Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
52
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2017
Excellent purchase and value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Brilliant and it was delivered very fast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Very enjoyable thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
it good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`The Best of the Pogues' was the sixth album released by The Pogues and marked a watershed for the band. They had sacked founder, principal songwriter and lead singer Shane MacGowan and the album was intended as a end of an era before their projected renascence.

With no lead singer they promoted the album by touring with Joe Strummer and showcased a hybrid of both Clash and Pogues classics. It made a surprisingly pleasant cocktail but failed to promote an album driven by Shane MacGowan.

As a compilation album released whilst vinyl was still the primary media it has many omissions due to length and anyone locking for a full compliment of Pogues classics would be advised to purchase either the later `The Very Best of the Pogues' or `The Ultimate Collection' or buy this along with `The Rest of the Best' released the following year to re-start The Pogues crusade.

That said is does contain fourteen of not only the best The Pogues had to offer but also the best the late eighties had to offer.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2001
When it comes to irish folk rock, there is only one band - the pogues. This album has taken their best songs and created a masterpiece. From the first note of "Fairytale of New York" to the last note of "Body Of An American" this ablum will have you whistling and leave you feeling uplifted. There is simply no other band in the irish folk rock world that can do that.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2004
The Pogues and other very famous Irish artists mean a lot to me, mainly because I was brought up on them, and my parents always played them on holidays and suchlike, so they hold great memories for me. When I first took this CD off my Dad's CD rack and put it on without the usual distractions, I was stunned. What I had failed to notice on hearing it before was the use of witty lyrics, and the way the instruments, however randomly they seem to be played, fit together. It is an album that houses some of the most Irish music I've ever heard, whilst still holding together an amzaing mix of British-punk too. With songs like Thousands are Sailing (tragically missed off the Very Best Of) and The Body of an American it is a must have for any serious music lover. When even I, a 13 year old pop fan, my 20 year old rock fan brother and my 40-something parents all love this CD, it's surely perfect for anybody!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2000
If you enjoy the sound of classic Irish music that has been jazzed up a little then you will love this! The Christmas classic 'Fairytale of New York' is outstanding and, added to crazy tracks like 'Fiesta', this Pogues compilation really shows off what they are all about. The only downpoint about this album is that it can get slightly repetitive with the constant Irish sound but, then again, what more do you expect from an Irish Folk Rock band!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
All of these absolutely fantastic.great.prices, I'd recommend to people who love the pogues.really made up and couldn't, put a proper price on them.Shane Macgowen is a legend.and the seller who got me these things,absolutely brilliant.you deserve, a lot for these.10 out of 10. Thankyou.my very best regards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
An excellent collection of Poguery. Anyone who doesn't have individual Pogues albums might do no better than this super compilation. Those who have some (or all) of the Pogues albums will surely womder why some of their favourite tracks are missing, but that's the nature of "Best of" albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)