Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2000
I have been heavily into the trance/house/hard house scene for a while now purchasing stuff like the euphoria collection, just recently I got bonkers 4 and a few days ago I got Bonkers 7. I'm finding current trance more and more like hardcore and now I'm stopping with the trance and getting my hands on as much hardcore as possible. Bonkers 7 is an excellent addition and definatly worth getting, 3CD's, banging tunes, something to really unwind to. get it now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2004
If you've got money to burn on one amazing CD and two complete wastes of plastic then buy this one. Hixxys mix IS still hardcore by definition, though clearly you can see why so many people view it as trance. That said, Hixxys mix is absolutely amazing, and its trancey style showed the way hardcore would move forward through the grim times of late '99 and the vast majority of 2000. The title of the 1st track of hixxys mix, "seen the future", says it all. For reference of what was going on with the rest of the hardcore scene have a listen to Dougals and Sys mixes! Shoddy at best!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2000
Someone elses review of this said that hardcore is turning into trance. I suppose in a way they are right as especialy Hixxys mix shows (although, at the same time trance is turning into hardcore. It is getting harder and faster, and there are more than a few trance versions of Hardcore tunes out at the moment.) Anyway, this compilation is pure quality and delivers as bonkers always does. There is a good amount of diversity in the three styles presented by the three DJ's, and as usual the mixing cant be faulted. Just buy it, OK?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2006
I loved this one.. Just as I thought they couldn't do another great album they go and do it. I loved all three of these. Some may comment about hardcore not being hard enough but this is great fun music. A definite permanent addition to my MP3 player
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2000
Hardcore is turning into trance - official! But seriously, there are some great tunes on here, from the superb adaptation of Binary Finary's 1999, to the ultimate (?) Shooting Star.
A must for any raver. Big up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2000
Hardcore may have changed, and indeed, may not appeal to all. But the new sound as featured on this CD is very good. Different - Yes. Innovative - Yes. Give it a chance, and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2000
What can I say - Not as much vocals as Bonkers 3, but then again, it's got a great mix of Shooting Star so it makes up for it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
i had this CD when it first ever came out as it was damaged i brought it again good CD and brings back good memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2003
I strongly suggest you borrow this one first before buying it. Sadly, I think due to its poor quality its signalled a death call for hardcore (to moderate success) in 1999. So many tunes were recycled, or anything new coming out was far from innovating. Also the lack of Sharkey is definately noticed.
To me, Bonkers was about variety, diversity and value - in this package we've got Hixxy's mix which is just plain trance, hardly the way to evolve a style into something new - Dougal's lacks the depth and quality of say, his Bonkers 3 mix. DJ Sy I'm afraid had me very confused by going all over the place with his choice of tracks, some feeling like the mix dropped its momentum, others being a bit too abstract / ripped off or just plain underproduced and terrible sounding.
Overall I believe the album hasnt had enough thought put into it and has abused its status and hurt the whole scene. Definately one to have for completeness sake but to be honest, the serious listener will find themselves reaching for Skip Track far too often.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2001
Visually, Bonkers 7 looks just as slick as nicely packed as is has done since its third version. Then you load Hixxy's mix and find out that what was supposed to be happy hardcore is actually trance. Hixxy's mix is at times ambient, at other times moody. It's an amazing mix in every way and I think it's great for repeated listening, but it belongs in a TRANCE collection! Dougal's mix is awful. The Shooting Star remix insults the original. What the hell happened? His Bonkers 6 mix was light and fun. This one is light and shallow. It just doesn't have the depth of his B 6 mix. Sy, my favourite DJ, really churns out something horrible in his B 7 mix. His scratching loses its quality and the tracks, apart from Dance Sucka, are dire. What's with Beautiful Stranger? It's rubbish! Hardcore has died in the UK. There will probably be no more good, original happy hardcore tracks. Shame.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)