Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Vs.
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.43+ £1.26 shipping

on 6 October 2000
Well its not as good as ten, but that just goes without saying doesnt it? But the album kicks off with one of the best pearl jam songs, go and continues with the great animal and the accoustic song daughter which is one of my personal favourites, so as my three favorites kicked this album off what else could there be? Well lets carry on with the glorified version of a pellet gun (glorified G) and the epic dissident. Also note the greatness of abruezze's drumming on W.M.A and the ending bass solo of Blood and you have a more live feeling album. Also look out for Rearview mirror another of the best, elderly woman another great accoustic, and leash which rocks my world! Oh I guess all thats left is rats (so catchy) and indifference, which is a great way to end an album
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 1999
Pearl Jam's second album and they now team up with BrendanO'Brien who becomes the producer of all their albums here on. A good reason why Brian has now been kept by the band as he brought the best out of Pearl Jam. The album starts off at full tilt with 'Go' this song steps on the gas and doesn't let go till the very end. Now after listening to that they hit you with 'animal' which almost takes you over the edge and you're left with the thought that this is not the same band as you herd on 'Ten'. They slow down things with 'Daughter' its like 'Jeremy' but a female version and just as thought provoking. Now Pearl Jam want to show you what a pioneering band they have become with excellent songs that can only be described as genius foresight these are 'Rearviewmirror, Elderly Woman Behind The Counter In a Small Town.' Eddie Vedder shows us that he is a world class singer-songwriter and as for the band they show us how diverse they can become. The band leave us with 'Leash and Indifference' which show us how thy have changed and what's to become of them, this is an overall better more in-depth album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2000
This album is just soooooooooo cool, you gotta buy it. You could listen to this album over and over and never grow tired of it. Songs like Go, Animal, Glorified Gun, Leash, Rearviewmirror, Daughter just hit you where you want them to. This album is a classic, I'll always recommend this to anyone who want's to get into Pearl Jam. I purchased this album in 1993 and about the same time Nirvana's In Utero came out. I did'ent bother listening to that album, cause I had the best album of that year playing all the time. Put it in your Hi-Fi and enjoy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
Coming from someone who thinks Ten is very overrated I have to say this is a much better album. I like how Pearl Jam balence the heaver songs such as Animal and the slower ones such as Indiffrence. Also I think the song writing is much more sophisticated and focused. Overall it is a more consistent album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2014
After the success of Ten, the pressure was on Pearl Jam to make a great second album. Fail and this band may have been short lived. But what they did under intense pressure was make one of the best albums in 15 years. And VS was much better than Ten. Almost every song is brilliant. It's raw and not as produced as Ten, it has funk, rock and lyrics deeper than the bands debut. When I first heard it I was unsure, but it grew on me and it is a classic album, no doubt.

VS just opened the band up and while I still think Vitalogy is their best album lyrically this is on a par with No Code as the best of their works. The songs still sound fresh today, which is testament to such a great band, that sadly plodder away now making pop/rock records.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2018
Bought as I only had this album on tape so wanted to start listening to it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2001
Following the sweeping epic "Ten" was always going to be tough . Or so we thought . The boys from Pearl Jam showed how easy it all was when they released this blistering album , and consequently held the record for five years for the fastest selling album in the world ..EVER. Moonwalk on that thought Mr Michael Jackson. It's easy to see why "Vs" struck a chord with so many people - it has the intimate beauty of acoustic numbers such as "Daughter" ; the percussion led anger and passion as typified by "WMA" , "Animal " and "Rearviewmirror" , and perhaps the most poignant love song they had at this stage penned in "Dissident". Eddie's vocals are wounded and howling , yet that rich baritone is always bubbling under the surface - proving why he is the greatest rock singer of his or any other generation. The lyrics are insightful and heartwrenching as always. On "WMA " (White Middle American ) Vedder raises the political stakes and declares how easy the affluent white population have it - "He won the lottery , by being born.... police stopped my brother today ". A singer with a song and a cause to sing. The music is tight and fluid and aches to be played loud. It rushes out of the starting box with "Go" and never goes flaccid for a second. You end up shell shocked and breathless , but I guarantee you will be reaching straight for that repeat button before you know it. Truly astonishing.
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
To this day Pearl Jam's most aggressive, angry album. Their reaction to the bands meteoric rise to fame in just 18 months after releasing their debut Ten. The opening trio of songs are ridiculously good. Go is just one of the best ever hard rock songs, with a funky intro, then a full on assault. Animal continues the energy, and then Daughter mellows everything out with its acoustic guitars and memorable nagging melody. There's so much more on VS, from the pounding pop of Rearviewmirror, the anti establishment Leash, and the beautiful closer Indifference, which has to be one of the finest vocal performances from any band front man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Great CD. Should have bough years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
Happy with the product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)