Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 1999
Not in the classic status of his 'Ordinary man' album, but definitely his second best album. Themes on the album are typically Irish ones, immigration and revolution. The courage of as they were know then 'black Irish' immigrants is relayed in The City of Chicago and Bobby Sands' composition 'Back home in Derry'. Homage is at last paid to the heroic 5th international brigade who fought against Franco's force before WWII in the powerful 'Viva La Quinta Brigada'. A couple of the album highlights are 'The Wandering Aoengus' the haunting W.B.Yeats Poem set to a wonderfully simple yet haunting tune and the amazing wordplay of the Legendary Lisdoonvarna. A must have.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2004
This is full of songs that you find yourself singing under your breath - 'Ride On', 'Lisdoonvarna', 'Wandering Aongus' - it's the first album I heard by him, and still my favourite.
I first heard Lisdoonvarna on Irish radio, and thought it was an advertising jingle for the Irish tourist board. Then got to 'massage parlours in horse boxes' and thought - what? Mind you, this is the Irish tourist board. But even so, surely not. But then - Ireland. That place where a tramp can waltz (alone, and quite literally) across a major intersection in Dublin through three lights changes and not one driver will as much as beep or edge forward until he's safely onto pavement again. But even so...
One kindly record store later, I was the proud possessor of a fine (vinyl) record - which this replaced.
My favourite quote? 'This is heaven - this is hell - who cares, who can tell? Anyone for the last few choc ices now.'
Pretty much sums up the music festival experience for me.
The other songs are all completely different, from Lisdoonvarna and from each other - and all good.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
I first heard Christy Moore about 30 years ago at the cambridge folk festival and was completely bowled over by his music. I had this CD on tape for many years until it decided to go missing and I finally got round to replacing it. Christy Moore is an irish folk singer who is really more of a story teller. He sings of love life and the stuggles in Ireland as well as the joy of music and the friendship it brings. His voice is somewhat haunting and if you love folk music and you havent come across Christy Moore then give this a try. I just love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Enjoyed this CD especially as I bought it to listen to when travelling around the Dublin area, however Christy Moor's gravelly voice certainly helped to add atmosphere to the trip. It would have been 5 stars but for some reason CD would not copy from iTunes to iPod
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
I've been listening to irish music for quite a long time but never delved deep into christy's moore music, I only knew him through some video's alongside Sinead o'connor.iI had been dying to buy some cd's to touch by hand if he was as great as Van Morrison.I must say that this album came as a great surprise to me,i'm still not sure if he is in the same league of Van the Man but i would recommend it to anyone who love irish music.I think i'll search for some previous albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
I don't think Christy Moore has bettered this album, either before or since. Obviously it contains the all time classic 'RideOn', but that is only part of the story. Throughout the album Christy sings about local Irish politics and history as well as that of world politics (A familiar subject in much of his 1980s work) The City Of Chicargo, a tail of emigration, written by his brother Barry (Better known as Luka Bloom); Viva La Quinte Brigada, the story of those Irish who fought in the Spanish Civil War against Fascism; El Salador; Back Home in Derry, a story of being banished from Ireland to Australia on a prison ship. Then we have the wonderful Lisdoonvarna a story of the folk festival where many of the stars of the day get a name check; McIllhatton, a tale of poteen making in the Antrim Glens and The Least We Can Do, a tribute to John Lennon. A truly superb album and one well worth buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 1999
Fantastic! An excellent version of Bobby Sand's empathic "Back Home in Derry", a must have for any fan of Irish music!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Any fan of the Irish genre will love this haunting CD with the ever versatile Christy Moore and his soulful guitar playing on Ride On. Buy it now and add to your collection. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
Christy Moore's voice and guitar playing are haunting and spine tingling. There are so many wonderful tracks on this album and the more I play it, the more I love it. It was useful to listen to excerpts from all his albums on Amazon to help me decide which one to buy. I wanted to avoid the 'jokey' Irish songs which are ok in a live performance but for me not so good to keep listening to on CD.
If you like his voice and style there is a great selection here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Only ordered this CD for one particular song - however I've played it and listen to it in the car - Christy Moore's voice is fabulous - love Irish music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)