Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 8 May 2017
Whilst this isn't my favourite Springsteen album it is worth owning if your a fan. The songs are very catchy, but I find Springsteen's voice a little inferior on this album, compared to albums such as Darkness on the Edge of Town, where he hits his peak.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2003
Bruce Springsteen's debut album was a solid start to his long partnership with Columbia Records. Recorded with the original lineup of the E-Street Band, featuring Gary Tallent & Clarence Clements, the songs proved to be some of Springsteen's best, and highlighted the future paths he would move towards on his later work. 'Mary, Queen Of Arkansas' is a moving acoustic ballad, which could have easily fitted in on Nebraska, while fans of Manfred Mann would have recognised the original 'Blinded By The Light' with its brilliant lyrical wordplay. Other highlights include the funky 'Spirit In The Night' & the upbeat 'It's Hard To be A Saint In The City,' contrasting with the powerful 'Growin' Up'. While he would go on to create more well known albums, Springsteen's first album is the best way to understand the true style of the man they call the Boss.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2008
First off I should say that I'm a pretty big fan of Springsteen, and my opinion of this album was formed after having listened to, and grown attached to his best known works such as Born to Run, the River, Darkness on the Edge of Town etc. However I think my opinion is just as relevant to people who know little of the great man's music as it is to the cognoscenti.

As the other reviews say this is the first album from the boss & the E street band, and it's got the same early sound which as The Wild, The Innocent & the E Street Shuffle, and which is lost in the production of Born to Run. The band incidentaly are truly excellent throughout the album, from the funky style of It's hard to be a saint in the city to the urgency of Lost in the Flood.

I strongly disagree with those who criticise the album for having simple, or bad lyrics. I think the songs have the classic springsteen mix of poetry and gritty realism as any of his finest works, you've really got to be looking for weaknesses to find any bad points, rather than enjoying the beauty of songs like Spirits in the Night of It's hard to be a saint.

As for the songs, the pick of the bunch for me is Lost in the Flood! If you're a fan of his urban epics, à la Jungleland or Born to Run then this song is simply awesome! The ultimate version of this is on the Hammersmith '75 live CD, it's so powerful it's incredible. Also It's Hard to be a Saint in the City, Spirit in the Night, Blinded by the Light and Grown' Up are the other real standouts, and are among my favourite Springsteen songs.

In summary, I would say if you like anything off Born to Run, Darkness on the Edge of Town, anything before Born in the USA or rock music in general then this album really is essential listening!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2011
I love the early springsteen stuff, at his best in the seventies IMHO
He's madly trying to get everything crammed into this album, probably 'cos he didn't think he'd make another lol.
I prefer this to most of his recordings, and its one CD where I'd not skip a track-simply my favourite is whichever ones playing.

You'll like its funky groove- but not if you like his later stuff _ I hate everything after human touch/lucky town releases- And like almost everything before - esp. nebraska and darkness and born to run and greetings you get the picture
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2011
I am a massive Bruce fan and get more and more into his early material as i get older , this is a great album to show the depth and emotion to the man's music , alot of the tracks on asbury appear on live or greatest hits cd's but to listen to them in their original format only makes them better for me personally .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2009
Released in 1973,this debut is rough around the edges in parts but contains some notable jewels for sure.
The descriptive story telling that bruce is famed for was indeed there from the start,bruces lyrics filling up a canvas in the mind almost as he takes the listener around some of the haunts of his youth,the e street band were present here but werent asked to do anything magnificent,they just did what they did,later on they would become such a legendary backing band,the album contains some real solid work that is as catchy as it is profound,2.5 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2011
I bought this album on the strength of one track I heard on the radio - Growin' Up. Thinking, this guy is different, I bought the album. What a disappointment. Half baked lyrics and the kind of pretentious twaddle, the real Rock Wordsmith, Dylan himself, would have been laughing his head off to.
I abandoned Springsteen at this point, commenting that the guy was an imposter, only to return to his work a couple of years later after hearing the masterful Born To Run. Even today, almost forty years on, I still loathe Greetings and seldom do I return to it. The Wild and The Innocent, is equally as poor; but talent, as they say, will always rise to the top.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2001
What a start! A fresh young product of the Jersey Shore seen producing his first album. Sometimes the first is poor, but this is great. All the songs are so deep and the lyrics are finely written. Lost In The Flood gives a touch of darkness to the album, and It's Hard to Be a Saint is just superb. A great album for any fan of music.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2011
Most will say there are a lot better Springsteen albums. For me this album flows superbly. There isn't one song I would skip unlike most of his albums. Its raw, its emotional. Yes, commercially there are no hit anthems but once you start playing it, you get lost in the music and lyrics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2006
An album you can listen to over and over again. The intricate and colourful collection of lyrics bring real life to the stories behind the songs. A really underated album. Buy it and play it over and over.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)