Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
Odds & Sods
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 June 2017
Odd but worth it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2017
pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2017
Product description, presentation and delivery faultless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2013
I bought this CD with fond memories of the original LP - a flatmate of mine many years ago had a copy. More precisely, I bought it for a handful of tracks - Glow Girl, Pure and Easy and Naked Eye.

It is clear that this isn't the same album that I remember, despite the fact that the name and cover art are the same. There are more tracks, and the order of the 'familiar' ones is different. I'm sure, too, that some of the mixes are different.

So far, so confusing. But I'm listening away and finding more and more of interest. I feel that sometimes with Who out-takes, it is easy to see why they didn't make the cut, but many of these do repay a listen - actually several listens! As a sucker for Quadrophenia, I am really enjoying the 1973 material on the CD. Also, I'm fascinated by the studio version of Young Man Blues - a track so famous from Live at Leeds, and which surely did so much to launch the more visceral hard rock of the 70s.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 January 2012
If John Entwistle hadn't been bored we might not have ever seen "Odds and Sods". This terrific collection gathers rarities, singles, stray tracks all in one place. Remastered from the ORIGINAL mixes for the album by Jon Astley this numbered, limited edition (issued in 2011)features the album in its original running order (opening with "Postcard" rather than "I'm The Face" as with the 1996 remix/remaster)followed by the bonus tracks that were amended to the 1996 reissue on CD (using their original mixes where possible).

The remaster sounds pretty good although there is a problem with "Cousin Kevin Model Child" where is sounds like, perhaps, the playback heads were aligned incorrectly (although even in that case the single track isn't unlistenable). There are occasional drop outs that happen on a couple of tracks but they are short and unless listening on headphones hardly noticeable.

The packaging is a nice replica of the original vinyl release (as done in Japan) with the back cover in Braile and with the inner picture sleeve replicated (although on my copy it was glued on the inside of the sleeve so i couldn't take out the picture)and also features a replica of the Japanese promotional packaging from back in the day as well. Lyrics are included (although the new notes are, not surprisingly, in Japanese without an English translation)and there is a replica of the sleeve which had the lyrics and Pete Townshend's notes on the songs for the original vinyl release.

The track listing is as follows:

1."Postcard"
2."Now I'm A Farmer"
3."Put The Money Down"
4."Little Billy"
5."Too Much Of Anything"
6."Glow Girl"
7." Pure And Easy"
8."Faith In Something Bigger"
9."I'm The Face"
10."Naked Eye"
11."Long Live Rock"
Bonus Tracks:
12."Leaving Here"
13."Baby Don't You Do It"
14."Summertime Blues" (Studio Version)
15."Under My Thumb"
16."Mary Anne With The Shaky Hand"
17."My Way"
18."Young Man Blues" (Studio Version)
19."Cousin Kevin Model Child"
20."Love Ain't For Keeping"
21."Time Is Passing"
22."We Close Tonight"
23."Water"

The 1996 remix had some songs (for exmple "Under My Thumb" and "Cousin Kevin Model Child") missing some overdubs so it's nice to see this vintage mix returned to print on this CD.

Recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
There's a requirement: you need a cd player that allows for programming a playlist from a CD (or you can rip it to your computer and burn a copy of the 1974 edition).
This is not an original LP, but a compilation of rarities and oddities recorded by the who during their first 10 years of career. John Entwistle did the work himself. Such stuff is usually for completists only. But the Who being the Who, in their case, the story is different.
The original 11-track LP released in 1974 is unbelievably consistent. It sounds like one original album recorded during a single session. Stylistically, it lies halfway between Sell Out and Who's next. Out of the 11 tracks, only two are of a slightly lesser relevance (Faith in Something Bigger and Long Live Rock). The 9 other tracks are masterpieces fully representative of the unique sound and style of the Who. As such, the album comes on a par with Who's Next, and possibly ahead of all the other Who studio albums (which is very strange thing to say considering other Who albums include Tommy, Quadrophenia or Sell Out).
Unfortunately, the songs that were added in the remastered version add very little to the album. And the chronological order of the songs kills the consistence and special feel of the original LP. So, you need to re-arrange the tracks in the original order:
- Postcard
- Now I'm a farmer
- Put the money down
- Little Billy
- Too much of anything
- Glow Girl
- Pure and easy
- Faith in something bigger
- I'm the face
- Naked Eye
- Long live Rock
And then, play it loud and often.
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2009
A review of this album back in 1974 stated "The Who's outtakes are more interesting than most band's albums" or such. Here's a thing which The Who have in common with Bob Dylan; both have a mountain of unreleased gems sitting in the vaults. At least nowadays Ol' Bob is getting around to releasing his via The Bootleg Series. This collection was compiled by John eEntwistle while The Who were having another hiatus from recording and touring, and while Townshend and Daltrey were heavily involved with Tommy the Movie. Townshend did produce the review of the album for the NME, hilarious in itslef, and used as the liner notes. The original album contained many gems, including almost all of the "Lost 1969 EP", outtakes from "Who's Next", treasures from the abandoned 1972 album, and hard-to-obtain rareities. The expanded edition almost doubles the amount of material, and is even better than the original, even if errors have been made in the notes for lineage etc. You can compile the alternative "Who's Next", burn yourself a copy of that lost EP, marvel at the astounding sound quality of the really early Who, and spend many an evening thinking about what might have been if this lot had only had more focus and single-minded ambition. But that's The Who for you.

trivia; look closely at the names on the helmets. Roger allegedly bought them during the fractious Quadrophenia US Tour of 1973, to show that when they put their heads together it spelled "R-O-C-K"! But some sizes wre wrong, so swapping around had to happen. Townshend tore up the photo to be used for the cover, changed his mind, glued it together and hey-presto! The album was the first to have titles on the cover in braille for blind fans.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2001
This album is worth owning even if you have the original (which I have) and showcases some great early covers of rock n'roll songs plus the wonderful electric version of "Love ain't for keeping," other new additions include the sardonic "Cousin Kevin, model child," and the superb "Water" these tracks are backed up by stage standards such as "Long live rock," and "Naked Eye," well worth getting.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2004
This CD is a great improvement on the original vinyl version. The original was less than half the length and features very little essential material at all. This expanded remastered version features much more stuff, nearly all of which much more essential to the original album, and somehow the songs from the original album sound better too. The remastered sound quality is excellent and the song sequencing is much better too. It doesn't quite deserve five stars but is still pretty much essential.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2015
Brilliant Album. I have the same regrets about the changed song order from the sublime original vinyl but I do appreciate most of the additional tracks. I may just do as suggested by Al Most's review. All the original tracks are brilliant. Pure and Easy is my high point especially the simple but perfect lead guitar break. Who else could use the word 'gourds'? (Now I'm a farmer) or record an anti-smoking song (Little Billy) with a rep like the Who? The sleeve notes are a must read if you are a fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)