Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2013
In 2013, I'm ashamed to say I came very, very late to Art of Noise - this album in particular. I had no preconceived ideas of what to expect or what genre was usual to Art of Noise. I came to this album from listening to a Chris Everard podcast. He played Il Pleure on his podcast explaining how Debussy and Satie both were interested in the occult and how their music is said to have been written by using a musical note/chord type Ouija set up. So their music was a collaboration between this world and another.

The most beautiful tracks for me are Il Pleure - On Being Blue which can't play for long enough - and La Flute de Pan - truly haunting, the beauty of which is held for what seems like an instant once Metaphor on the Floor bursts forth. I also love Rapt: in the Evening Air followed by Metaforce which echoes the beauty of the former. The way the tracks are organised works for me. I couldn't have placed them better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
There was always something a little thin sounding about the CD version of this release. It always seemed to my ears to be a little harsh, brittle or sterile sounding. This is not the case with the minidisc version which sounds richer, warmer and much nicer.

If you don't have this album on any format, get it now. It's a forgotten gem, a bit like Wayne's War of the Worlds meets Art of Noise (Below the Waste incarnation) versus Debussy. It's wonderful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Beautiful melodic album.
It is so well crafted.
Sounds superb through a good music system.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Electronica at it's best! This is def. a 'grower'. It's good the first time but then you find new songs and love more of it the more you listen
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Very good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
All as expected, very good, perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2005
This is not chillout stuff. If you want Drum and Bass with classically derived themes, you'll be happy. If you know their earlier work, this is more Fin Du Temps than Crusoe.
The AON were often throwing big beats around, so I assumed references to drum and bass might be a bit off. They aren't. That's why I don't like it.
If you did, but want more music and less drums, try 'In no sense? nonsense' or 'The ambient collection'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
A unique and brilliant piece of work ... Production and creativity are second to none ... This has been regular listen for me since it first came out ... None of its magic is lost with countless listens... In my view it is their masterpiece
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2002
Forget the magical 'Moments In Love' and manic 'Close (To the Edit)', The Seduction of Claude Debussy is a far cry from the Art Of Noise from the early eighties.With an all new line up (But sadly no JJ Jeczalik or Gary Langan), and some great vocalists, this CD tells a musical story about Debussy using a perfect blend of classical, opera, dance, drum and bass with narration by John Hurt. Only the Art of Noise could get away with such an unusual combination and make it sound good. Thinking it doesn't sound like your cup of tea? Just listen to it, you won't be disappointed! The Art of Noise have come bang up to date (this was only released in 1999), signed back to ZTT and created an album unlike any other you will have heard before. Go on, try it!!!!
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)