Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
80
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2012
One of many Deep Purple compilations, but this one, originally released in 1980, stands out above the rest. The original vinyl release, which features what was then an unprecedented 62 minutes of music, is highly recommended, the front cover of the album is brilliant. The sound quality on the CD release unfortunately was poor. The twelve tracks included are mostly from the Mark II lineup of the band.

This is a recommended purchase for anyone who has all the original studio albums, or for someone who wants all the band's best work in one album. The tracks.
1 Black Night - 1970
2 Speed King (slightly edited) - 1970
3 Fireball - 1971
4 Strange Kind of Woman - 1971
5 Child In Time - 1970
6 Woman from Tokyo - 1973
7 Highway Star - 1972
8 Space Trukkin' - 1972
9 Burn - 1974
10 Stormbringer - 1974
11 Demon's Eye - 1971
12 Smoke on the Water - 1972

Tracks 9 and 10 are the Mark III lineup, which featured David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes in place of Ian Gillan and Roger Glover.
Apart from 'Speed King' all tracks have been preserved in their original full-length versions and there is not one weak moment on here.

The best Deep Purple albums to own are this, along with 'In Rock', 'Fireball', 'Machine Head' and 'Burn', along with some of their many live releases. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2004
Deepest Purple was my very first Deep Purple album. When I first listenedto it I was astonished by the bands musicianship. The tracks are all ofthe Mk 2a era except tracks 9 and 11 wich are Mk 3. I would say thesesongs represent this era probably the best, altough i do miss Fools andMight Just Take Your Life, but you can't get everything. Altough there areno bonus live tracks on this best of compilation, there is a remix ofSpeed King and probably of some other songs altough I can't hear exactly,wich should tempt for older purple fans who already have everything worthhaving. For beginners wondering what deep purple is, this cd is perfect.Buy it if you don't have any deep purple, or if you have everything else.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2008
Have this album on vinyl and cd. It is music from the gods, so glad I bought the vinyl years ago. The only way to describe the music on this album is FANTASTIC. Buy it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
All this great bands great work in one bargain package,just put it on and you are young again and back in the 70,s
From smoke...to child in time all excellent.Fireball,the worlds first speed metal song is ahead of its time.Not a weak track on it.It needs to be in any rock collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
If you're buying this then you already know what you are getting, the songs themselves are iconic. The CD itself however is not; the sound quality is uninspiring. This cd is a prime candidate for remastering, there is no auto-rip either which is a disappointment, if you are buying this for the content great, but for an album that sounds good on a hi-fi then no.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
A superb collection of early 70s rock/prog demonstrating that Purple were melodic as well as thunderously loud in their heyday. Thunderous anthems such as 'Black Night', 'Woman From Tokyo' and the classic 'Child In Time' are all here but I have one slight quibble: Why was the excellent single 'Never Before' left off this compilation when it featured on '24 Carat Purple'? Crazy, guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
This CD covers many of the iconic singles from the band in various incarnations. Good to return to some of the older tracks like 'Fireball' and whilst the lyrics may need some decoding the overall sound is excellent from the band. A good purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I had two or three LPs of Deep Purple so I thought I would get a CD with their well known stuff on it, to remind me what they were about. I'm not disappointed with this selection, maybe a couple more tracks on it of their earlier stuff would have made it a 5*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Excellent, as expected. My only thoughts are over all of these Best, Very Best, Greatest Hits etc is that they are more often just a collection of known tracks -often banded together because of the same publisher, promoter or band line up.
I would love to see the hits of Deep Purple #1, #2, #3 etc to get the same songs with my preferred vocalist, drummer or whatever.
-A problem that will always occur with a band name that has so many personnel changes over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 17 January 2009
Yes the riffs are great, the vocals superb but I think not enough respect has been given to the "backing band"
For me the best bit of "Smoke on the water" is the bit where the bass kicks in. And so it goes on with some of the best bass, keys and drums around, often lost in the overwhelming praise heaped on Gillan/Coverdale and Blackmore.

So listen to "that" riff once more but get behind it and listen, really listen to the other guys
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)