Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2008
As a rule, I prefer more composed/orchestral type scores BUT of its type this is certainly the best! Theres some really good crossover here via
the collaborations between Rap and Metal artists. This was 1993 so it was ahead of its time
Highlights:
Helmet/House Of Pain: Simple, effective riffs, great production and cool rap from Everlast (House Of Pain). The riff and the percussion will stick in your head for,well,years!!!!

Slayer/Ice T: This cover of legendary punk/hardcore act The Exploited's UK'82/Disorder is perhaps the best crossover track ever - its certainly the angriest! Great vocals from Tom Araya/Ice T and VERY heavy,fast, thrash metal guitar and drums (intense double bass drum climax).

Biohazard/Onyx: Angry,Gang style vocals here and a good mix between the Brooklyn hardcore metal icons and the very aggressive rap/hiphop crew

Basically a real good mix for fans of both genres, and still sounding as fresh today as 15 years ago.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2005
The tracklist here fails to show the real value of this soundtrack. It is a collaboration work of a lot of great alternative rock / metal / industrial rock with hip hop/gangsta rap acts of the time:
Helmet ft. House Of Pain - Just Another Victim
Teenage Fanclub ft. De La Soul - Fallin'
Living Colour ft. Run D.M.C. - Me, Myself & My Microphone
Biohazard ft. Onyx -Judgement Night
Slayer ft. Ice-T -Disorder
Faith No More ft. Boo-Yaa T.R.I.B.E. - Another Body Murdered
Sonic Youth ft. Cypress Hill - I Love My Mary Jane
Mudhoney ft. Sir Mix-A-Lot - Freak Momma
Dinosaur Jr. ft. Del The Funky Homosapien - Missing Link
Therapy? ft. Fatal - Come And Die
Pearl Jam ft. Cypress Hill - Real Thing
The latter being the best song IMHO and Slayer's being the fastest. Who ever wondered if Cypress Hill or Sonic Youth do drugs, here is the answer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Judgment Night (1992) is the original soundtrack to the movie released the same year starring Emilio Estevez, Cuba Gooding Jr., Stephen Dorff, Jeremy Piven, and Dennis Leary. The album features collaborations from band in the following genres: rock, metal, indie, rap metal, hip hop, and rapcore. Judgment Night was a commercial success, peaking at #17 on the US Billboard Chart and was the first collaboration album of its kind, followed by the soundtrack to the movie, Spawn (1997). Some songs were released as singles*

Just Another Victim - Helmet & House of Pain*
Fallin - Teenage Fanclub & De La Soul*
Me, Myself & My Microphone - Living Colour & Run DMC
Judgment Night - Biohazard & Onyx*
Disorder - Slayer & Ice-T
Another Body Murdered - Faith No More & Boo-Yaa T.R.I.B.E.*
I Love You Mary Jane - Sonic Youth & Cypress Hill
Freak Momma - Mudhoney & Sir Mix-A-Lot
Missing Link - Dinosaur Jr. & Del tha Funkee Homosapien
Come & Die - Therapy? & Fatal
Real Thing - Pearl Jam & Cypress Hill

Other movie soundtracks I would recommend from this era are:
Trespass (1992)
Gladiator (1992)
The Crow (1994)
Strange Days (1995)
Johnny Mnemonic (1995)
Demon Knight (1995)
The Cable Guy (1996)
Scream (1996)
The Crow 2: City of Angels (1996)
Spawn (1997)
Scream 2 (1997)
I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997)
The Faculty (1998)
Disturbing Behavior (1998)

The Film:
Frank Wyatt (Estevez) goes to see a boxing match with his younger brother, John (Dorff) and a friends , Mike Peterson (Gooding Jr.) and Ray Cochran (Piven). Piven has been given the job of testing a brand new RV and decides to use it for the trip. Ray takes a shortcut through a poor neighbourhood after they are delayed by traffic, which is when the RV hits Teddy. They haul him into the vehicle and discover that he has been shot and is carrying a substantial amount of money with him wrapped in a paper bag. After attempting to flag down the police, the RV becomes stuck in a narrow alley. This is when three men smash the rear window of the RV and drag Teddy out, and the four friends witness Fallon (Leary) shoot Teddy. Fallon's gang law states that no witnesses shall live. So begins a cat-and-mouse chase through the deserted streets of the city during the night.

Cast
Cast
Emilio Estevez as Frank Wyatt
Cuba Gooding Jr. as Mike Peterson
Denis Leary as Fallon
Stephen Dorff as John Wyatt
Jeremy Piven as Ray Cochran
Peter Greene as Sykes
Erik Schrody as Rhodes
Michael Wiseman as Travis
Michael DeLorenzo as Teddy
Relioues Webb as Dre
Will Zahrn as Charley
Eugene Williams as Buck
Christine Harnos as Linda Wyatt
Galyn Gorg as Clarissa
Angela Alvarado as Rita

Dir. Stephen Hopkins: A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child (1989), Predator 2 (1990), Blown Away (1994).
Score by Alan Silvestri
This Soundtrack Length: 45:11
Record Label: Immortal, Epic
Release Date: September 14, 1993
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Judgment Night (1992) is the original soundtrack to the movie released the same year starring Emilio Estevez, Cuba Gooding Jr., Stephen Dorff, Jeremy Piven, and Dennis Leary. The album features collaborations from band in the following genres: rock, metal, indie, rap metal, hip hop, and rapcore. Judgment Night was a commercial success, peaking at #17 on the US Billboard Chart and was the first collaboration album of its kind, followed by the soundtrack to the movie, Spawn (1997). Some songs were released as singles*

Just Another Victim - Helmet & House of Pain*
Fallin - Teenage Fanclub & De La Soul*
Me, Myself & My Microphone - Living Colour & Run DMC
Judgment Night - Biohazard & Onyx*
Disorder - Slayer & Ice-T
Another Body Murdered - Faith No More & Boo-Yaa T.R.I.B.E.*
I Love You Mary Jane - Sonic Youth & Cypress Hill
Freak Momma - Mudhoney & Sir Mix-A-Lot
Missing Link - Dinosaur Jr. & Del tha Funkee Homosapien
Come & Die - Therapy? & Fatal
Real Thing - Pearl Jam & Cypress Hill

Other movie soundtracks I would recommend from this era are:
Trespass (1992)
Gladiator (1992)
The Crow (1994)
Strange Days (1995)
Johnny Mnemonic (1995)
Demon Knight (1995)
The Cable Guy (1996)
Scream (1996)
The Crow 2: City of Angels (1996)
Spawn (1997)
Scream 2 (1997)
I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997)
The Faculty (1998)
Disturbing Behavior (1998)

The Film:
Frank Wyatt (Estevez) goes to see a boxing match with his younger brother, John (Dorff) and a friends , Mike Peterson (Gooding Jr.) and Ray Cochran (Piven). Piven has been given the job of testing a brand new RV and decides to use it for the trip. Ray takes a shortcut through a poor neighbourhood after they are delayed by traffic, which is when the RV hits Teddy. They haul him into the vehicle and discover that he has been shot and is carrying a substantial amount of money with him wrapped in a paper bag. After attempting to flag down the police, the RV becomes stuck in a narrow alley. This is when three men smash the rear window of the RV and drag Teddy out, and the four friends witness Fallon (Leary) shoot Teddy. Fallon's gang law states that no witnesses shall live. So begins a cat-and-mouse chase through the deserted streets of the city during the night.

Cast
Cast
Emilio Estevez as Frank Wyatt
Cuba Gooding Jr. as Mike Peterson
Denis Leary as Fallon
Stephen Dorff as John Wyatt
Jeremy Piven as Ray Cochran
Peter Greene as Sykes
Erik Schrody as Rhodes
Michael Wiseman as Travis
Michael DeLorenzo as Teddy
Relioues Webb as Dre
Will Zahrn as Charley
Eugene Williams as Buck
Christine Harnos as Linda Wyatt
Galyn Gorg as Clarissa
Angela Alvarado as Rita

Dir. Stephen Hopkins: A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child (1989), Predator 2 (1990), Blown Away (1994).
Score by Alan Silvestri
This Soundtrack Length: 45:11
Record Label: Immortal, Epic
Release Date: September 14, 1993
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2005
this has to be the best film soundtrack ever...seriously! a novel idea to bring the worlds of rap/hip-hop with heavy metal works stupendously well....buy this and see....pity about the film itself tho....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2008
From back in the days when Grunge was king and Nu Metal had yet to be invented. If you like this, you might like the Spawn soundtrack which is full of similar metal meets trip hop/techno collaborations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
I started playing this when I was a DJ in the 90s ( Vinyl Then) and felt it was the most important crossover of the time. After all these years I havn't changed my mind.. This is a great tribute to all the music genres involved. It proved that whatever the band, Musicians are into, they could combine and create music that spanned the generations and forge forward into pastures new. Sorry if I'm waxing lyrical, but I do feel that this opus has been undervalued for too long. Buy It!! You will see how this changed music for the better!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Judgement Night is one of the best soundtracks of all time, and one of the best albums of all time. I have enjoyed it now for many many years. The music combining metal/rock and rap is both fun, with great lyrics, upbeat, mental, relaxing and heavy. Some of my favourite tunes of all time. Love Ice T(Disorder! Disorder) , Sir Mix A lot(undercover vice they picked her up twice), CypressHill(mary jane). And I can never get enough of Faith No More!Truly awesome!!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
I just listened to this again and it is without doubt THE best compilation I ever heard, I can't believe it's actually so old. Not a weak link in there. Don't question, just get it. Awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2004
Its such a shame that this album got labelled as the OST to the film 'Judgment Night'. Because, despite being attached to a really mediocre film that very few people will ever see (the kind of thing you might see on BBC1 at12.30 on a Friday night or 9pm pm on Channel 5), this is a really really good album.
The team-ups on this one are those of fantasy - Faith no More with Boo Ya Tribe! Helmet with House of Pain! Slayer with Ice-T! Biohazard with Onyx!Any one of these alone ought to be cause for significant interest from the music world. On top of these you've got songs from Mudhoney, Therapy?, Cypress Hill, Sir Mix-a-Lot. Er, well...
But, because the film was such a dog, the album pretty much sank without trace.
Most of the tracks on the CD lean pretty much toward the heavier metallic side of pairings, although there are several more mellow moments too. Its all very listenable though - a great example of musical experts from different genres coming together and actually making something new and viable.
Never mind the latest Tarantino soundtrack. If you want to hear REAL musical history from REALLY talented musicians this is the one you want.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.88
£11.34
£14.74

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)