Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2015
Along with The Stone Roses debut album and 'The Beast Inside' by The Inspiral Carpets, 'Between 10th an 11th' is one of the greatest albums to come out of the Manchester music scene in the 90's. This classic album, that does not have a weak track on it, is not like any other Charlatans album. It sounds very different from their first (Some Friendly) and nothing like any album after. Sadly, they suffered from 'Second-album-syndrome' and this great collection of tracks did not sell well and was greatly over looked. Ironically it is probably their best piece of work. The Charlatans have the rare distinction of never producing a bad album and all of them were good, but this one is my favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
As another reviewer said. I saw em in Brighton and at Reading 92. I missed nirvana though, passed out in the tent on eggs and K cider. Anyway, the best lot of tracks by these guys. I only heard a little of their later stuff tbh but it didn't seem to have the same chaos as this album. Bloody marvellous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 1999
This, The Charlatans second album, is much overlooked. Probably the darkest of their albums, it comes closest in feel to their 1999 album "Us And Only Us". When it was released it did not have the same commercial appeal as their debut album "Some Friendly". However, for those who look into this album they will be rewarded. "Page One" and "Chewing Gum Weekend" are hidden gems whilst "Weirdo" is a Charlatans classic. If you are only looking for the more poppy feel that some of the Charlatans late 90s singles had then this album might not to be for you. However, if you enjoyed "Us And Only Us" and want to explore thir back catalogue this album is essential listening.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2001
From the day I bought this album (after hearing Tremolo song on the evening session with Mark Goodacre...ah, memories...) it has been one of my all-time favourites, the tape actually got worn out forcing me to buy it again on CD.
The stand out tracks such as 'Don't want to see the sights', 'Weirdo', 'Tremolo Song' and 'Can't even be bothered' are a strange mix of early-90's indie, funk and pog rock, the 2 minute organ solo/ad-lib jam session making an unexpected but welcome return....
This album is the Charlatans at their peak, when they defined their own sound from the rest of the Madchester scene and when Rob Collins was in full, crunchy-slide-bar-organ-stylie flow.
Infact my one criticism would be it always feels a trifle short, but then the best things always come in small packages...
BUY THIS ALBUM!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2002
This album never seems to get a fair shake when the Charlatans catalogue is reviewed (even the band members themselves aren't fond of it, apparently), but for me, they've never equalled the dizzy heights of their second LP. The bass-heavy production by Flood is pure perfection, and the songs themselves are dazzling-not a weak track to be found. It also boasts the most formidable one-two-three punch I've ever heard on an album: "I Don't Want To See The Sights", "Ignition" and "Page One" (the latter two, along with "Chewing Gum Weekend", are among the very best tracks they've ever recorded) would be enough on most albums, but the momentum never lags. More emphasis is always placed on the mid to late '90s albums, which are great themselves, but THIS is the Charlatans' golden moment for me. Since its release in 1992, I have yet to hear an album surpass this one. I never tire of it.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2008
Really good album, Some Friendly,Tellin' Stories and Wonderland are really great and 10th and 11th is only just behind, Standouts are "I Don't Want to See the Sights" great guitar riff and really bounces along, "Can't Even Be Bothered", "Tremelo Song" and the single "Weirdo" are other notable tunes as well. Basically if you like the charlatans, get it you wont be disappointed, if you have never bought a charlatans album, this is definitely worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Replacing my cassette copy, this is where The Charlatans really begin to break out and define their own style - Madchester's survivors
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
Wonderful purchase all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2003
The Charlatans with this album make you just lose your mind into incredible sounds. It makes you forgot your fearest dreams and your worst nightmares. A perfetc synchronicity between them! Play it and you will be reward!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
Totally agree with previous reviewer who said,at the time, it sounded claustraphobic and experimental.Its false standing as one of their lesser lps is a direct result of the xtrmly narrow -minded music press bods who could only ever handle more-of-the-same from bands at the time.remember the second coming response a few years later?it was apparent at the time to us mere fans that this was the next logical progression in baggy music.questions have to be asked as to why the entire music press, manifestly panned the lp and failed to recognise the obvious ,brave, new direction this record was going in.it got dismissed,patronised,and lost amid a burgeoning grunge scene,and a press which was inanely falling over itself to jump on board the grunge bandwagon.the fact i can make myself feel slightly beter,and 'write' the wrongs done to '10thand11th' is a great thing.This is a truly great electro/pop album.F@#K pearl jam and neds atomic dustbin-this is were it was really at.check out the live recording of subtitle if you ever get the chance.otherwise just buy the album,go to cant even be bothered,stick it on repeat for a month,then eventually get round to listening to the rest of this great lp.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£8.48

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)