Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2006
Quite simply, this is one of the best pop albums ever, and still stands up really well today over 20 years after it was first released. The album mixes light, frothy tunes such as 'Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go' and 'Freedom', with strong lyrical songs such as 'Everything She Wants', and 'Credit Card Baby'. Every track on this album was good enough to be a single, bar one.

Oh yeh, it also has 'Careless Whisper', voted one of the best songs of all time, written by George Michael when he was 16!

Slice of the finest 80's pop, cannot recommend enough.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2000
You know you like it. And you know you don't want people to know you like it. But they like it too. If they were teenies back then, male or female, they liked Wham! hits like »Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go«, »Freedom« or »Everything She Wants« (the maxi version of the latter is much better though).
The ultimate masterpiece is the George Michael ballad »Careless Whispers«.
You know you love that one too. So buy it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2003
IF YOU LIKE 80'S MUSIC YOU MUST OWN THIS GREAT ALBUM.'MAKE IT BIG' CONTAINS LOTS OF GOOD SONGS LIKE 'FREEDOM','CARELESS WHISPER' AND ALSO 'HEARTBEAT',ONE OF MY FAVOURITES!THE REMASTERED EDITION CONTAINS A WONDERFUL BOOKLET WITH GREAT PHOTOS.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
Released towards the end of 1984, 'Make It Big' capped a perfect couple of years for Wham! It filled a gap as other popular groups of the time, like Spandau Ballet, Duran Duran and Culture Club, were beginning to experience sales dips and Wham! were more than happy to step in.

'Make It Big' only has 8 tracks but 3 of them were #1's. It's fair to say that 'Heartbeat' and 'Credit Card Baby' would have probably followed suit too had they been released as singles. Rarely does such a perfect pure pop album come to light and maybe the duo were right to assume this would be their peak. 'Make It Big' is one of those albums you can put on and enjoy every track. You don't have to hit the skip button once!

He may not agree but I think George Michael was never better than here. His first solo album, 'Faith' from 1987, was arguably a bigger world wide hit and is an excellent pop/soul set, but it doesn't flow like 'Make It Big'...

I first bought the CD in the mid 80's, when they were new technology. It didn't sound particularly good, muffled and very 'soft'. This edition was remastered in 1998 and sounds amazing. It's so cheap too! To me it really is one of the best albums of the 80's. No wonder it scaled the heights.

I do think 'Make It Big' is worthy of it's own deluxe edition, similar to the forthcoming 'Faith' one. There must be umpteen remixes to include on it, not to mention the yuletide smash 'Last Christmas' released as 'Make It Big' was high in the charts. And think of what fun the DVD could be! All those videos and TV appearances! Come on, guys. Make it happen!
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I remember seeing Wham on Top of the pops in the 80,s singing well known pop songs Wake Me Up Before You Go Go and Freedom and I cannot believe its 30yrs since Freedom was in the charts it makes me feel old. I am very pleased with the album and
there are some very memorable songs on it and George Michael Is a very talented solo artist aswell. If you like 80s pop music by Wham this Is the album to get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
This review is for: Make It Big (8 Track CD)
This is the original album without any bonus tracks, so what you get here is 38 minutes of music, which by today's standards is very short, but on the plus side this is cheap.

Although this CD has been out for a long time, fans of George Michael who are not necessarily Wham! fans may have missed out on something here, which is the main reason for my review. I wanted to highlight the fact that the 6:34 extended 12" version of George Michael's first solo mega-hit "Careless Whisper" is on this CD (it isn't on any of George's own CD's in the extended version). This is the best version of the song complete with an atmospheric extended intro with additional vocals that really sets the scene for when the saxophone kicks in. Worth 5 stars on its own.

The rest of the album still sounds good almost 30 years later (although the jarring edit from "Freedom" into "If You Were There" is amateurish), but it is "Careless Whisper" that really stands out as a classic. "Everything She Wants" is good, but better in the longer 12" version which is found on Wham! The Final
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
SACD release of the infamous duos second album, mine was a japanese pressing with the side insert and notes in Japanese as well as English.
The versions of 'Everything She Wants' and 'Freedom' are (of course) slightly different from those on 'The Final' but there are a few good tracks in addition such as 'If You Were There'.
If this was a Hybrid disc it would be 5 stars but it isn't - It is an SACD-only disc. There is no CD layer so it won't play on an ordinary CD player and the sound is a straight two channel copy of the original (no surround mix here). The sound is clear as you would expect & more refined than the CD pressing - but perhaps most people would want to save a lot of cash and go for the plain vanilla CD release.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
If you just want to buy one CD of these artists which incorporates many of their best songs, it might as well be this one. Good price. Quick delivery. Easy to mp3 it for playing on a USB stick in car together with other tracks from similar creative artists. I enjoy these songs & am happy to hear them quite often. Buy with confidence
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
This album was probably the best album released in 1984. It contains the duos best work and classic songs that will always be remembered. This album is totally different to Fantastic and in my opinion a lot better. All the songs are great especially Wake me up before you go go, Everything she wants, Heartbeat, Freedom, Credit card baby and who could forget Careless whispers. This was the first album I ever purchased and, at a cheap price, I suggest all you 80's fans do the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
...guilty feet have got no rhythm

*EPIC SAX*

Yeah sure you'll get called names for listening to Wham! at stupidly loud volumes late at night drunk, half dancing and screaming the lyrics to anybody who dares to look at you..

Of course you'll get uncomfortable feelings of attraction to the loveable duo that is George and Andrew, this I'd say is the most common symptom of excessive Whamage!

Their first album's better imo but this is by no means a half measure and is actually a far better produced record than the 1st.

WHAM BAM I AM A MAN... Oh wait that's the first album too..

Ps don't do digital downloads the quality is so awful - CD/Vinyl are so much better and cheaper usually too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.95

Need customer service? Click here