Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
164
Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 May 2015
Although I would not rate as my favourite album from this period, it is without doubt a classic slab of of vinyl - packed with strong songs, good writing and linked by the concepts of re-incarnation and clairvoyance (brought to you by the number 7).

This pressing sounds great - the EQ seem a little punchier than the original pressing and certainly wider than the CD master.

Cover artwork is very well reproduced - although the front cover is a little "grainy". The inner sleeve is good - but the picture of Eddie is a little brighter and not as well defined as the original release. The disk labels are nicely reproduced too.

Physically the disk is flat and feels great - it sits firmly on the turntable and there is no noticeable warbles of flutters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2001
I have to agree with everything everybody here has said about Seventh Son. This, for me defines Iron Maiden as much as The Number Of the Beast. It came along at a time when they were extremely popular, actually made them popular. To some it could be seen as their start on a long road to musical death but it is truly the shining jewel in their crown, the essence of all that is Iron Maiden. It only has 8 tracks but they are all blinders. Infinite Dreams is one of the best songs they have written, as is Seventh Son.

Unfortunately they did start to plummet into self parody after this. And when they lost Bruce, it was a dark day. But now he is back in the fold, and after a string of equally mesmerising new albums Iron Maiden are now back on top.

But, in the meantime remember Iron Maiden for the 7 albums they masterfully gave us before the 90s, Seventh Son being their last truly stunning album before Brave New World.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2015
I used to love this as a teenager when it came out and bought it with that memory in mind. I still love Moonchild (an excellent intro to an album) and a few others seem to stand the test but much of it sounds dated. Having said all that, I was never a die-hard Maiden fan. If you've enjoyed other Maiden albums you'll probably add at least another star to your review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2017
TALKING ABOUT THIS DISC IS TO SPEAK A WONDERFUL DISC, WHICH HAS HIS WELL CONCEPTUAL AND A WONDERFUL ROCK DISC
SOMETIMES COMPLICATED REFERENCE TO THIS VINYL, EVERYTHING IS WONDERFUL FROM THE BEGINNING TO THE END
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
Total classic. Sure, it sounds dated (it's hardly a recent release!) but that takes nothing away from the amazing songs, the story, the shear awesomeness. Every song is a belter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2011
Throughout the 1980's iron maiden had been releasing classic metal albums one after the other, and this album is no exception, this cd is packed with killer guitar riffs and solos along with plenty of superb vocal work from Dickinson. I tend to ignore the whole concept album part of it because firstly the concept isn't that interesting and I'm constantly distracted by the fantastic music.
The highlights of this album for me have to be moonchild with its cool buildup at the start of the song, the epic anthem can I play with madness, and the truly awesome the evil that men do, with its inspiring chorus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2012
'Seventh Son of a Seventh Son' is one of the better albums released by Britain's favourite Heavy Metal group. Although differing slightly in its compilation and execution to its predecessors, it is certainly well worth having, even if you don't like Iron Maiden so much.

Being a rather short album for Iron Maiden (it's an 8 track album that lasts for approx. 44 minutes), you expect a lot of quality encased in that plastic box. Luckily, you get it. Some of my favourite Iron Maiden tracks come off of this disc, two of which make it onto the 'Best Of' album 'Somewhere Back In Time' - 'Can I Play With Madness' and 'The Evil That Men Do'. The best track on this album is, to me in the least, 'Can I Play With Madness'. It's unusual in the sense that it's actually less than five minutes long while managing to impart a whole story through its lyrics.

The actual style of the songs in the album is fairly different to others. For a start, there's a keyboard at work. This is obvious from the first track ('Moonchild') onwards. It actually adds a rather welcome softer undertone to the music, which is something wholely unexpected, as Iron Maiden have always been about making their songs the best they can with what they have. As such, the tracks in the album are more pop than any I've heard before. They seem a lot softer than those in, say, 'Piece of Mind', but it really fits with the mood of the album.

While the guitarwork in this album is slightly diminished by the use of a keyboard, that doesn't mean that they hold back on the searing solos. As well as this classic display of Heavy Metal prowess, we actually catch some of the softer guitar parts in songs such as 'Infinite Dreams' and 'Seventh Son of a Seventh Son', but, needless to say, the break is but a brief interlude to some real Maiden madness.

In conclusion, this album is a great buy. For the price that Amazon offers, it's almost like robbery to accept the price they offer. As such, I am very glad to have acquired such a fantastic album for so small a price. Classic Maiden at less than five quid - who could ask for more?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2015
This is the second iron maiden album i have recently purchased. I'm not sure how i missed them in the 70's, probably into other groups at the time!
This is without doubt the best rock album i have bought for 25 years. There is not a bad track on it, it is fantastic!!!

Cant say any more than that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Excellent item great service thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2017
Its the dogs b******s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here