Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
138
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2007
"Elvis-That's The Way It Is" appears to battle it out with "I'm 10,000 Years Old - Elvis Country" for the fans favourite Elvis 70's album, and quite rightly so.

The performances on this classic are a mix of studio and live recordings that represent his 32nd movie which was his 1st documentary film that holds as a record of his Stage Show at the time filmed in Las Vegas.

Some powerhouse ballads, including "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'", "Bridge Over Troubled Water" and the gorgeous "Just Pretend" make this one an instant winner. It also features the hit singles "I've Lost You" and "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me" along with Elvis rocking out live on "Patch It Up" and his studio rendition of the rarely heard "Stranger In The Crowd". This album, along with "Elvis Country", "Promised Land" and "Elvis Today", is a far cry from the soppy and silly studio soundtracks from the 1960's like "Harum Scarum", "Paradise Hawaiian Style" and "Clambake".

Brilliant!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
One of my all time favourite Elvis albums. An absolute classic. Brilliant versions of Bridge over troubled water and you've lost that lovin feelin. Along with the superb Just pretend. Not a bad song on the album and all beautifully sung!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
These are some of Elvis's best live performances (before they tired him out), and they are very well recorded by the engineers.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
What an apt title to an iconic record. For anybody, like myself who just wants one record of Elvis, this is the one!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
This has to be the best of the best.Elvis in his heyday,just superb just as I remember.R.C.A.Were the original record company and it has been remastered just as it was then....Singing at his peak.I also have the original album its's a little worn now so this album brings me up to date with my collection.......You can even sing along with the song book inside the cover.great for the Karioke...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
Elvis was so great, he really was, and this is the best of the best. I really can't think of a better album by anybody. Abbey Road by "you know who" is close, but this is magical. In fact, I Just Can't Help Beleivin' how good it is! (The DVD is fabulous too)
33 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2008
I agree largely with what the previous reviewer says. This release lacks any significant new recordings, but I do like these FTD repackages and even though some of the photos are bad re-prints overall its a nice reissue that fits well into ftd's ongoing re-issue programme. I was not too impressed with the sound quality of the original album on here, sounds flat and full of hiss. But the outtakes are clear and punchy.

What a great album, Elvis rarely sounded better than he did here!
44 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
This is arguably Elvis' finest record. I know that there are many fans who will claim that Elvis was at his best during the 50's, others will claim that his return to the Memphis recording studios in '69 resulted in Elvis recording the finest songs of his career. I on the other hand am of the opinion that Elvis' return to the stage in 1969/1970 saw him at his very best. TTWII captures Elvis performing a string of cover versions, in his own inimitable style, and producing recordings that surpass the originals in almost every instance. From the opening strains of 'I Just Can't Help Believin'' (possibly Elvis' best ever song) to the closing track 'Bridge Over Troubled Water', Elvis is on on fine form. For the most part, this album is a collection of beautiful ballads. TTWII combines studio recordings with live recordings (showcased in the rockumentary 'Elvis - That's The Way It Is'). If you appreciate the beauty of Elvis' ballads (songs like 'You Don't Have To Say You Love Me', 'You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling' and 'How The Web Was Woven') then this album is for you.
Two other great Elvis albums to look out for if you like this are: 'On Stage' and 'Back In Memphis'.
Happy listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
this album is one of the most beautiful albums ive had, i used to have it on cassette a long time ago, some of these songs just send goosebumps and the tunes that go with them you just cant compare especially the songs "mary in the morning" and "i've lost you", highly recommended, i could listen to this all day, that is what cost me my cassette, i wore it out, seriously you wont be dissapointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
Elvis is obviously a legend for good reason and I personally think this cd is great, my favourite track is 'Just Pretend', I heard this song played on Radio 2 recently, having never heard it before, but loved it so much that I looked it up on Amazon and consequently bought this cd. Took a star off for the flimsly cd case which broke as soon as I opened it! Delivery great, music fab, cd box cr*p!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)