Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
65
4.8 out of 5 stars
Big Calm
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 July 2004
I was really impressed with this album. Right from the beautiful opener, the Sea, to the hip-hopy closing track, Big Calm, this is one of the best chill out albums I've heard.
I like the way the quality isn't affected by the diversity of the tracks. There are classic chill-out tracks like The Sea, Blindfold (probably the highlight of the album), mellow tunes like Over and Over and Fear and Love, an instrumental in Bullet Proof with its big funky beats a bit of hip hop at then end. The are the best tracks on the album. The others score 4 - 4.5 with the exceptio of Diggin' a Watery Grave with its Texan guitar effects, the only track I'd skip.
Don't be put off by Morcheeba not being a trendy band that are shunned by music critics. Check out reviews from real people and see for yourself.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
It usually takes time for a small band with a largely experimental small but great debut to progess. The debut was trippy and hoppy and had its moments of brilliance, without being brilliant at all. Whilst this is somewhat perfect.
You dont need a summers day, you dont need to be by the sea or anywhere near a park. This is sublime and not music to fall asleep to, but allows you to dream and escape whilst being fully awake to appreciate and remember every second, every note, every word that drips like honey from Skyes lips.
Im not going to talk about tracks because they mayb big songs and it mayb called big calm but this is ultimetly one big album. BUY IT! and dont lose it, i did (im sure it was stolen!) and i mist it, alot. In fact dont buy it you wont be able to live without it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2003
Having first heard this album at a friends house i immediatley fell in love with it and rushed out to buy it. Now everyone i play it too has the same reaction! This album will chill you out,make you feel good and quite simply put you in a place where nothing can touch or trouble you. Skyes vocals are so pure and quite simply just amazing! I could try to pick a favourite track, but they are all so good in different ways that i have ended off loving each one for its little individualities that simply make this album one of the greatest i have heard! If its chilling out you need you cant go wrong with the Big Calm!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2005
This was the first Morcheeba CD I bought and I have had it for ages. I have bought pretty much all of Morcheebas other CDs, and whilst the others are very good, I think that Big Calm is absolutely the best! This CD combines smooth tones with fantastically odd lyrics, and is an amazing CD to chill out to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2003
This was the first morcheeba album i bought, and it seems like such a long time ago. i remembered hearing my brother playing the Who Can You Trust ablum, and so when i saw this i decided to buy it.
It was instantly my favourite album and has continued to be one of my favourites over the years that ive had it. Personally i think this is the best Morcheeba album, although i love all of their stuff.
Skyes voice is really beautiful and the whole album flows and seems to wash over you. Skye and the Godfrey brothers know how good they are and this album shows it. Its great to listen to whatever youre doing.
I would really recommend getting this album, its a classic. After hearing this for the first time Morcheeba have become my favourite artists, and even my friends who like heavier music and have heard me play this, really like it. If you have any doubts at all about buying this album, ignore them. regardless of other reviews who say this album isnt real music, this is a real gem which everybody should own, for everything from chilling with your mates to those blissful quiet times that everybody needs, this is perfect.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 1999
The first Morcheeba album was, in my humble opinion, cracking. It sat together well as an album which, in my opinion is the main downfall of this. You see, while it is a great collection of songs, that's where it stops, it doesn't all fit together quite as well as the first. In saying that however, I would definatly recommend it, like the other guy said, in a similar vain to Massive attack but less dark, oh and by the way, Skye's vocals are FANTASTIC ...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2000
I class myself as a 'Jazz Music' fan and I got the chance to listen, unintentionally, to this album while away on Holiday. And WOW! What struck me is the feeling felt in each track, coupled with the sheer musical style in all the compositions. All the tracks have a part to play, though 'Big Calm' top's it for me as a track I love to stick on repeat.Great Album, well recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2001
As some of the other reviewers have said, this album is one that never strays far from my stereo, I sometimes get longings just to hear it! Skye's sexy vocals and some really innovative sounds make this Morcheeba's best- not quite as laid back as the first album and not as poppy as the third, in other words: Perfection!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2000
Eclectic? Maybe. Enigmatic? Definitely. Awesome? Yes but not in an anthemic way...this album has so much going for it and although there are a lot of varied tracks it still hangs together as one mighty slab of gorgeous music. The vocals remind me of Julie London (Cry Me A River etc)/Rachel Morrison (Bliss)/Hope (Mazzy Star)and sometimes Elizabeth Frazer in the early days of the Cocteau Twins, but she has a definable quality all of her own. Like Mazzy Star Morcheeba do not feel the need to fill every space with sound and let you find your own aural magic in the space.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2006
This sultry follow up to 1996's "Who Do You Trust?" was both accomplished and memorable.

"The Sea" is all chill-out strings and alluring vocals whereas "Part Of The Process" takes "Career Opportunities" by the Clash, passes it a reefer and gives Joe's mike to Skye.

"Blindfold" is also a slow-burn classic.

"Fear And Love" is a charming ballad and the fragile acoustic "Over And Over" is a startling inclusion.

The title track is another high-point which bears repeated listening.

A very good album. Sadly it would be their peak.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)