Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2016
Although this album is a much needed return to form after the patchy nature of 'Hot Space', it falls into the trap of most Queen albums which followed on from the golden era of the 1970s in that it is simply far too commercial for me. Having said that there are 3 classic singles here:- 'It's A Hard Life (a gorgeous power ballad), 'I Want To Break Free' and 'Radio Gaga' and a number of interesting tracks, including 'Machines' and 'Keep Passing the Open Windows', which showcase the delicious talents of Brian May and Freddie Mercury respectively. Definitely worth giving this one another spin in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2002
A highly successful collection of songs and the album that introduced me to Queen as a 12 year old many years ago!
When I first heard "Radio Ga Ga" I was amazed and it is STILL as good today. Every song on the album was released as either an 'a' or 'b' side which alone suggests that Queen had produced the ultimate commercial rock album.
The democratic process surrounding the production of the album brings out the best in Queen and the four singles especially so (each written by a different member of the band). But even if you've got them already on Hits II buy this album for "Is this the World We Created" - a beautiful track sung by Freddie with Brian on guitar. "Keep Passing the Open Windows" is another Queen classic and "Tear it Up" allows Brian to re-create some of that early Queen feel, as does Freddie's tongue-in-cheek "Man on the Prowl" with just a slight nod to "Good old fashioned loverboy". "Machines" is possibly the weakest track which has not aged well, but that is a minor niggle.
Buy this album - you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll want to get out the hoover and clean the house!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2000
This album came immediately after the disastrous Hot Space, and although it only reached number two in the charts, it re-established Queen as one of the great rock bands.
The album is literally full of classics, such as Radio Gaga, I Want To Break Free, It's a Hard Life and Is this the world we created?, and the others are forgotten gems.
In my opinion, The Works marked the beginning of a new era for Queen - one in which they practically re-invented their sound and went on to conquer heights equal to their late seventies successes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2006
If you are new to the band Queen then this is where you should start because it offers the most classic Queen tracks (all of the singles which were released from this album).But there are no fillers, as the remaining tracks show. Aparently the concept of this album is the battle between humans and machines, this is reflected upon in the way that Queen's vocal and musical presence is in conflict with the synthesizers on the album. This gives the album a further boost to its credability

1. Radio Ga Ga - A classic pop/rock song of the eighties,complete with synthesizers and hand clapping in mind.

2. Tear it up - A impressive hard rock song from the mind and pen of Brian May.

3. Its a Hard Life - A fine slice of operatic brilliance.

4. Man on the prowl - Another fun song influenced by 50's rock and roll.

5. Machines (or back to humans) - The very song which brings out the theme of the album in a delicious cocktail of synthesizers, computer voice and mind bending guitar from Brian.

6. I want to Break Free - Another Queen classic, an incredible pop song.

7. Keep passing the open windows - A rock/ballad which has a feel good factor to it which is so typical of Freddie's writing.

8. Hammer to Fall - Another high powered rock song by Brian, a real explosion of sound.

9. Is this the world we created? - Probably the weakest song on the album, however its acoustic softness should win you over.

All in all its legendary, but it may not be legendary in terms of an album, but more so because it contains 9 great songs.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Possibly the last really great Queen album produced. Contains Radio GaGa, I Want To Break Free & Hammer To Fall. As you would expect from Queen some all out rockers and some nice mellow moments (It's A Hard Life, Is This The World We Created). A must own for any self respecting music fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2004
There have been some mixed reviews of this album on amazon, but without doubt this was THE album that took Queen to dizzy heights in the 80s. A short and to-the-point album: 4 smash hits, plus the great Live Aid ballad 'Is this the world we created' (see a recent version of this performed by Andrea Corr and Biran May on the 46664 live album), and two album tracks that were among their best studio tracks of the 80s - 'Back to Humans' and 'Keep Passing the Open Windows'
The album that followed this - Akind of Magic - is one of their worst studio albums, but 86 was the year dominated by their infamous stadium tour.
Like The Game, The Works is a must have album for anyone that wants to see Queen beyond the greatest hits packages. The true test of these two albums is that 20 years on they sound as good and fresh and contemporary today as they did when they were released.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Nice to have this album on CD now so I can play it in the car. The only complaint is that it came in a cardboard sleeve instead of a nice non-eco friendly plastic one, but I'm sure I can get over that, it's the album that counts and it's perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
As an ardent fan of 70's Queen, this would certainly not be my favourite Queen album.
A lot of the songs - like 'Tear It Up' and 'Keep Passing The Open Windows' are quite mediocre and are not that interesting for me. But it is still Queen, and that always means not without genius.
'It's A Hard Life' is a fantastic ballad, with strong similarities to the bands earlier albums-it could have sat perfectly in the albums 'Sheer Heart Attack' or 'A Night At The Opera'.
The other two best known songs from the album are Radio Gaga, which is very smooth and catchy and difficult not to like, and 'I Want To Break Free' which has been used as an anthem of those struggling for freedom throughout the world:
"I Want to Break Free
I Want to Break Free
From your Lies'
You're so self-satisfied I
Don't need you'
...
Then there is the superb enviromental song 'Is This The World We Created' - actually an underrated piece.
'If there's a G-D looking down
What can He think of what we've done
To the world that he created?'

Absolutely.
All in all the album is not bad.
Buy it once you've bought all of Queen's 70's albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 1999
This is easily the best album Queen ever did. Brian May's influence is obviously strong, as most songs have a hard rock edge, which was a welcome change after the funky Hot Space.
'The Works' is a suitable title for the album, since it contains pretty much every type of Queen song that they ever did. Radio Ga Ga is great pop, Tear It Up is hard rock, It's A Hard Life is a gentle ballad, Man On The Prowl is 50's bebop rock, Machines (Back To Humans) is a simply incredible original heavy rock song, I Want To Break Free is hilarious funky pop, Keep Passing The Open windows is a cross between ballad and rock, Hammer To Fall is nearly heavy metal, and Is This The World We Created... is a gentle single acoustic guitar, much like the live version of Love Of My Life.
However, this album is worth buying if only for one thing: Machines (Back To Humans) is by far the best Queen song ever done. Simply incredible. Buy it even if you don't want it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2000
This album has a great number of hits on it. The first song, Radio GaGa still stands as one of Queen's best-known. However, to my mind, it's a great song, recorded badly. That said, the majestic Hard Life and Man on the Prowl take some beating as under-rated songs by Mercury. His most underrated one by a mile though is "Keep Passing the Open Windows". This autobiographical wonder is a beautiful effort, loaded with things that require more than one listening to appreciate. I want to break free and Hammer to Fall both fall into the "Great song badly done" category. Both HUGE live hits, the recordings are too slow, and often lack some of the edge they produced on stage. That said, though the album is far too short, it was one which Queen fans really appreciated, considering that Hot Space had been such a removal from what they were used to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)