Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
30
4.2 out of 5 stars
Nu-Clear Sounds
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.99+ £1.26 shipping


on 19 January 2017
Out of all of Ash's albums this one put out in late 1998 the follow up to their very successful first....was mostly paid not much attention.

Being in New Zealand I think I only remember Jesus Says being played on the radio.

Well...if you haven't heard it, your missing out on a brilliant record. Its experimental and memorable and very loud!

I think its even better than the 1977 album actually, which is saying something, maybe because its less darker than that one.

It may take a few listens to get used too, but overall its a great record very ignored.

Ignore it no longer.

Because of the lack of success of this album, they went in the more pop rock sound on albums that followed, a shame really...!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2004
Nu-Clear Sounds is hugely under-rated. In my opinion it far surpasses the quality of 1977 and on an equal par with Free All Angels, but in a very different style. Overall it has an obviously dark theme, reflecting Tim Wheeler's mood at the period when he had writer's block and things were't all well with Ash.
The album starts powerfully with 'Projects,' which immediately shows that Wheeler's song writing is brilliant, even at it's worst. 'Low Ebb' is another great song with very dark lyrics and in grunge-style. Other songs such as 'Wildsurf' and 'Jesus Says' are also outstanding.
The main strength through this album is how suited Tim Wheeler's voice is to the lyrics of the music. His fragile singing is shown especially in songs such as 'Folk Song,' which is undeniably excellent, and 'Aphrodite.'
It's the most listened-to CD in my collection; no Ash fan should be without it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2002
This album is completely underrated! I put off its purchase for a lengthy amount of time because of all of the bad press and negative online reviews I was reading. The only people who tried to put this superb work to shame were the Ash fans who were into their more poppy vibes and upbeat material as seen in their mini-debut 'Trailer' and their proper full-length '1977'. Both superb in both effort and result especially as the Bands debut.
In great anticipation of their full-blown follow up 'Nu-Clear Sounds', the aforementioned 'fans' were looking for more of the same poppy vibes. But any good music fan knows that all bands and groups break the surface of pop territory on their debut so they may be noticed from there on with anything they do, but their follow up is always more diverse and basically different from their debut. Most can presume that the influences of Ash and their music is drawn from eighties death rock and early nineties grunge from bands such as 'Iron Maiden' and 'Nirvana'. Their roots come kicking, screaming and tearing through their poppy exterior on 'Nu-Clear Sounds' with much darker, harder material with tracks like 'Death Trip 21' and 'Numbskull' not forgetting their duty to some as a pop group with 'Jesus Says' and 'Wildsurf'. Any true Ash fan will fully acknowledge their efforts at diversity and breaking barriers within their music.
The album begins with the excellently upbeat 'Projects', almost reminiscent of 'Burn Baby Burn' and a real happy head-banger. It is then toned down with the mediocre 'Low Ebb' only to throw us into the fast-paced pop anthems and two of the singles from the album 'Jesus Says' and 'Wild Surf'. Going darker and harder with 'Death Trip 21' and ready you air guitars with an excellent fast frantic and furious riff courtesy of Mr.Wheeler. After flying through the previous three tracks we are then literally dumped into the hugely disappointing 'Folk Song' which is a pointless attempt at new 'Goldfinger' and is hardly worthy of b-side status let alone where it stands as an album track. But this is well used as a shock effect as they smack us around with the next track, their final single from the album, 'Numbskull', opening with a throat-destroying scream from wheeler. I think this is one of the best items on the album - simple and effective bass riff with some top scratching which qualifies it as a stand out track on the album. Slowing things down a tad now with the worthy 'Burn Out' and extending the mood a little better now with Aphrodite which is a misty relaxing haze of barre chords, only to be thrown against Fortune Teller with a scratchy-steely, gritty riff and some pounding drums. We then conclude with the beautiful 'I'm Gonna Fall'. No doubt, a satisfying journey through the album. But you wish that they had rocked out with something rather than leaving us with a whetted appetite. But you still feel contented on being the proud owner of more genius Ash talent.
The view of some was that this was over produced but the production merely aided their goal in having something a little different to their debut. There are some really interesting touches with help from Charlotte Heatherly their new guitarist at the time, some superb scratching which works particularly well on 'Numbskull' by guest DJ Dick Kurtain and some sampling/programming in other tracks.
Overall a great CD and should not be frowned upon by any one fan. I regard it as another piece of Ash class with their uplifting spirit for some songs, ['Projects, 'Wild Surf', 'Jesus Says'] going darker and harder for others, ['Death Trip 21', 'Numbskull'] and coming out in some places with slower, more sensitive, emotional material. ['Folk Song', I'm Gonna Fall'] If you appreciated the harder aspects of their third album and what I see as a return to form, 'Free All Angels', ['Nicole', 'Shark'] it is difficult not to marvel at the breed of 'Nu-Clear Sounds'. It would also be good to note that material from 'Free All Angels' came from the final writing period of 'Nu-Clear Sounds'. You love Ash? You'll love this! In their darkest and hardest forms as a punk-pop rock group, this should not go unturned.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 July 2013
Northern Irish band Ash released their second album 'Nu-Clear Sounds' in 1998, and achieved their second top ten success in the UK album charts with it. Whilst '1977' from two years previously peaked at the top spot, 'Nu-Clear Sounds' still came at a respectable number seven.

I don't regard it as good, overall as their classic debut, there are no songs on here that really come up to the same high standard as anthems like 'Oh Yeah!' and 'Girl From Mars', but it did seriously grow on me. After a few listens, you'll find that the whole CD flows like a river from start to finish. If you like bands such as Nirvana and the Smashing Pumpkins, you don't have to listen hard to be able to hear their influence on this album.

This was the start of Ash moving away from the punk and summer-isque Britpop, and when they began making 'darker' music, which is something that I can really appreciate on their later albums. The sound is more heavier in the rock vein, and 'Low Ebb', with it's dark lyrics is my personal favourite of mine. Other gems include the rocking 'Jesus Says', and the beautiful ballad 'Aphrodite'. Frontman Tim Wheeler is a fantastic songwriter, and really, there is something to be said about every single track.

You might not take to 'Nu-Clear Sounds' immediately, but once you do, I know that you'll be able to see that it is a typical Ash album - excellent, and quality music that makes you feel so many different emotions.

Buy it, you won't regret it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2000
Ash do it again, but this time the music is darker, heavier and broodier than before. This album would probably not appeal to most Ash fans as it is a break from the 1977 vein. All things considering it is still a good album, and the addition of Charlotte Hatherly adds a new dimension to the sound of the band. The tracks to look out for are "Jesus Says", "Numbskull", "Death Trip 21" and "Fortune Teller"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2002
Even though, I think the pop-rock Ash displayed on the preceding 1977 and the following Free Al Angels albums respectively is their main strength, this is a hugely under-rated album that is probably more consistent than either of those two,a few more bonafide standouts and this would of been their best album in my book.Jesus Says is as infectious as anything they have done, and the likes of Numbskull and Projects are the sort of rip roaring rock the band always had in them to do, thats not to say the whole album is Ash turning up the volume, the likes of Folk Song are beautiful sincere low key ballads, that gives the album a nice balance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2001
Without doubt, this is Ash's weakest album. The standout tracks "Jesus Says", "Wildsurf" and "Fortune Teller" aren't fit to appear on the awesome 1977. This is an album with a few standouts (see above), many good to decent songs, and a couple of poor ones. Anyone who loves Trailer and 1977 will be disappointed by this album. Whilst 1977 and Free All Angels are marvellous albums, this falls short. By most band's standards, this would be a decent album, worthy of 4 stars. However, judging by their form before and since, this album can do nothing but disappoint.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
As someone who discover Ash at the tender age of 43 after 'Free all Angels' came out, I was very keen to catch up on what I'd been missing and brought this. Although this may not be as crowd-pleasing as 'Free all Angels' this is perhaps their most varied album musically. It may not have the showstoppers like 'Burn baby Burn' or 'Shining Light' but every time I've played it I felt it hangs together really well. Starting off with a real stomper 'Projects' the real tone of the album is set with the darkly brooding 'Low ebb' and in a strange way that sets the pattern for the rest of the album. Despite some great up-tempo tracks like 'Wild surf' and 'Fortune teller' it is the slower numbers like 'Folksong, Aphrodite' and 'I'm going to fall' that show Tim Wheeler's writing at his best and give new girl Charlotte Hattersley a real chance to shine. Although Tim Wheeler was struggling with his song writing at the time and this was one of their least successful albums in terms of sales, this is Ash in a more reflective, but perhaps their most interesting mood!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
This album sits between the towering `1977' and the massive hit album `Free All Angels' which is actually quite unfortunate. It really is a shame that this album gets overlooked because of its chronological position, taken out of context the album isn't half bad to be honest, the songs are powerful but scruffy and the melodies are quite hooky. It is only when placed back into context between two unbeatable albums that holes start to show. I think this is mainly because Ash tried to fly a little too soon, not quite ready to start making the type of songs that made `Free All Angels' so good. I think it's fair to look at `Nu-Clear Sounds' as a chrysalis album: `1977' was the Rocky, sparking, energy filled Caterpillar Ash and `Free All Angels' was the shiny, soaring almost epic Butterfly Ash. This album is the important, indispensable link between the two.

Track List:
Projects
Low Ebb
Jesus Says
Wild Surf
Death Trip 21
Folk Song
Numb Skull
Burn Out
Aphrodite
Fortune Teller
I'm Gonna Fall
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2003
Until recently, I only owned 1977, Free All Angels and Intergalactic Sonic 7s but one sunny day I decided to finally shell out from my meagre student budget and get Nu-Clear Sounds. What a surprise I got! It's got everything! From dirty guitar riffs galore in the first half to the poignant gentleness that sets in later on, this is, in fact the ultimate album to recover from being dumped to, or to sit in to on a rainy day, or if your just feeling plain dark! Even though Free All Angels is a brilliant album, it's kinda sad they only did one album like this because they did it so damn well! Just a word of warning for anyone who doesn't have it, it's a whole load more evil than their other stuff so if you're of a depressive disposition, this probably isn't for you! Adios amigos
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)