Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
106
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2006
If your getting into heavy Metal then there is no better band or album to by than Maiden's Number of the beast.

Number of the beast was the first Maiden album i bought and it just inspired me buy more Maiden albums. I am now a huge Maiden fan thanks to this superb album. Each song is superb, the lyrics sung by Bruce Dickinson are just superb and the twin guitarist pairing of Adrian Smith and Dave Murray is the best partnership in heavy metal. This partnership inspired me to learn to play the guitar.

The stand out song for me has to be 'Hallowed Be Thy Name', which is arguably Maidens best ever Song wrote by the best song writer ever Steve Harris.

Other songs to look out for is the title track 'Number of the beast' and also 'Run to the hills'.

So if your looking to get into Metal then you have to buy this album otherwise you are not a true Metal fan. So buy it NOW!!!!

UP THE IRONS!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Immense, Beast of luck in getting the xmas Number 1

Up the Irons
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2004
An absolutely brilliant album. Combines brilliant catchy melodies with heavy metal rhythm parts.
Only one bad point:
Invaders - Would be an absolute classic but is let down by the extremely poor chorus.
Despite Gangland being pretty unpopular amoung Maiden fans, I really like it. Strangely enough, I'm not so keen on Run to the Hills, which is considered a classic by most. Oh well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
*** {This review is heavily revised - I am forced to back track on previous comments that this vinyl copy is great because, well, it isn't. In fact, as others are suggesting, it is bloody awful.} ***

There is an emergent consensus suggesting a dearth of sonic quality (consistent with picture discs) and it would be great to obtain an unused original or suitably reissued, non-remixed item in simple, classic, black with which to remind oneself of the 'old format's' potential...

There can be no denying that 'done well,' there's a a certain warm glow for Classicists in the age old observance of plastic spinning at 33 revs per minute.

The reason for performing this spectacular volte face re my original thoughts is mainly down to my re-acquaintance with the original CD I had acquired when originally released, although an increasing dissatisfaction with continued replays of this particular vinyl edition has not helped.

I'm sorry but there is just no comparison with the CD; none whatsoever.

Take the opening monologue at the start of the title track: on this picture disc, Barry Clayton's fabulous enunciation seems chronically biased to the right hand side of the sound stage and thoroughly compressed and in tandem with some appalling disc noise, conspires to almost disappear from the experience: on the CD, he is clear, expansive and compelling, adding wholeheartedly to the segue into one of Heavy Metal's greatest intros.

This is borderline unforgivable and if you can't revel in this titanic title track masterpiece as the boys intended (including, I'm sure, Martin Birch himself,) then frankly, what's the point?

I'm afraid after two months, I am forced into crying foul: this is an undiluted, sonic disaster zone.

Indeed, I even went to considerable expense having my turntable professionally recalibrated, such was the disappointment but alas, to no avail: this Metal Loco has just pulled into Grand Stinker Central.

I shall now attempt to seek out the original LP, second hand: cracks and pops I can countenance - sonic stodge - I cannot...

On a general point, vinyl is an imperfect way of devouring music but there remains something singularly wonderful and somehow more 'involving' about these elegant slithers of slim software with their emphatic artwork and legible package notes (which this offering certainly possesses.)

CD exploded into public consciousness in 1983, about a year after this Metal milestone was released and it should be a fitting tribute to band, creed and format that this title should be enjoyed 'the old way.'

However for now, this undisputed, thoroughly deserved Classic of Heavy Metal will be drunk from the cup of uncompressed digitisation.

What a screaming, damn shame. Bugger.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Probably the best heavy metal album ever recorded. The tracks are original and powerful. It just blows you away. I first listened the album some 15 years ago and still amazes me ! Just buy it, it's a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2006
OK, I know I'm going to get flamed for this but compared to it's two predecessors this 3rd album with the new singer sounds a little uninspired in parts, sounds a little rushed and lacks some of the intricate musicianship of the first 2 albums. Still some class tracks on this though; Children of the Damned, Number of the Beast, Run to the Hills and live fave Hallowed Be Thy Name.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2009
this is one maiden album everyone should have the energy and power explodes from your speakers not for the faint hearted this will blow you away a classic rock albulm up there with the best worth the money for run to the hills and 666 on there own voted best live act at the brits so they havent lost any passion for performing there music which is why they still have a massive fan base iron maiden keep your heavy metal flag flying high
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2000
This is a classic and should be know as one! I LOVE hallows be thy name and the sound of it really affects you some how... anyway it is a must have for thoese long depresing winters or short soul-lifting summers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This 2012 vinyl release sounds pretty bad. It was transferred at low volume, with a poor flat sound. A great gatefold indeed, with inner sleeve, picture disc, etc, etc. But if the real value you are looking for in a vinyl is a great quality sound, I say: ... DO BETTER NEXT TIME, PLEASE !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Soory to say but the sound is horrible on this, It sounds like wind blowing in the background the whole time it is played. I have a perfectly balanced Shure XE 97 cartridge on a Audio Technica ATLP USB 240 top of the line speakers with a great amp. the recording is nearly unplayable.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)