Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2017
This album and Notorious KIM are definitely her best - classic east-coast hip hop at its absolute finest! This album is full of inspired 70s-funk tunes behind her amazing rapping (and occasional singing), there are so many that get stuck in your head for all the right reasons.

Obviously don't buy this if you don't like swearing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
Had lost my CD originally bought a new one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2016
When I first heard this album, it was jaw-dropping. I had only recently discovered 90s East Coast hip hop (Biggie, Mobb Deep, Big L) and to hear a female voice rapping like this was a revelation. I will never bother with any other of Lil Kim's albums, on the back of reading reviews, but on this album she reigns supreme. Her voice is insidiously sexual, rich and dominating and her flow is golden. Lyrically, this is absolute h* rap, the angle is feral female sexuality and naked adulation of money. But it's so good. The first main track, 'Big Momma Thang' is an absolute classic. The opening lines of the album are "I used to be scared of the d**k. Now I throw lips to the s*** - handle it like a real b***h." Unbeatable. The beat is commercial, but the syncopation is tight. Lil Kim is displaying her status as Queen Bee, the confident alpha. The next track, 'No Time', has a great melody which can be enjoyed once you accept that this is an unabashedly commercial track. Puff Daddy's contributions have cringeworthy lyrics, but it's all fun. 'Spend A Little Doe' is simply beautiful. Lil Kim's rap soars here and the beat is slick and golden. At times, the materialism of the lyrics seems base, but the smooth wistful grooves and Lil Kim's rich delivery more than compensate. At heart, her swagger has an enticing vulnerability. 'Crush on You' is catchy, but I don't really bother with it, as the album version of the track rarely features Lil Kim on it at all, and I just miss her voice. 'Drugs' is the zenith of the album. This is a killer track and the way Lil Kim drops her rhymes is truly sublime. Hearing Biggie in the background adds some romantic poignancy. Charmingly, Biggie is just happy to take a back seat on this track and let Lil Kim weave her magic. 'Mafia Land' is a track that grows on you, with its pensive chorus about loss of female friendship. 'Not Tonight' has the best chorus ever ("I don't want d**k tonight; eat my p***y right") and is brilliantly brazen, with a killer groove. Other than that I don't really bother with any of the other tracks. This is not an album where every track is a classic, but it is studded with sufficient gems to make this album a true work of art.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
For anyone who enjoys hip hop and rap, especially older work from the nineties (not this modern rubbish!), then buy this album! A very enjoyable album, with Lil Kim at her prime. One or two of the tracks are skits / talking interludes. Word of warning, definately not the kind of album to play in front of the parents or kids! Lil Kim certainly doesnt hold back and the majority of the tracks contain very explicit language, so if this isnt your cup of tea then it might be best to give this a miss. Only negative comment I can make is that the track "Ladies night" is the censored version, with quite different lyrics. However, if you want to hear the original version, you can check it out on Youtube.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
nice CD at my fingertips with great and good value for money. played efficiently great.packaging was great and waa received in good time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2000
For anyone who does not like swearing.Don't buy this album.Because this album is proper hardcore music.But for anyone who is a lil kim fan buy this album because all the tracks a pure hiphop music.People who are getting her second album.Don't bother get it because it is rubbish compared to the first album.The best tracks on this album are big momma thang and no time and dreams and many more.Lil kim is the best female rap artist I have ever heard.Because she expresses how she feels.And she says in her lyrics what she has been through in life.And some artist cannot express their feelings like how lil kim can.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
Classic album from when music was good. Biggie was still around to help kim create a really good rap album. Best of her career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
Had this album 10 or more years ago but lost it so bought it again. Superb!!!
Lil Kim at her very best!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
my all time fave album..always puts a smile on my face..love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
The Best Female Hip-Hop Album Of All Time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)