Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 November 2017
Great entry level for me as I kept hearing them and wanting to learn more, amazing lyrics and music - highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2016
I owned (and lost) this album many years ago and am thrilled to find it again. A great price for some of the best, and original music I have heard in a long time. From comedy and bittersweet to Classic poetry and the Father Ted theme tune, this is a genius storytelling adventure to music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2013
I've only recently discovered the music of The Divine Comedy. I heard the well-known
National Express playing a few times on the radio and wanted to discover more. The
variety and originality of the lyrics and combination of pop, orchestration and comedy
is really impressive. There is no other style I can really compare it to. From the darkly
comic "Something for the Weekend" to the retro feel "Becoming More Like Alfie" and the
contrasting luscious tones of "Certainty of Chance" and "In Pursuit of Happiness", this album
is a winner. Unique, eccentric and utterly compelling music!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
Excellent thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2009
A Secret History is one of the better albums i've bought this year, even if it is quite old now. There are some great individual tracks to be enjoyed, some of which jump at you (National Express, I went to a Marvellous Party, In Pursuit of Happiness) and some which grow on you (Lucy, The Certainty of Chance).

The range of Hannon and his orchestra is enough so that each song brings a new sound to the listening experience, and the material that influences the songs is a very eclectic mix of cultural touchstones, from classic poetry to institutional coach carriers.

It's well worth a listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2016
Brilliant. If you like catchy songs that are well sung and produced with an orchestra backing then you won't go wrong with this collection of hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2017
A great CD!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2017
Very enjoyable CD collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2018
Quite simply a joy to listen too, brings back so many happy memories and still makes me chuckle with the lyrics!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2017
I enjoyed this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Foreverland
£7.99
Absent Friends
£10.03
Fin De Siecle
£6.97
Casanova
£6.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)