Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
41
4.8 out of 5 stars
Live at Wembley 1986
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.99+ £1.26 shipping

on 30 August 2016
This is a fabulous live double album, catching Queen when they were on top of the world.

Freddie is in great voice (as ever) and works the crowd like a puppeteer. Many of the classics are here and we are also treated to a terrific rock 'n' roll medley which is delivered in typical Queen style!

Recommended for fans and newcomers alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
Fantastic got it two days after order brilliant, small problem inside Cd holder broken but well worth the purchase and opening cover was so simple sell these holders to big company's as they need these easy openers badly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2017
Very good. Like new
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
I can only say that Queen's concert at Wembley Stadium in 86 is "The Concert" the best concert ever. Spectacular
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
There isn't anybody better - only Queen when they're performing live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
I don't think it would be an exaggeration to say that 1986 was the year that crowned Queen's glorious career in rock music.
Nobody seemed to be able to catch up with them after they had released their brilliant albums The Works and A Kind Of Magic. Actually, they were on tour to promote the latter one when they recorded this great double live CD.
As for the songs, they played some old hits like Tie Your Mother Down, Bohemian Rhapsody, Crazy Little Thing Called Love, We Will Rock You and some new favourites like Radio Ga Ga, Hammer To Fall, Is This The World We Created, I Want To Break Free, One Vision, A Kind Of Magic... (the list is literally endless) to please their fans.
I also love the piano solo and the guitar solo and when they play Hello Mary Lou and Tutti Frutti or Big Spender, which shows how great a rock and roll band they were in the name of the attitudes another immortal band just named 'tight and loose'.
Hey, if you like them, treat yourself and buy it until it's available at a moderate price or your collection will never be complete 😊 Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2000
Queen have churned out a few excellent live albums in their time but I didn't expect this box set to be so special. No matter what kind of music you like (and I'm not counting R&B or classical here) you'll find something you'll listen to again and again in this compilation. From the first juicy riff of the immaculate ONE VISION, used as asort of flamboyant intro and quite possibly the best live adaptation of a song ever to have been recorded, to the final few chords of GOD SAVE THE QUEEN, the concert is a trip through the very heart of rock n' roll and captures the spirit of Queen. The best songs by a street are ONE VISION, as mentioned above which leads into TIE YOUR MOTHER DOWN, a sort of mood-setter which gets the stadium rocking with that catchy quitar rhythm and superb vocals by Freddie, A KIND OF MAGIC featuring solos for all four members of the band in an all-out six minute wonder of a song, WHO WANTS TO LIVE FOREVER, a heartfelt ballad that somehow made it on tio the stage (where it sounds a whole lot better than on record let me tell you), BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY that needs no introduction as Queen's best-known song ever, HAMMER TO FALL where Brian excels himself in several stunning solos and where Roger Taylor cements his status as one of the world's greatest drummers, CRAZY LITTLE THING CALLED LOVE, a catchy little ditty that develops into a pedal-to-the-metal hard rock chant halfway through, RADIO GA-GA involving the ritualistic hand-clapping of all 72000 spectators, and of course WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS. Add to that the sublime rendition of ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST, the bone-crunching guitar solos on WE WILL ROCK YOU, the superb and all-too-short SEVEN SEAS OF RHYE, the live staple NOW I'M HERE, a few golden oldies (TUTTI FRUTTI et al), a crackling atmosphere and some hilarious and eerily prophetic comments from Freddie and you have what is surely the best live performance ever caught on tape. This is an absolute must-have for anyone remotely interested in Queen or even just rock music on the whole.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2002
Live At Wembley is a showcase of Queen's eighties stadium rock at their height. Freddie Mercury is going great guns , vocals and sting at his critics in this uncensored record.
Unlike LIVE KILLERS which was bleeped at the introduction of Death On Two Legs Freedie's man in the street railings against his critics and rumour mongers went uncut in this recording.
This was recorded during the 1986 Magic tour and so the show kicked off with One Vision. Expect rocking recitals of Tie Your Mother Down, We Will Rock You, unplugged before it became an MTV trademark in Love Of My Life, sing-a-long in In The Lap Of The Gods and the audience taking over on cue in I Want To Break Free.
Who Wants To Live Forever , a new entry into the charts at that time is introduced. Freddie sings the over the top parts in a slightly lower key for a live setting. I noticed that his 'hah' at Hammer To Fall did not come off too well or as explosive on stage in a live setting compared to the original version in The Works. Space and acoustic limitations made it necessary for him to keep to 'yeah yeah' towards the end of Hammer To Fall.
Queen does some nice covers of Ricky Nelson's Hello Mary Lou(Goodbye Heart), Shirley Basseys' Hey Big Spender and Elvis' You're So Square(Baby I don't care). Spencer Davis Group's Gimme Some Loving is mainly improvised vocal gymnastics and impromptu grunts. Freddie doesn't keep to the original lyrics here but the signature thumping beat is adhered to closely.
Brian May does great guitar chops and bits of Brighton Rock in his solo spot. The Brighton Rock Solo is NOT the Brighton Rock version in Sheer Heart Attack, but delightful just the same!
LIVE MAGIC is only a sampler compared to this record!
It's interesting when you compare LIVE KILLERS, also a double record release of 1979 with this one and see how much the band had matured and note the rich baritone and full bodied resonance of Freddie's voice over a space of 7 years!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
This is a fabulous live double album, catching Queen when they were on top of the world.

Freddie is in great voice (as ever) and works the crowd like a puppeteer. Many of the classics are here and we are also treated to a terrific rock 'n' roll medley which is delivered in typical Queen style!

Recommended for fans and newcomers alike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
I was very lucky 🍀 I picked this up the real deal the original double uk vinyl LP for £5. At a car boot . In nice clean condition....... sounds s Great........buy it and enjoy .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)