Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
169
Ride The Lightning
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 September 2017
Ride The Lighting is - for me - Metallica's best album and a true classic. Why 4 stars?

For me, this remastering job isn't great. First of all, it's a remaster from what I would guess is the original mix-down. This is not a re-mix, then remastering exercise, which means it really only involves applying some more modern audio processes to make the final master from the stereo mix down.

For the purest (and for the guy who mixed the album), I suppose this is important because it means the mix is the same - no instrument is louder or quieter than before nor EQ'd differently - which is too bad really because it would be nice to hear a bit more bass guitar. Having said that, at least it's audible on this record (except on Trapped Under Ice where it's basically inaudible) unlike on Master of Puppets (barely audible) and ...And Justice For All (completely inaudible - anybody who tells you they can hear a bass guitar on that record is imagining it).

The end result of all of this is a cleaner, more polished sound and the record is louder than before. However, I think this loudness is achieved at the expense of dynamic range because of compression, which is disappointing. Since I have a very good hi-fi, I'd rather have a quieter record with wider dynamics.

Comparing this back to back with my original (vinyl) copy, I much prefer the original.

In summary, I've added a tiny bit more to Metallica's vast riches but only they will enjoy the benefit. Just as well I didn't buy any of their albums after Justice, which makes me feel slightly better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2013
These days Metallica seem to be something Jeremy Clarkson might whack on his car stereo while driving around being a twat - not cool! However, the first 4 albums they made are super cool! 'Ride The Lightning' displays a natural progression from their debut 'Kill 'Em All', with more mature lyrics, greater musical complexity and better ideas - they really came into their own on this one. It doesn't have any filler tracks and you can play it several times in a row without tiring of it. It's very catchy and, with hindsight, you can see it as the next logical step toward 'Master Of Puppets'(their best album, I reckon). It also has the coolest of all their album sleeves! Just give it a listen and enjoy. Clarkson would s*** in his boat shoes if he were played this monster!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2013
Awesome.........Play it loud and play it proud. Took a long time to get delivered but its worth it. If you love Metallica you will love this. I have played this on my home sound system and I'm blown away by the clarity and aural distinction this vinyl provides. I love vinyl and think its better anyway bit this is really one of the best vinyls i have heard.

Heavy, Fast, Loud..................Nothing else to say!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
In my opinion greater than the (also great) "Master of Puppets", this album showcases early Metallica at the peak of their (early) powers. As with other reviewers, I think that "Fade to Black" is probably the best of the tracks, but "For Whom The Bell Tolls", "Call of Ktulu" and "Creeping Death" are also standout tracks. But the whole album is very, very strong (I think "Master of Puppets" can sometimes seem a bit uneven in quality), and even those tracks that are less than immediate (e.g. "Trapped Under Ice") grow. Overall, awesome album from the (IMHO) best band of thrash metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2014
This vinyl sounds amazing. On Fade to black you can really hear the acoustic bass on the verses I have had the CD for years and I've never noticed it before.
The only down side I guess is that as its 45 RPM there are 2 songs per side so you end up changing side/disks a bit but given how big it sounds its not really a big deal.

All in all very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2017
Wow! What an album! I will say that about every Metallica record up to and including And Justice For All. From Fight Fire With Fire to Creeping Death and ending with The Call Of Ktulu, this record just kicks you in teeth! No matter what anyone may say about their Load/Reload or St Anger records and their faults, this is true Metallica and is a credit to the band!
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2017
Brilliant album - a classic in metal. Anyone who has not had the intense pleasure of listening to this... You are missing out so badly. Get it now. Listen. Your mind will be blown at the pure skill and complexity, brutality and heaviness, yet still maintaining melody. Sheer brilliance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2018
sheer brilliance...but honestly, what else would you expect from Metallica?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2009
Even though i've grown out of metal this is a classic album that sounds great even after all these years. The Riffs are blinding.
The great thing about the earlier Metallica albums is they have a lot of variety in them, obviously they have the thrash tracks that you would expect but they always put the odd acoustic slower track that builds into a monster (Fade to black).
They also have the odd instrumental that are great songs in their own right ,Call of Ktulu and Orion (on master of puppets).
Undoubtedly the killer track is For whom the bell tolls. da-da da-da daaaa!
I still think Master is better, but only just.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2017
The album itself is outstanding and the quality is great. From songs from "For Whom the Bell Tolls" to "Creeping Death", this is certainly the most essential album by Metallica.

The cardboard cover however is very thin and flimsy. When looking at the side, there is no album or artist name. If you can look past this however, it is definitely worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)