying something.

The previously unreleased 8 minute bonus track Eldorado Medley is well worth a listen - surely the real Overture that should have come before the spoken intro' on the original album, and might have done so if CDs had been around in 1974. Its inclusion here does give a more satisfying length to the whole, otherwise all-too-brief album. Dark City ('early idea for Laredo Tornado' - but not resembling it in any way, shape, or form!) could be one of those incredibly irritating throw-away out-takes that cheapens and devalues a classic album. But at least it's less than a minute long, and maybe on the plus side you can say it brings a kind of catharsis to the whole. Like a news programme where there's been bloodshed, wars, and famine reported, and then the newsreader turns to the camera with a smile and says, 'But it's alright, because in Wandsworth there's a poodle that can tap dance.'

There are plenty of other good reviews here. But sheer enthusiasm for this glorious album even now after 30-plus years listening... and I just can't help myself. It's a one-off in style and content in the annals of ELO. In fact it's a one-off in... music. There is only one Eldorado.

PS The Amazon track listing above is a bit odd. The first six tracks listed shouldn't be there, at least they're not on my edition. I.e. 12 tracks in total.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
I was coming home from work the other day and started to sing " I can't get it out of my head " So I went looking for this album on Amazon. The last time I played this album was 40 years ago and to see it out again on C.D. and Digitally remastered which is superior was good news and it was better then the vinyl back in 1974 ! If you never had this C.D. then you need to give yourself time so it will grow on you, and I can tell you this, you will not put it down. The Madness of the rock and roll with the combo of choirs and Orchestra Melodies will blow your mind into a world of never never land, that will make you want more and more.
From the Eldorada Overture at the beginning, to " I can't get out of my head " to Laredo Tomado, Mister Kingdom and the Eldorado Finale. This album is exquisite, exceptional, Timeless and imposing. It will leave a dazzling mark on your mind forever, and like me, you will never forget this Awe-inspiring Album which is called Eldorado !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2008
I agree wholly with the other review...I bought this as a risk purchase as my third option in a three for two HMV deal and didn't unwrap it for over a year. What a gem to finally find..its the familiar ELO sound but Jeff Lynne was well on his way to a creative peak with this early album. Don't be put off by the 'concept' album label...you can ignore all that and also all the hoary lyrics. None of that matters as the tunes and instrumentation are superb. It wasn't instantly appealing but I put it on a couple of times in the background and now I can't stop playing it. I get snatches of the songs in my head all day. I'm not a huge ELO fan and I only have their greatest hits vols I and II but this has made me want to try more of their complete albums.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Electric Light Orchestra Eldorado 4 studio album of group. This album stunning break for musicians. First conceptual album of group. Filled with the most beautiful orchestral arrangements. The album is withstood on one breathing. The group wrote music from bottoms to rock, enhancing the skill, but this album deserves special attention. In it influence of Beatles, especially in a verse tune from "Kingdom Mister" which to some extent reminds Beatles "Through the Universe" is tracked, but it only decorates an album. Excellent music, classics 70, for all fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)