Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
105
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2017
In my opinion Queen at their best,brilliant album great lyrics great music,the later stuff was great but Queen 1 & Queen 2 my favorite's
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
One of my favourites, White Queen so , so beautiful. "So sad her eyes!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
my old one was worn out .. nice to get it back in mint condition again :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Blast from the past - great lp fast service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Ace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Classic nothing else to say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
This is the connoisseur's choice LP for Queen fans. I won't go on about the music because it should just be heard, preferably in one sitting. Side Two of this album is as ambitious as Queen ever got...

The remastering job is awesome. There's still a few issues from the original production but not as many as the first album; and to iron these out would have required some re-recording and thank the gods that May and Taylor weren't tempted to do that!

Well done Bob Ludwig, the campaign for your knighthood begins here!
22 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2004
Message to Queen fans, don't listen to the garbage that people say about this album being just a collection of fairy stories (these people seem to only appreciate Queen for their pop sensibilities), it is brilliant and often under-rated. The collection of songs towards the end of the album are quite simply magnificent! They are all written by Freddie and are connected together like a meledy. Perhaps Freddie had Abbey Road by the Beatles in mind! 'Seven Seas of Rhye' is the best known track on the album and shows Queen at their very best. Other great tracks include 'Father to Son', 'Ogre Battle' and March of the Black Queen' which is a fantastic rock opera track, while at the same time is completely mad! Listening to this song makes it obvious that Bohemian Rhapsody was on the way.
My advice to any Queen fan planning to buy this album is dont listen to any bad reviews, just go out and buy it. Anything by Queen is good!
55 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
if you were brought up on a diet of Radio Ga Ga, It's a Kind of Magic or Under Pressure, you might not see the link between this album and your idea of what Queen are about. This was the second release from a band made up of an artist, a physicist, a biologist and an electronics engineer, all of whom went on to become superstars in the world of Rock and pop. Freddie has gone, John has retired, and good luck to him - he earnt it! Roger and Brian are still going strong in music. It hit me recently that there's more time between Freddie's death and now than there was between the release of this album and the end of queen.
So to the album. The band cited their influences as Hendrix, Led Zeppelin and an array of rock and roll greats. All of those are apparent here. As to is a theme of fantasy. Consider a film set in the middle ages, telling the story of a young prince, born into wealth and power, but now fighting in place of his dead father for the future of his people. You have 'Procession' and 'Father to Son'. Brian May writes a beautiful love song telling of love lost in the melancholy yet powerful 'White Queen'. This track has the feel of a Shakespearian love tragedy, and is beautiful and powerful wth the volume up. Roger chips in with a track which feels a little out of place against the plantagenet backdrop with 'Loser in the End', the tale of a young man leaving home with a sense of bitterness because his mum chose his shoes for him! Side 1 (white - side 2 is black) is imbued with beautiful, majestic guitar work. The distinctive May sound is clearly here, and the production, largely sparse in the first album, is full and thorough here. Freddie's vocals are strong and clear, but a friend of mine once commented that this was the period before his voice broke - unfair I think, but I kind of know what he means. If side white showcased the writing talents of the band, then side black belongs to Freddie...
The second half of this epic is a sheer masterpiece. Sometimes raucous, loud and imposing, sometimes sweet, melodic and gentle. Always utterly imaginative. Ogre battle is self explanitory. It's a fairytale in metal. It's wonderful. In 'Fairy Feller's Masterstroke' Freddie writes a lively commentary on the painting of the same name by Richard Dadd. This poor, afflicted soul painted fantasy with detail and expression, and it seems retrospectively to be the perfect foil for an emergent Freddie. 'March of the Black Queen' is again, a fantasy based tale, with some non-pc lyrics but with power, pace, gentleness and complex multilayered sounds. A reflection of Freddie himself, maybe. Add to that the rueful 'Nevermore' , and the wall of rythmic sound that is 'Funny How Love Is', and we're nearly there. The final track, 'Seven Seas of Rye' featured as a short piano solo on their first album, but has since developed into another fantasy song which tells of a muscle flexing god.
In all this is an excellent album. I've listened to it more times than I can count, and I still love it. If I'm in a particular mood for it then nothing can beat it, but it won't be for all. Technically though, it's great, and the trademarks of Brian's guitars, Roger's complex drumming and Freddie's amazing imagination are all here. Enjoy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)