Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
80
4.4 out of 5 stars
Fear Of The Dark
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 September 2015
Fear of the Dark is without doubt my favourite Iron Maiden song and this is album is superb All the songs on it are strong One of the highlights is Afraid to shoot strangers Musically this album is complex and is classic rock in it's approach Definitely one of the Irons best albums
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
I cannot fault this album. I only wish "Judas my Guide" was a longer song.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Maiden! Very good condition and plays brilliantly. A quality item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Thanks, cd have been arrived
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
A great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Got into Iron Maiden and bought this album and another to start giving me a taste of their music and I wasn't disappointed - awesome album and am still listening to it today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Brilliant album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Better than 'No Prayer' but only just. The album as a whole feels tighter and all of the tracks feel like they fit with each other. Unlike their previous effort there are only a few songs that are lacking, although there is a distinct reek of despair that seems to permeate their post-Seventh Son albums.

The best tracks are 'From Here to Eternity', 'Afraid to Shoot Strangers', 'Judas Be My Guide' and the title track. Tracks 7 through 9 could have been ejected to make a better album, but they are still good when compared to some of the mediocre songs that daubed 'No Prayer...'.

The one reason why this is better (but no means even half as good as their first 7 or recent 3 - possibly 4!- albums)is because it does contain one 'classic' track. 'Fear of the Dark' is a belter of a song. It sounds and is classic Maiden remembering why they were so good. Unfortunately, the Maiden lot got far worse after Bruce left and that resulted in the odd album that followed.

If you are new to Maiden, start with 'No Prayer...' and then 'X-Factor', this and 'Virtual XI'. Once you get to the other albums, you might have been put off slightly but, by crikey, they will sound so beautiful!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
Having been an avid Maiden, Motorhead, AC/DC and Gillan fan back in the glory days of NWOBHM, I was a little late in adding this to my collection. I was always put off buying it because of some of the negative reviews it received, that it was Bruce's last album and that maybe, his heart wasn't in it any more. It was also the last album to be produced by the legendary Martin Birch and the first Maiden album cover not to feature a Derek Riggs design. How wrong was I! This album ranks up there as one of their best efforts.

This album has not been out of the player for about a week now! It has all the Maiden characteristics that has made them Rock Gods for the last 30 years. The album sees the emergence of Janick Gers as a strong writing force within the band, co writing no less than 5 songs, as this was his 2nd album as co lead guitarist. Released in 1992, it contains the two hit singles 'Be Quick Or Be Dead' a No.2 smash which focused its attention on several political scandals taking place at the time of its release, including the Robert Maxwell banking scandal, European stock market crashes, and the BCCI case and 'From Here To Eternity' which reached No.21 and is the fourth and most recent song in the ongoing saga of 'Charlotte the Harlot'

It's an experimental album also with several tracks being 'not the norm'. 'Fear Is The Key' is superb, another Dickinson/Gers composition certainly has a Deep Purple feel to it and Bruce sounds uncannily like Gillan and even screams a traditional Ian Gillan scream. If I didn't know any different I certainly would have thought it was a Gillan song as it borrows slightly from 'Bluesy Blue Sea' a song written by Gers/Gillan 10 years earlier in 1982 from the album 'Magic'. 'Wasting Love' is also different as it remains the band's only slow power ballad and is another Dickinson/Gers song which to me has more Gers/Gillan influences in it as it has similarities to 'Men Of War' from 'Double Trouble' and 'If I Sing Softly' from 'Future Shock' which Janick didn't even play on! I'm certainly not complaining though, as I loved those songs.

Of course a Maiden album wouldn't be one without brilliant Steve Harris compositions, there's 4 of them on here. 'Afraid To Shoot Strangers' was a political song with it's feet firmly in the Gulf War and is classic Maiden pure and simple. 'The Fugitive' is hard and heavy as you would come to expect. 'Childhood's End' is a slight departure for Steve, not as head down trust in the Lord approach as usual and usues keyboards to good effect. 'Fear Of The Dark' is the now customary album finale classic in the same mould as 'Hallowed Be Thy Name''Rime Of The Ancient Mariner''To Tame A Land' etc. The track became a 'live' favourite with band and fans alike. I don't like to forget Dave Murray who has been here since day 1 and his 2 co penned songs 'Chains Of Misery' and 'Judas Be My Guide' are typical 'old' Maiden sounding and are by no means 'fillers'.

So, there you go, a great album of great songs, a worthy way for Martin, Derek and Bruce to bow out of the Maiden bandwaggon and certainly in my Top 3 of Maiden albums. Obviously Bruce returned with the superb 'Brave New World' 8 years later. I'm really glad that I made my acquaintance with this record, as it has become a firm favourite. Buy It!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)