Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
72
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2001
While being grouped in the category of less successful and obviously less interesting Maiden albums, Virtual XI is not the worst they have written. The X-Factor, despite what I read in the reviews on these pages, is a bad album. Musically it is bland and feels like it has been stuck permanently in the 80's. No Prayer for the Dying was also not great but at least Bruce was singing. The inclusion of Blaze Bayley was, I'm afraid, one of the deciding factors in forming my opinion on the new material from the band. But I must say that although he started off badly, he found his footing with album no. 2 (or 11, whichever).

As a whole, Maiden seem to have gelled nicely. It feels as though they enjoy playing again, which is one of the reasons why their first 7 albums were all so good. Music should be enjoyed not only by the audience. Maiden make you feel as if they have returned from a long sabatical with Virtual XI.

Futureal is a classic Maiden track, as good and as exciting as The Trooper, Can I Play With Madness and The Prisoner all rolled into one. Possibly one of their best ever tracks. That is what was missing from post 7th son recordings, any sign of a true Maiden classic. It is short for a Maiden track, only 3 minutes, but it is a great opener to an album that is dotted with good songs although it does falter towards the middle. The Angel & the Gambler is far too long but, somehow, does not get tedious. Lightning Strikes Twice is a worthy track but is missing something. The Clansman is actually rather good, very overblown but a true Maiden saga track that just about ticks all the boxes. When Maiden do an epic, they usually do a good one. Just take Dream of Mirrors and The Nomad from Brave New World (a much more exhilarating return to form). The following three songs are very close in style and execution to Lightning Strikes....

What really sets this album apart from the X-Factor, No Prayer for the Dying etc is what holds it all together and makes you want to listen to it all the way through: the opening and the end track. Futureal and Como Estais Amigos are true Maiden classics that rise above anything they've produced on their previous 3 albums. And listening to Bruce sing Futureal live on the B-side of The Wicker Man suddenly makes you realise that it is a song that could have been written back in their Powerslave or Somewhere in Time era.

Not exactly vintage Iron Maiden but back-on-form Iron Maiden. Bruce is still far better suited to the frontman role but every effort is made with this album to forefront Blaze's vocals, which are very good.

If you want an album that is typical of Maiden, try Number of the Beast or Piece of Mind, or indeed 7th son. Virtual XI is purely for the die-hards. Nevertheless, a 4 star effort and a glimpse of their fabulous rebirth.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2003
While Bayley didn't, in my opinion, ever top Paul or Bruce's vocals, he uses a wide vocal range on his second (and last) Maiden album. Opinions on this album are extremely varied as you can see by the below reviews, but I believe this album was a worthy purchase!
"Futureal" kicks off the album brilliantly, with 3 minutes of speed and power, and insanely fast bass playing by Mr Steve Harris.
Sadly, this is followed by "The Angel and the Gambler". 10 minutes of cheesy keyboard touches, a hazy subject matter and the most frustrating lines I've heard anyone sing in recent memory ("Don't you think I'm a saviour, Don't you think I could save ya, Don't you think I could save your life") all add up to the most disappointing Maiden song I've ever heard.
Things soon pick up though, with "Lightning Strikes Twice", a song which builds up from slow to fast, perhaps representing the gradual approach of a thunder storm. Decent song.
"The Clansman" is my favourite track on the album, and a tribute to my favourite film, Mel Gibson's "Braveheart". Based in the reign of power-hungry Edward Longshanks, the 9 minute song perfectly reflects the film it's based on, with a gob smacking rendition of the word "FREEDOM!" by Bayley. Guitars sound very Scottish, and a blistering solo will leave you doing traditional Scottish dances to this classic! :-P
The centrepiece of the album, "When Two Worlds Collide" is self-explanatory as to its subject matter. Nothing special, but a solid track nonetheless.
"The Educated Fool" talks about living life to the full, so indeed you should! Another good track, but one which I fear will be overlooked in comparison to "Futureal" or "The Clansman".
"Don't Look to the Eyes of a Stranger" sounds pretty lame at first, but you'll appreciate it after a few listens. It builds up with tension, and COULD be seen as the other person's point of view in the song "Prowler".
"Como Estais Amigos" mourns the war-dead, and is an emotional album-closer. This is the only song on "Virtual XI" that doesn't have Steve Harris in the writing credits, and is more evidence of the more emotional side of 90's Maiden.
This is indeed a good album with a few classics, and most of the rest are definitely worth listening to many times. However, "The Angel and the Gambler" is a real let-down, and stains the album for me, as I can't get any enjoyment out of that song. There are much better Maiden albums than "Virtual XI", and I'd only advise this to the long-term fan. To me it is much more than a space in my collection, but it's no "Powerslave" or "Seventh Son...".
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2008
I really like this album and find it a valuable part of my Maiden collection.Die hard fans of the group probably hate it because Bruce is not singing,sure I can understand this but lets be honest here this is not the crap album that a lot of reviewers make out it is.I found it nice and heavy and feel Blaze did a fine job on on vocals.Maybe best for you to listen to first before you purchase if your not sure but all I can say is I think its great and I play often and say well done Blaze for your help in making a really good solid album with the troops.
Check out Blaze band on Amazon.
Hope review helps you.Virtual X1.
Ps SSSssshhhhhhh.Just go get it,its a great album.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Not much to say but I cant stop listening to this album. I dont care what people say I really like Blaze. His voice is perfect for these songs, the songs are great especially Lightning Strikes Twice, When Two Worlds Collide, The Clansman, Futureal and The Educated Fool. The riffs are awesome too. Even if you prefer Bruce this is still fantastic work. Blaze's voice is as close to Bruce as it could be without actually being him.

Dont listen to the low scores. If you are a massive Iron Maiden fan and you accept that Bruce is not singing this album you will certainly like this album. This is probably my favourite IM album.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2008
Sure this album wasn't as good when Iron Maiden had Bruce Dickinson or Paul Dianno but on it's own it's awesome. My favourites are Futureal, The Angel And The Gambler, Lightning Strikes Twice, The Clansman & When Two Worlds Collide (the guitars are awesome in that). I have no problem with this album or The X Factor their both brilliant. Yeah this is pretty different to maiden's other album but you have to be open minded and dont just vhate this cause it doesnt have Bruce Dickinson cause that's stupid. My advice is if you are a maiden fan and dont have this or The X Factor then buy 'em both and ignore the negative reviews, and if you're starting to get into Iron Maiden start with albums Killers, The Number Of The Beast Or Powerslave and leave Virtual XI and The X Factor till last though they are awesome you may think different just start of with the classic albums i mentioned. UP THE IRONS.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
I knew at the time of this albums release that their previous record, the X Factor was gonna be a hard act to follow. When I heard this cd for the 1st time, I found out I was right. The Educated Fool is a bit below par, as is When Two Worlds Collide. Nevertheless, I am still awarding this album 5 stars. Wanna know why?
It's cos Virtual XI has it's fair share of Maiden classics.
Futureal makes a good opening number, and if that does'nt get you going, then The Clansman will.This is an excellent epic track that has echoes of Braveheart about it, and deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as the likes of number of the beast. Listening to Blazes cry of "freedom" in the chorus just makes you want to sing along. Dont Look To The Eyes of A Stranger has one of those galloping middle sections that greatly livens up what otherwise would have been a dull song. Lightning Strikes Twice is good too, as is the final track; Como Estais Amigos. (English translation is, I think, "How are you my friends"). Another Maiden masterpiece that is criminally underrated and is up there with the other classics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Many fans felt disappointed with the X-Factor leading to a radical change in direction with the release of Virtual XI, and the results, even worse

Track 1: Futureal - A track that is actually a decent one, fast and frantic, Murray and Gers are given room to perform some furious riffs after such restraint on The X-Factor, Full of energy and punchy vocals from Blaze, Futureal is a strong start to the album

Track 2: The Angel and the Gambler - Oh how the might have fallen, The Angel and the Gambler is in my opinion the worst track Maiden have ever included in a studio release, the downright cringe inducing riffs introduce the track before Blaze butchers some already admittedly awful lyrics, feeling like the credits to a mid-2000's Adam Sandler comedy, The track goes on far too long and feels so cheap and tacky it's hard to believe it is Maiden

Track 3: Lightning Strikes Twice - An improvement from Angel and the Gambler, sure, however Lightning Strikes Twice is almost laughably bad, Blaze sounds like an over enthusiastic narrator from a radio serial, after a rather promising intro the track dips into mundanity and a quality rarely ever dipped into by Maiden

Track 4: The Clansman - A fantastic song that utilises an Acoustic Bass in the intro the forbode the vast nature of the song and it works beautifully, sounding like a song Maiden would later produce taking a lot of Proggressive inspiration, paced fantastically as mini mid-album epic, With Balze even doing a good job, and the duo of Murray and Gers stealing the show during their solos, some fantastic lyrics and an incredibly Rock in Rio version, The Clansman is a gem among rocks

Track 5: When Two Worlds Collide - Not on the level of Angel and the Gambler but the track lyrics often comes off as something from a small time indie band rather than Maiden, the intro is tough to get through and the chorus never really goes anyway despite some nice production and guitar work

Track 6: The Educated Fool - Slow and dare I say boring, the way Blaze sings the track is so easy to make fun of it's almost embarrassing to listen too, a lack of powerful lyrics and performance from blaze makes the seviceable production even more mundane than it would be regardless

Track 7: Don't Look into the Eyes of a Stranger - A strange intro leads to what is ultimately 8 minutes of tripe in which Blaze and the rest of the boys think of the songs own self importance higher than it actually is, a shame really, the production is impressive yet the song itself isn't good enough to be worth it

Track 8: Como Estais Amigos - Simmilar to 2 AM from The X-Factor, an absolutely mesmerising introduction riff compliments Blaze's best ever performance with Maiden and some truly heartfelt lyrics, while Murray and Gers show appreciable restraint leading to some very emotional chords, while McBrain's drumming compliments this all ramps up the tension, a standout amongst a poor album

Overall Virtual XI remains Maiden's worst ever output, 3 Great tracks can't salvage it from mediocrity, but with Blaze out, and the Return of Bruce Dickinson and Adrian Smith creating a 6 piece that Would define Maiden to this day, what was next?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Well, if you're just beginning with the band, I'd recommend getting their 80s work first, then their 2000's albums - the 90's ones aren't their best. However, as someone who loves Iron Maiden, I found this one pretty enjoyable - in fact it's probably their 90s album I listen to most. To me it sounds more "Iron Maiden" than anything else they put out in that decade - the early 90s Bruce albums were drifting towards more of a rockish metal (as opposed to the grand, epic speed metal of their 80s heyday), and "The X Factor" was rather dirgy. Virtual XI is a little more fast and upbeat than it's predecessor. I kind of liked Blaze's singing - not as great as Bruce in the 80s, but Blaze had a dark, rich voice that was good in a different way (and Bruce's singing on the early 90's Maiden albums wasn't his best, either - and, if you check out Blaze's post-Maiden solo stuff, he sounds even better than he did with Maiden).
The biggest complaint about this album, which others have mentioned, is that some of the choruses (mainly on "Angel and the Gambler") are too repetitive. I rather like the song, but it's a rather Who-ish/classic 70s rock vibe, and they did this thing where they took it down and built it up while repeating the chorus over and over, so I can see why some metal fans don't like it. Musically it's kind of cool, but they probably should've written more lyrics! Honestly, it's probably something that would've been best saved for the live performance and a shorter, tighter arrangement would've suited the studio album better. "Don't Look To The Eyes of A Stranger" does a similar thing, but I think it works a little better. Aside from that, this album just FEELS more like Iron Maiden than their previous 3 - although, maybe a safer, more comfortable Maiden; songs like "Futureal" and "When Two Worlds Collide" give me a similar feel to "Somewhere In Time", for example. "Como Estais Amigos" is a kind of ballad-ish song, but nicely melodic and has a nice instrumental big in the middle I really like. "Lightning Strikes Twice" has a great moody feel, and "The Clansman" is a "Braveheart" inspired epic that goes over well with most fans (myself included).
Overall an enjoyable album, although not as fast, exciting, or dangerous as the band is known for (interestingly enough, at about this same time, former Maiden guitarist Adrian Smith joined ex-vocalist Bruce Dickenson for a couple albums entitled "Accident of Birth" and "Chemical Wedding" that should please any fan of 80s Iron Maiden).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
Nothing wrong with blaze Bailey CD 3 or 4 songs stand out clansman angel and the gambler don't look in to an eyes of a stranger Como estmo amigo plus fact better purchase than some live as some songs Maiden droped x factor better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
I own every Iron Maiden studio album other than The X Factor and, until now, Virtual XI. I have deliberately avoided these two, as they were released during the time that the usual singer, Bruce Dickinson, left the band to pursue a solo career. They replaced him with Wolfsbane singer Blaze Bayley, who is regarded by most IM fans as a sub-par vocalist. I was one of those fans until recently. I decided to give this a chance, and actually Blaze is fantastic. The only problem is that everyone keeps comparing him to Bruce. He is not Bruce, and if you compare Blaze to anyone else you will see his vocal style really fits with Iron Maiden. Even if you still don't like his voice, it's still got the rest of the Iron Maiden lads (minus Adrian Smith), so you can still tell it's them. We have a lot to thank Blaze for anyway; Bruce left the band and made some great albums himself, and if Blaze hadn't been so unpopular, we might never have got Mr Dickinson back! Overall, a great album until you compare it to other Iron Maiden albums. But who cares? It's still IM, and therefore still one of the greatest albums of all time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
null