Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
17
High Tide
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.80+ £1.26 shipping


on 22 August 2015
I bought the original black vinyl LP around the time I saw High Tide in concert at the Watford Town Hall in the late sixties. Always a great favourite of mine, I still have the LP but wanted a digitally-remastered version and was so pleased to find it on Amazon. I still love all the tracks, including the bonus ones. Probably an acquired taste, but people who remember the late sixties and got hooked on this band would appreciate the brilliant guitar/violin parts as well as the great vocals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2015
Had the album in the seventies ,which was great and now has some excellant bonus material.One of the first heavy metal type bands to be around but are very versatile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2017
great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2015
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2016
I read praises about High Tide's "Sea Shanties," so I bought the copy with bonus tracks. It's kind of like a mix of Blue Cheer, the Doors, a touch of Black Sabbath (for the doomy feel), and with a violin player (who went on to join Hawkwind). While some of it is good, other parts are rather boring, and at times the violin sounds screechy. It's definitely "different" and may appeal to those looking for just that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 July 2013
Frighteningly HUGE riffs overlaid with screaming guitars and violin. High Tide's first album "Sea Shanties" must have disconcerted a number of innocent purchasers (perhaps like the legendary King Crimson concert in front of a crowd expecting some gentle Soul music...)

No let up in these tracks - which power along in a timeless fashion - could be something from a 90's Smashing Pumpkins clone, or else fall-out from a Pearl Jam session - but much MUCH nastier...

Just the sort of thing if you have a headache - you will certainly not notice it whilst playing this. Loud. Very loud. VERY VERY LOUD.

And yet - there is some beauty behind the HUGE sound. There are sections of melancholy, almost gentle passages, but then the onslaught starts again.

And possibly my favourite album cover - the Durer-esque sailing ship (the Marie Celeste) ploughing through a tide of sea monsters. Those were the days...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2016
I saw the original band in 1969 or '70 at Guildford Surrey Uni, an awesome experience. They were incredibly heavy and ahead of their time and Tony Hill played a white SG. I had "Sea Shanties" on vinyl for many years and some of it is still very powerful indeed, especially the standout track, the ferocious, churning "Death Warmed Up". Full-on multitracked fuzz guitars and violin, phased cymbals, the rhythm is driving and the sound of the band massive on this 9-minute piece. I've never heard another track like "Walking Down Their Outlook" either. Beautifully insane and loose. Hill uses the unison bend in his melodic lines more than any other guitarist I know of.

Things are much better organized for the 2nd album but it's not as raw, exciting or powerful IMO. It took a long time to appear, had unattractive cover art and only 3 strangely-titled songs with even weirder lyrics, though the sound and interplay between violin and guitar is still there and better recorded. On the first track there is a section where they almost sound like the Velvet Underground. Truly prog but not commercial enough to sell, High Tide generated a totally unique sound and are part of the mix that led from psychedelia into heavy rock and eventually metal. And they were just bloody amazing when I was 15.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2015
Awesome late 60’s UK heavy psych delivered with force!. Ex Misunderstood member Tony Hill and future Hawkwind member Simon House feature here, House’s brilliant violin work doing battle with Hills guitar, making this LP something very different indeed. Futilists Lament and Walking Down Their Outlook are my personal faves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2005
Well, it has along with the flock 'dinosaur swamp' one of the greatest covers of all time but in my humble opinion this is one of the heaviest albums of all time. The whole thing is a sonic assault from start to finish-think Hawkwind with better musicianship (Simon House joined them) and you've about got it. Guitarist Tony Hill has a unique voice and a mean way with the wah-wah pedal and the violin/guitar battle on 'death warmed up' is unlike anything i've ever heard (note the complicated triplets at the end)even the quieter interludes 'walking down their outlook' are short lived and give way to more manic riffing. The only downside is the track 'missing out' which outstays its welcome by a good five minutes. Nevertheless a great album and much more accessible than the other 'high tide' which is louder, heavier and well, pretty tedious.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2011
high tide were a band that i missed out on in the early 70s, i heard
the track blankman cries on a united artist sampler cd, both myself
and my wife were hooked on it, now thanks to repertoire records and amazon
we were able to buy this excellent disc, after only two plays we were back
on the internet at amazon to order sea shanties another fine album hint,
hint, but back to this album and i have to agree with pr scotts review
the bass work is nothing short of brilliant, the whole album is a work of
musical art, i just wish i had seen them live back then, its a must have album,
great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)