Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
18
4.9 out of 5 stars
Nocturne
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 June 2004
What do you really get when a CD says 'live'? Without thinking about it you would probably think a performance recorded at a gig and then put on CD. In the vast majority of cases this is not true, as live recordings are taken into the studio and parts are re-recorded to make them sound better (particularly vocals), and the recordings are the best ones chosen from multiple gigs and then spliced together. With this album you get none of that - it does exactly what it says on the tin! An on the CD case it states - "No overdubs", and it was recorded at one gig at the Royal Albert Hall. This really is a brave step for most bands, who often don't live up to their studio sound when playing live.
Siouxsie and the Banshees were always great live in the early 80's, and this is that period captured warts and all. It's not a perfect recording, as there are a few rough edges from Robert Smith's guitar, and Siouxsie tends to slide into notes if she doesn't hit them too well. Her voice really is in good form at this gig though, and she dominates the performance.
The live versions of songs here are sometimes better than the studio versions as they don't suffer from the overproduction that some were subjected to, particularly in the case of the later material. Songs like 'Dear Prudence' take on a whole new lease of life when heard live, and obscure b-sides like 'Pulled to Bits' have been literally pulled to bits and reconstructed to make a great live song. This really is a great document of the middle (and probably best) period of the band's life, and one that I would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
I am very happy with my alarm it is in great condition good sond quality great songs from the queen of punk. I grew up listening to Sioux's and the banshees this is one of the best albums from this great punk band I like this album very much it is great I would recommend this album get it you won't be disappointed wall worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
another one of my all time favourite bands and I love eveything they have done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Great album I also have the dvd which is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2008
If you want a starting point as to what Siouxie and the Banshees were about, start here.
This a live collection of songs from the first 5 albums, plus the single Dear Prudence and it is stunning, starting with Israel, it just gets better, ending with huge scarey Voodoo Dolly.
Amazing sound, great performance, Robert Smith( The Cure) 'filling in' for the recently departed but brillant guitarist John Mc Geoch ( albums he played on - Kaleidoscope, and Juju), a band on form and enjoying themselves.
get the DVD, as its great to watch.
One of the best live albums ever, in my opinion.
Enjoy
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2004
This is a truly inspiring album. I can remember being a massive Siouxsie fan for many years, before they dropped away and out of the limelight - only to return to release a whole host of 'best of' cds and some other new tracks which in no way ever shaped up to their success around the time Nocturne was released. The album is best listened to with the lights low (or off! by candlelight) especially for the beginning... the very powerful Rite of Spring by Stravinsky.. this sets the atmosphere - you ARE at the Albert Hall! Straight into Israel - turn it up and Mr Severin's bass penetrates your soul! I will not say any more other than - if you were a fan/still are a fan and for some unknown reason, do not own this album, OWN IT.. simple as that. Nuff said.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES - NOCTURNE

Classic line-up, no. 2...

Siouxsie, Budgie, Severin and Robert Smith...

Classic double live album, with faithful renditions of Banshees standards and with a few expanded moments in the mix...a lengthy and gloriously feedback-addled Voodoo Dolly providing a nice counterpoint to the Dear Prudence crowd-pleasery...

Plus, hear the comedian shout for Killing An Arab...

Tracklisting -

Side One -

Israel
Dear Prudence
Paradise Place
Melt!

Side Two -

Cascade
Pulled To Bits
Nightshift
Sin In My Heart

Side Three -

Slowdive
Painted Bird
Happy House
Switch

Side Four -

Spellbound
Helter Skelter
Eve White / Eve Black
Voodoo Dolly
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
Forget the so-called Best-of's which are just compilations of overplayed singles - this is a live set from Siouxsie & The Banshees at their absolute peak (ie. pre-Hyaena).

Nocturne begins with the extraordinary climax of Stravinsky's Rites of Spring and ends with a feedback drenched finale wrenched out of Robert Smith's numerous effects pedals and a mixing desk with all dials turned up to 11.

There is no filler on here whatsoever: it is dominated by songs from Ju-Ju and A Kiss In The Dreamhouse, probably their finest studio LP's. Personal favourites include Night Shift, Painted Bird and Paradise Place (which is far superior to the version on Kaleidescope). Technically all 4 members of the band impress - Budgie's drumming is astonishing and powerful, Severin's bass playing is melodic and unique, Siouxsie's in great voice - and it's wonderful to hear The Cure's Robert Smith enjoying himself on guitar. The mix is great, all 4 of them are clearly distinguishable throughout

Just GET IT, you won't be disappointed.

PS - The DVD is well worth a look too....
66 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2003
The only live album of this inventive group. Many of their great hits are represented. Most of all I like „Dear Prudence", „Melt!", „Cascade", „Happy House" and „Spellbound". The end is quite beyond the threshold of pain and reminds me of certain Lou Reed songs. There is also a video of this concert. Siouxsie behaves as a magician, and her dance seems to be an ongoing incantation ritual. Fascinating.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Truly Superb, Atmospheric and Stunningly Good Live Concert from the band containing most of the best tracks from their first four albums.

And I'm someone who normally doesn't really like Live Albums, but this is something else it's so good!

Very, very Highly Recommended.

Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

A Kiss In The Dreamhouse
£7.18
Tinderbox
£7.24
Hyaena
£5.49
Kaleidoscope
£5.69
The Scream
£7.11

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)