Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
52
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2005
The second (and the best) album from the massivly underrated Garbage. there are 12 powerful and strong tracks that leave you sweating after you've listened to it. Including the best Garbage song ever 'Temptation waits' which is a soundtrack to 'Buffy the vampire slayer' that is extreemly powerful and fast. Also there is 'When i grow up' which is a movie soundtrack to 'Big Daddy'.
If you enjoyed their first album then you must get this album as it is 1000 times better.
Sheer brilliant
10000000/10
A++++++++++++++++++++++++++
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2007
The best album by one of the best bands from the nineties, Version 2.0. equals end exceeds the quality of their debut, thanks to tracks like Special, I think I'm paranoid, Push it, and, the best for me, You look so fine. Their sound is so characteristic, that when the intro to Temptation waits begins, you know this is a CD from Garbage, and then you simply enjoy. I love the eerie sound they give to their slow and mid-tempo songs (top marks here for Medication), and the sheer power they display on the fast ones (so richly musical at the same time. Special has three rhytm and key changes. Few bands nowadays can do that with the ease Garbage do).

Without doubt, one of the ten best CDs from the nineties.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2001
It took me quite a while to discover a rock band with great unusual twists and decent lyrics that actually sound good. This is them. The lead singer really is great annd if your into female(or male - i'm just reffering to the lead singer) rock with a seductive twist then this is definately it. They're not to heavy and aren't really loud banging in your ears rock music but they're definately the sort of rock music that has a bit more of an intellectual twist to it. And they're songs aren't to soft either. Okay i realise i am now babbling so i'll just say that each song is as good as the next and the album is one you'll want to keep slipping into the cd player for years to come! Buy It
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2005
One of their best albums, I think, and I have all of them. Shirley Manson's vocals are full of power and the emotion each song conveys, and more often then not listening again makes you pick up the subtler undertones. A fantastic album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2008
I came across Garbage about 4 years ago when i was 17. They are now one of my favourite bands.
This is a great album. I personally had to listen to it a few times before i got into it because their sound was so different. So if you don't find yourself instantly grabbed give it a chance :) 5 shiny stars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2002
One of the things I like about Garbage is that they are very unique amongst their peers. They combine rock with great samples and wierd processing to create a sound that contains many influences but is very much their own. Also, once one album is done and toured and all, they spend all their energy on the next, developing their sound just that bit more. That for me is what this record is all about.
My favourites here are the rocky Push it, the progressive Medication, and the absolutely gorgeous The trick is to keep breathing, beautiful synthesisers, brooding vocals by the great Ms Manson and a wonderful guitar line mixed seemlessly to create the stand out track of the record for me. The only dissapointment was Hammering the head, but I'm sure someone will disagree with me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Is this the best Garbage's album ever? Difficult to affirm. As the first one you can find all the human moods in it. Songs as: "Push it" or "I think I'm paranoid" should be consider among the best rock songs of all the times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
first album isa big hit what do you do for album 2? more of the same!!! and its again a fantastic exercise in electronic pop rock!

this album seems to flow slightly better than the debut with slighter thicker guitar sound...the real star of the show again though is shirley manson...as she whispers and sings little stories into your head

the only real difference for me is that the electronic element seems higher in the mix than on any of the other albums giving it a slightly bouncier/dancey feel

personally this is my fave by garbage because it feels the most consistent and has my fave songs on it....if you like the first album you wont be disappointed here
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2006
This is a great LP an indie-pop classic. Shirley croons her way through the record with a vampish style that few can match. 'I think I'm Paranoid' must be their greatest track combining visceral power with intelectual integrity. A crazed disturbed electro indie classic. This and the firts album are Garbages finest hour. Shirley must have been very grateful that Butch vig happened to be watching MTV the day she appeared with Angelfish and then gave her the call. A lucky moment in time for her and us. Billiant!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
I bought this CD having had Version 1.0 for years. It could have been brought out last week as far as I am concerned because is sounds great. 'Special' is one of the stand out tracks, even without the video in mind but there isn't a bad track on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)