Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2000
Supergrass have struck a chord with me, ever since i heard caught by the fuss i have been hooked. Their albums have a tendency to draw you in with its use of practically any instrument they can lay their hands on. I should coco was a good start, in it for the money was unbelievable, and supergrass is breathtaking in every aspect, an album just as should be, 12 songs, no mesing, just good music. Hats off to them also managing to make it high in the charts, with , well i wouldnt even call them bands like steps and Blink 182(Hey m-a-n! look at us, we're a punk band y-e-a-h! )the music industry is very dark at the moment, but supergrass have doon a damn good job in getting recognised, and promoting Music as it should be, if you dont have any of their albums, surrender your credit card number to amazon now, you wont be dissapointed. I'll eat my hat if you disagree, which you won't.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2002
This is one of those albums that you can listen to over and over without tiring of it, and never want to skip a track. I love 'In It For The Money' too, but I think Supergrass is evolving and this album is, if possible, even better. I love the way it changes in mood from song to song, some really lively and rocky, others slower, or darker, weird and more introspective, and my favourite thing of all about the Supergrass sound is the way a sudden key change can wash over you like a burst of joyful sunlight and really make you feel elated, something many rock bands never achieve. Definitely one of my favourite albums ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2000
We all remember the pupits in the 'Pumping on your stereo' video and we all loved it, but this album is seroius. Yes, it's seroiusley good! From the moment when 'Moving' kicks in untill 'Mamma & Pappa' ends. 45 mimutes of non stop quality engineered by people who know music. Supergrass seem to have lost that laddish appeal and replaced it with a moody, more inteligent and more instrumental approach. They've developed a style that is far greater and more expansive than we ever thought these lads from Oxford would reach. When they arived on to the world of music 5 or 6 years ago they were happy, cherpy fellows that you'd expect to find next door. Then they released 'In it for the money'. It was here they tranistionalised into a darker, deeper and powerful rock band with the heavy 'Richard III' leading them all the way. In the new album this trend is going further with songs like 'Mary' and 'Beautiful people'. However there are still signs that there earlier appeal has not been lost. 'Pumping on your stereo' is very much a pop record, it's catchy and people enjoy it, as we enjoyed 'Alright'. What else can be said? The lyrics are fine, as with most supergrass albums. The melodies are the usual high standard. Basically Gaz, Danny and Micky have done well. Again! It's only £11.99 so you can't go wrong can you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2002
For all those cynics out there laughing at these sad little kids who haven't grown out of that embarrassing Britpop era, stop. This is far more mature than anything to come out of the mid 90s, listening reveals a real touch of class that sets Supergrass apart from the rest of the crap riding the britpop wave.
I'd recommend this to anyone who generally prefers their music subtle, but still enjoys bouncing around to Parklife, to those whose favourite Radiohead album is The Bends, and to those who enjoy the quirky lo-fi sounds of Badly Drawn Boy but still love a good fun rock out every so often.
My favourites here are Moving, great contrast in the breezy accoustic verse and upbeat rocky chorus, the mellow Shotover Hill and the just fantastic Mary. Pumping on your Stereo is also the best stomping pop song of the last 10 years in my opinion. Such fun.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 September 2014
After a cracking debut, followed by the masterpiece 'In It For The Money', Supergrass, proving that they were a consistently excellent band, gave us album number three in 1999. Their music, like a lot of their contemporises, had by now evolved from quirky and bouncy pop punk, to more mature, melodic Britpop.

There are a couple of songs on here that are reminsistant of the older stuff, notably the infectious hit single 'Pumping On Your Stereo' (check out the brilliant music video), but their style is definitely different for the most part, with a song to suit just about any mood. The top ten hit 'Moving' is a standout track, and the mesmerising 'Beautiful People' and excellent 'What Went Wrong (In Your Head)' ensure that it isn't just the singles that make this a class album. It has a positive vibe that really makes you want to move, and no self-respecting Supergrass fan should be without it.

The band's frontman Gaz Coombes himself might now dismiss this one, but I have to say that I disagree with him (sorry Gaz, I swear that you are one of my idols!), because this is a quality record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2008
"Supergrass" the band's third album has to be one of the most underrated albums of the 90s (even Gaz Coombes now dismisses it). It is a beautifully crafted, mesmerisingly inventive work. No tune so instantly pins me down to a time and place of my life as does "Moving". "What Went Wrong In Your Head", seems to start half way through the song, yet never looks back, a blistering slice of rock n roll. "Mary" is simply stunning in its structure and poise, (equalled two albums later by the majestic "Roxy" on Road to Rouen). However, the album did not sell as well as the previous two efforts and as a result faced a backlash, prompting the lightweight fourth release.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2002
i bought this cd a few years ago (99) when it was new i then almost only liked them singles but today i decided to listen to this great album from start to end. And Yeah it totall blew me away with its swinging giutars and bouncy bass
and distictive and very well timed smashing beats
and with and singing inspierd by mick jagger/Paul Mccartney/John Lennon/David Crosby all mixed together with rocking catchy songs like moving who starts of slow and breaks into a rocking beat and swinging giutar and the cool what went wrong with its cool piano parts following the giutar and drum from beginning to end this alvum has that bouncy/rocking feeling from some slower numbers too but still oh what a great album!
if you like 60's rock n roll like small faces byrds and beatles or rolling stones or early 90 britpop by the verve or blur.... you will like this album alot.
i sugesst you take you time listening to this smashing record like i did you'll be more suprised than you think
this is great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2000
This third album of supergrass's is proof that supergrass havent lost there touch on brit pop.If (like me)when u get a new album u run through the tracks in number order then you will here "moving" first and you will think "well its slower than most supergrass's songs but it ok" u then here the beggining of "your love" and think "oh no i hope all of there songs arnt this slow" then u get to the corus of the song and it starts to pick up.As u move through them u get more and more into it and by the last and very slow song "mama & papa" u think "this is dam good" and your hooked like every other supergrass album it gets u hooked and u wont want to put it down again.Trust me u can never get enough of "beautifal people" which goes to show that every supergrass song even from there first and brilient album u can never have enough of that wonderfull brit pop band SUPER...SUPERGR what was that band called again? :0)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 1999
After cringing to previous songs, the Brit Pop era was one that Supergrass thrived in and subsequently the reason for my dislike, however this album is not too bad in fact I have been pleasantly surprised. The quality of the songs and the music seem to have kept there style but the band have matured a lot. If like me you are not a fan and would not normally buy this but have an extra few quid to spend I thoroughly recommend that you do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
This album is not, as many have suggested, a particularly low point in this excellent band's career - for me it far surpasses Diamond Hoo Ha, and perhaps even Life on Other Planets too. While the raw energy that was born in I Should Coco and was present to some extent in In It For the Money is all but gone here, it has been replaced with a maturity many other bands take decades to find. Highlights include 'Moving', the funky 'Mary', 'Beautiful people' which has a SUPREME chorus, and of course the sublime 'Pumping of Your Stereo'.

It's true, in eschewing the cheeky breakneck punky style that really encapsulated their originality, Supergrass to some extent made a trade off. Does it pay? Well, sometimes, particularly in the next album as well, it seems as they have descended into generic, insipid dad-rock. Not so, however! This album contains many exhilarating and rewarding moments, and for that it holds its own special position in the Supergrass catalogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)