Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

An excellent best-of selected from Jerry's country material from the Mercury days. Not only does it include a lot of material from the two albums which established Jerry's reputation in the country field, "Another Place, Another Time" and "She still comes around (to love what's left of me" it also goes back further to the earlier attempt at breaking the country market, "Country Songs for City Folks". From that album we get the great "Green Green Grass of Home2 and "Detroit City" which, unfortunately were hits for self-confessed Jerry Lee fan Tom Jones but not for the Killer himself.

From slightly later albums we get the man's take on a great Mickey Newbury song, "She Even woke me up to say goodbye" and Kristofferson's "Help me make it through the night".

I really can't fault any of this and is it any surprise that after recording such material, Jerry Lee was wont to call himself the greatest country singer as well as the greatest rock'n'roll singer of all time with some claim to legitimacy!

There is another Mercury based country collection, "Killer Country" which isn't bad but I'd pick this one of the two due to the songs selected.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
Jerry Lee Lewis (The Killer) cd is a good collection of songs, a real treat to hear his honky tonky style on all tracks, a compilation put together by Gary Walington for Spectrum Records, 20 studio tracks recorded between 1965/1970 inside cd sleeve a profile written by Richard Wooton.
a CD at a Killer price
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
when the rocker jerry lee lewis claimed he was the greatest country singer ever he wasn't lying, his vocal range and the way he breathes new life and attitude into some classic country standards is spellbinding, i almost thought i was in a juke joint with a pitcher of beer down south listening to this cd, not a duff track just pure genius' haunting melancholy uplifting soulful gospel country blues all mixed together in an inimitable lived in been there and then some style, i own thousands of cds but in the wee small hours with beer and good company this is the one i reach for
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
There seems to be an errant review here. This is not a live recording but a bonafide compilation of some of Jerry Lee's country output. I did not buy this cd out of a sense of obligation, but because I like great country and Jerry Lee knows how to do great country. This cd has a broad sweep of his country stuff, most of which is top draw and you cannot argue with the price. You aint getting much in sleeve notes or pictures (in fact next to nothing) but the sound quality is great and a good starting point for exploring his country sound. If you don't like country or Jerry Lee, don't buy this cd. I have not bought a Mumford and Sons cd because they stink.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Every track is A1. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole album. Would highly recommend this. Lets have more like it. Can't wait for the next one
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
An excellent compilation ruined by early attempts at stereo separation which, unfortunately, is fairly typical from this era. Possibly OK if listening via speakers but, if like me, you intend to use headphones then the results would be laughable if they weren't so tragic. You will hear most tracks with the great JLL from the centre (as you would expect) but then, for some reason, a genius of an engineer has decided to separate his piano and feed it via the left or right - giving the distinct impression that someone else is playing it! Also, in doing so the piano fades into the background and is nowhere near as prominent as it should be. I have many of these tracks in their original mono format and these stereo rips are nowhere near as punchy or exciting. Such a shame. The 3 stars I give are purely because I can't bring myself to award 1 star for such a great performer as Jerry Lee.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
not the best jerry lee country album, not know where as good as killer country
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Been looking for songs on this album for ages for my husband, He is over the moon with the collection as there are old favorites and some songs new to him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Very pleased with the tracks on this album. I listen to it often. I would definitely recommend this album to my friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Already had the album on vinyl... wanted the convenience of a CD... love the album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)