Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
65
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2001
"Staring at the Sea" is a collection of singles from the band's albums from "Three Imaginary Boys" (released in America as "Boys Don't Cry," with a few variations) in 1979 up through "Head on the Door" in 1985. This album provides a fine panorama of the Cure's progression from a power (punk) trio (Killing an Arab, Boys Don't Cry), through the heavily synthesized sounds of Faith (Other Voices), the gothic, drum machine of Pornography (The Hanging Garden), to the Cure's most complex (and commercially successful) arrangements in Head on the Door (Inbetween Days, Close to Me). New fans will instantly fall in love with Boys Don't Cry, Love Cats, Caterpillar, Inbetween Days and Close to Me. "Killing an Arab" was the band's first single, and despite its name, is merely an adaptation of Albert Camus' "The Stranger," not a reflection of any racial animosity. "Charlotte Sometimes" is a gem on this album. It was never released on a full-length album, yet it is a favorite of many Cure fans; the studio version is a bit sluggish, though, and fans will find that songs like "Let's Go to Bed," "The Walk," and "Charlotte" (though cleverly appealing as mid-80s antiquities) are literally transformed by the performances of these songs in the live CDs "Show" and "Paris." This compilation is outstanding, though. New fans are encouraged to check out "Galore," which is a collection of more recent singles that most people are more familiar with, but when you are ready to fall in love with the Cure, and you will, this album should immediately become part of your CD collection.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2002
I'm an admirer of the Cure rather than a fully paid up fan, and don't own any Cure albums other than this, but among the 17 songs here are 5 bona fide masterpieces.
I hadn't heard "Killing an arab" for 20 years, and for me it's the absolute best Cure song ever - the arabian-style guitar, the brilliant guitar work, the atmosphere, the desolate lyrics. "10:15 saturday night" is another work in the same mould - wonderfully atmospheric, brilliant guitar breaks.
"A forest" must be the definitive Cure song - hypnotic bass, guitar and vocals and swooshy sound effects over a drum machine - a bit Doctor Who-ish in a way, and totally - well, yes - brilliant. Then there's "The love cats" - a song which is virtually impossible to sit still to. Double bass and piano - your grandma would love it too. Finally there's "Close to me", a song that's sounds as if it's been put together in the kitchen with string and sellotape, which is what gives it it's charm.
There's a lot of other songs on this album, but for me it's those 5 that make this compilation a must have.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Staring At The Sea was the first Best Of ever released by The Cure and is a perfect compilation if the early years of this unique, highly talented band. It ranges from 1979 to 1985 and begins with the melodic post-punk jangle of Boys Don't Cry and Jumping Someone Else's Train. Into the early 80s, a darker, less immediate art-rock sound develops as epitomised by the brilliant A Forest and Primary. Fortunately for main-man Robert Smith, the gloom lifted slightly as the decade progressed with the highly original and inventive Goth-pop of The Lovecats and Caterpillar taking over as the band's over-riding sound by the middle of the decade.

Already several classics mentioned though there are plenty more present from the still frenetic strumalong pop of In Between Days to the eerie though accessible claustrophobia of Close To Me via the haunting Charlotte Sometimes and mutant disco of The Walk. All of these songs are just about held together by Smith's highly distinctive vocal phrasing and supreme pop-based musical imagination.

Like many people of my age, Staring At The Sea was the first Cure album I bought. I purchased the cassette version though the (then very new) CD album included four extra tracks, the best of which is probably the adolescent angst of 10:15 Saturday Night. Whichever version you have, it is a brilliant album, chronicling most of the best early moments of one of the most unconventional and alternative yet melodic bands of the 80s. It still sounds fresh today and is very highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
The Cure "the early years"! I've recently decided to re-visit some of the bands I once listened to in my youth, and have purchased this cd from The Cure. First off, it's wonderful to hear them again, this album being from the 80's you can certainly hear the purity and the experimentation of sounds that went on. Then when you have a listen to some stuff the guys have done in more recent times, you can hear and feel the progress, what a brilliantly clever and not forgetting, talented, band The Cure are, simply brilliant!
My only wish would be for our own country to better acknowledge our home grown talent much earlier on, rather than waiting for someone to pass away! We have such amazing talented singer songwriters, bands etc, we should do more to better acknowledge them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
A better CD than the best of as it has all the singles. I hadn't heard some for many years but still as fresh etc as when they were firt released. They don't make them like this anymore.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
its been a while since I listened to the Cure but the best part of ordering this CD through Amazon was that I was able to download the tracks via the MP£ download and a few days later had the original CD sent to me in the post - Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
This is a great album for new and old fans of The Cure.
There's a real mix of their styles on here, which I really like.
This is one of my favourite albums, I could play it all day!

(However, if you're not sure about it, I recommend listening on YouTube first.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
I remember buying this on vinyl at a shop in Coppergate when I was young. Played it until the grooves went flat! My friend once bumped into Robert Smith on the Kings Road and then had a go at him! She is like that to be honest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
A must-have for any Cure fan. This compilation has some of the best of their early music, including the controversial "Killing an Arab" (which is not as dangerous as you'd think), the brilliant "10:15 Saturday Night" which always gets toes tapping. 17 superb tracks, well worth the buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2008
...but I do wonder why they insist on making a cd like this, with mostly singles from albums and then one or two non-album releases that you can't find anywhere else. This has some of my favourite ever songs on it, but if I were to buy this album, it would be for the two or so songs that I don't have - it's not really fair/value for money for long time fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse