Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
27
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2006
i was shocked at how brilliant this album was. The band is almost like a British version of Eels. If you loved Beautiful Freak, you'll love this album, and visa versa.

Almost every single song is an absolute winner... in terms of songs that are suitable to hit the radio as singles you are spoilt for choice here. The album is very strong all the way through. You'll want to listen to it on repeat over and over again.

The songs do vary in style which means it doesn't have that "samey" feel of so many similar albums out there.

I cannot recommend this album highly enough. It's collosal.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2001
Radiator is one of the greatest albums ever made. Its clever mix of styles, from beach boy style harmonies through melancholy techno and enervating punk will leave you amazed.
Gruff's voice sounds perfect for the songs and Cian's clever use of electronic effects makes the Super Furry Animals stand way above any of their immediate contemporaries.
There are no bad tracks here, but pay special attention to International Language of Screaming with Gruff taking this title literally towards the end of the song and Play it Cool is more laid back than a very relaxed limbo dancer of holiday.
However, possibly the finest track is Hermann loves Pauline, with mad lyrics about Einstein, Marie Curie and Che Guavara.
If you haven't heard anything by SFA before, I recommend that you buy this and never look back.
SFA OK!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2001
When the Super Furry Animals are at their best they stand head and shoulders over their contemporaries - and they have never made a better album than this. The first few tracks are good solid SFA fare, if nothing revelatory, but by the time Demons fades out the Furries are well and truly firing on all cylinders and proceed to belt out one of the strongest middle sections of an album you'll have heard in many moons.
The Beach Boys comparisons usually get wheeled out every time this album is mentioned, and while it's true that a few tracks e.g. She's Got Spies are sprinkled with Wilsonesque "oooo"s and "ba ba ba ba"s (and unlike certain other popular Welsh bands they pull it off without sounding like they're playing a Christmas song) there's more often a late 70s/early 80s power pop vibe going on, such as the fantastic Chupacabras (furiously thrashed out in barely 90 seconds) or the stompy genius of Hermann Luvs Pauline.
Although mainly guitar-based, instruments are wielded with refreshing imagination and a glimpse of the band's oft-vaulted techno roots can sometimes be detected in the unconventional backing effects and the way the last song degenrates into brain-frazzled bleepery at the death- all of which help put paid to any chance of this album being easily pigeonholed in terms of style.
Lyrically too Radiator is superb with a ready supply of wit and a wide range of targets- topics include the birth of Einstein and the relation of Che Guevara thereto, the danger of one's cat or goat being devoured by a huge Latin American bat, a Welsh-language plea for a long haircut (Torri Fy Ngwallt Yn Hir) and plenty more besides.
Even now it's got a few birthdays behind it, Radiator still sounds fresh and exciting. It is a fine example of the surreal and wonderful world of the Furries and there's just so much going on it stands up very well to repeat listening. Great band, great songs, great attitude. Go on, you know you want to. Soy super bien.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2002
If, in an unusual twist of fate, albums were to become pizzas, Radiator would be some sort of 'Ultimate-Supreme-Monster Pizza' type-affair, piling all of the juiciest toppings, however diverse, onto a lovingly hand-baked deep-pan base. Thus we have the chunky bacon rock 'n' roll of Chupacabras or the juicy pineapple pop of She's Got Spies, allied to the spicy beef and onion chanting of Hermann Loves Pauline. Even the anchovies found at the end of the album, when Mountain People descends into ear-battering techno anarchy, seem to be the final ingredient needed to make things just right. A feast for the ears, proving that in the right hands more definitely is more.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2001
If SFA's debut Fuzzy Logic flirted with a variety of musical genres, then Radiator, its follow-up, has a full-blown affair with them. The songwriting has improved markedly (compare, say, the acid-glam of Hermann Loves Pauline to the Quo-glam of God! Show Me Magic) and has greater depth (similarly, compare the wistful beauty of Demons to the relatively airy-fairy Gathering Moss).

Perhaps the best illustration of SFA's unconventional approach comes at Radiator's conclusion, when the psychedelic folk of The Mountain People inexplicably mutates into pumping techno. It's but one of countless inspired moments on a magnificent LP by one of the best bands on this planet. Assuming, that is, that they really are of this planet...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
What can I say about this album? It's like a good meal really. Diverse and rich, with much on offer for all tastes. I discovered this album a week before a family tragedy, so it's permanently associated with that, but not in a bad way. Put simply, it's great as a whole, and by turns diverse, rich, brilliant, sparky and dreamy. Dreamy's the key really. I'm sure some of my dreams have played out with this as a soundtrack. Psychedelic trance rock. Not as a specific genre, God forbid... It's warm, and you feel loved listening to it.

My favourite section is from 'Bass Tuned To D.E.A.D' to the end of the album. Quirky, eccentric and pure genius. In my top twenty albums, without a shadow of a doubt. Love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2007
this was the second album i bought by them, jsut because i wanted the single 'demons' but straightaway i realised that this is a classic album. the opener 'placid casual' is really dramatic sounding, 'demons' is a gorgeous record as is 'down a different river', even the artwork in the sleeve rocks! The best thing about this album is it surprises on every listen as there is a lot happening without being hard to listen to. also love the way you get elements of beach boys harmonising. Love it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2003
The Rambling Keyboard introduction (Furryvision) for this album sets the tone for the rest of one of the best albums I've ever had the fortune to randomly buy, based on the fact it was released on my birthday. I have to say it was a great present to myself. To really appreciate this album you have to ignore the fact that it doesn't all come from one genre, blending styles with elegant simplicity and quirkiness not found on more modern works. I would say this album is infinitely better than Rings around the world, not so over edited, it retains a charming blend of madness and melody, the Super Furries are impossible to compare to any other band as they keep on Surprising. Also, as they provided the superb refreshing alternative to Radiohead at Glastonbury, all i can say is-thank god for the Welsh
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2007
I actually FORGOT that i once owned a copy of this great album about ten years ago, i recently bought a used copy and suddenly!!!! it all came flooding back.

Gruff Rhys (as you no doubt already know) continues to write some of the most melodic,wigged out,interesting errr.... psychedelia of modern times, this album is yet another SFA classic with , alongside phantom power it gets regularly hammered, especially good in the moments before nodding off....BUY IT.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2005
great album! i love it, i think here u can find SFA maximum peak as songwriting skills;
recordings are a bit rough but that's one of the elements that make this album a masterpiece, along with beautiful tracks as mountain people, demons, she's got spies, bass tuned to D.E.A.D.
a must for any music lover.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£5.40
£3.91

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)