Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
64
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2005
There are some great tracks on this CD. It's a must-have if you're a big Eagles fan, obviously. If you're not so much, one of the best-of albums is probably a better bet; to get the classic Hotel California etc.
But if this one is going cheap, or if you liked some other stuff by them, this will certainly not dissappoint. Played non stop in my CD player for a few months;
a great buy
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2002
The Eagles are similar to Dire Straits in that one album (Hotel California / Brothers in Arms)tends to overshadow the rest of their output. In both cases the albums released prior to these landmark albums are an infinitely more interesting listening experience. Should you be considering purchasing this album as a result of liking Hotel California and want to delve further into Eagles then you will not be dissapointed. The album is full of superb songs that cover the full range of rockers, ballads and instrumentals without ever sounding pompous and overblown.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
I have been an Eagles fan for 35 years, and have all their albums, they like other groups can and sometime do put out some rubbish but for the most I can truthfully say I have not heard any from the Eagles, the best track for me is 'Journey of the Sorcerer', but when this album came out 'One of these Nights' was top. In 1976 while I was in the States I was lucky enough to go and see the Eagles live where they performed must of the album on stage,. This is a great album and its music will be played long after the Eagles have gone, the pity is there will never be another group like the Eagles and their music,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
I listen to Radio Caroline a lot on the internet and was amazed to hear the full track played (Journey of the Sourcerer) which is of course the soundtrack used for the TV ersion of the Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy. Not the biggest Eagles fan in truth but love this trach so had to buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
2014 Vinyl release which sounds as good if not better than the original vinyl release and is identical in every sense inc the textured sleeve.
The album is most likely the Eagles second best release coming close behind H.C
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Another old Eagles album I have had for years. This replaces the original vinyl with the embossed sleeve. After all these years the music is still fresh and the years have not changed my perceptions of the songs. Even with titles like Chug all Night!

To my mind this is the mark of a great album. But I guess when it comes tot the Eagles I am a bit biased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Bought this CD for Take it to the limit, but the whole CD is fantastic. It is a must have.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2006
The 70's was a decade of excellent music, where creativity was at it's peak and for alot of groups good songwriting was at the forefront.
The quality of this group astounds me. The reason I went for this album is because the title track is catchy, but meaningful. My other favourites are Hollywood Waltz (superb lyrics, that really sums up some people), Lyin' Eyes (A superb classic), Visions (great rock song) and After the Thrill is Gone (a beautiful, apt song that instantly struck a chord with me). The whole group write, sing and play such fantastic songs and they all possess decent singing voices.
Unlike some groups the Eagles sing with feeling and you can tell they mean what they sing. It's no wonder Lyin' Eyes won an award "The cheatin' side of town" is such a great lyric.
I highly recommend this to people who like prog rock and music with feeling.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
A good Eagles album but not their best though. The album has a new addition in the form of Don Felder who adds rock to the mix and a times you can now see the direction they were taking in moving towards a more commercial rock sound.

The album is a mixed bag though and I think creatively the band were in no mans land here with Bernie Leadon being pushed out a bit in favour of syrupy ballads and commercial rock songs.

It was recorded in 1975 though which is considered by some to be the worst year in music history so far, so with that in mind it's not so bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
Classic Eagles album, often overlooked as it was their last album before Hotel California, yet the polished performances of classics such as Lyin Eyes and Take It To The Limit will remain rock classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)