Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2005
Antonio Forcione has to be my favourite guitarists of all time. My introduction to his music was a live concert with Eduardo Niebla in Nottingham several years ago. It completely blew me away and, since then, I've listened to everything I can of his work. He combines technical brilliance with continuous innovation, without taking himself too seriously. What's he sound like? A Spanish guitar style is strongly apparent but most of what he performs he writes himself and, like many brilliant musicians (Andy Sheppard springs to mind), he is often at his best when feeding off others.
A large part of his work is collaborative; "Ghetto Paradise" takes this to sublime heights. It's an album which is very hard to pigeonhole but it certainly has strong elements of jazz with Spanish and eastern influences. I love it. Every track is a new mood and he has the confidence to give free reign to his co-musicians, particularly to Trilok Gurtu on various percussion and Roberto Manzin on sax. It's a bit invidious to select particular tracks but 'Indian Café' and 'Horserun' are certainly belters. All in all, a CD I couldn't do without and it's often top of my all-time list - with two or three competitors.
I hope he's as nice a guy as he appears to be.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2001
I've heard Antonio live during recordings at Radio Four in London, as a member of the audience. Hearing him live is something incredible; this CD is the next best thing. What this incredibly talented musician can't do with a guitar is not worth knowing; his fingers fly on the chords and strum a beat while sounds that are a tonic for your soul and uplifting tempo for your mind will sweep you away to somewhere very special - to the influences of Forcione's past and his very current but innovative, original style. You've never heard the guitar like this!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
This album is a beautiful audiophile recording and more an incredible collect of rithms and fantastic licks from Forcione and Gurtu. A must have album for any serious audiophile lover. It remind me of best Oregon work, with a spicy mediterranean feeling. 5 star are for the recording quality. 4 for the artistic side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 March 2001
As mentioned in the previous review, Forcione is seriously hot stuff live - don't miss him, if you ever get the chance. It will be the most exciting evening of guitar music and improvisation you've heard in years!
If you miss the live performance, this album is one way to appreciate the sheer musical virtuosity of the man, regardless of what style he happens to be playing or the musicians playing with him. The range is breathtaking, starting with the jazzy and funky Maurizio's Party, then going via the neo-Spanish classical (Alhambra), Eastern (Indian Cafe), Italian salsa (Salsa & Basilico) through to the comatose (Serena.)
Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Another good Forcione production if you like his style of music, I have seen him in person a few times and this CD and others in his collection are a good representation of his live performances!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2002
If you like the sound of guitars in your jazz, this is for you.
A range of styles are brought forth, each placed with considerable style, precision, flair and virtuosity, kicked off with the upbeat Italian track "Maurizio's Party".
The two best pieces are Alhambra with its Spanish roots, and Indian Cafe, a haunting track with some interesting rhythms provided by Trilok Gurtu. The album finishes with "if..." and you really can feel Antonio's thoughts of 'if', played on a solo guitar.
The man really can do no wrong with a guitar!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
His other albums are much better than this one, a bit disappointed, lots of tracks a repeat from other cds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2001
I don't know much about jazz, but I certianly know that this is worth paying money for! The two best pieces are Alhambra with its latin basis, and Indian Cafe, which really does sound Indian, without insulting the sensitivities of the western ear. I'm off to buy Acoustic Revenge now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.73
£13.50

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)