Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2010
Half way through the third track, I spontaneously burst into tears and carried on sobbing like a baby for half an hour. Whatever it is, these haunting melodies somehow enable us to un-lock and feel raw emotion.... they seem to tap into something very deep about the human condition, that of love and loss. Also, the music is just beautiful, demonstrated in the singer's vocal range and complex harmonising. This cd is an absolute gem. I daren't listen to it in public in case I make a complete fool of myself, but it is quite unique and transcendental!
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
Superb music - haunting and enigmatic. First bought the album about 25 years ago when it first came out and have yet to find a better recording of Bulgarian music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
An absolute must for any fan of Bulgarian singing. Beautifully done and fabulous listening. The only thing better than listening to Bulgarian songs is actually singing them. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Beautiful, haunting music that seems to get better each time you listen to it. Will be getting some more for my English friends here in Bulgaria as they love it too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2005
This is an album unlike any other. With no technical trickery involved, it is a haunting testament to the power and diversity of the human voice. If you've gotten as far as reading this review, just buy this now.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
This has been my best choice of music for quite some time. I am afraid that traditions and culture that once where so important, are long gone. We will not be able to create music even half as good as this even in a million years from now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
The voices are incredible, it makes me wish I could sing. There is hardly any music but the vocals are unbelievable
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
'The mystery of Bulgarian voices' is indeed a unique collection of songs/chants/rhythms and ethereal vocal sounds that make my spine tingle! The choral vibrations are, on first listening slightly bizarre and unusual but with repeated listening, these female singers are becoming close friends. If you want to broaden your listening horizons, give this album a go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Strangly evocative. Sounds like earth and air. Moving also, in their direct and strong simplicity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Great singing. Heard it years ago, great to rediscover it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.97
£20.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)