Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
50
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2001
Not even Ocean Colour Scene, who peaked with this late 90's britpop classic. The moment Steve Cradock starts with the opening to Hundred Mile High City, to the crescendo finish of It's A Beautiful Thing, the music is ebgulfing. Not since the the late 70's era of Queen and the Sex Pistls could a frontman be so charismatic. Not since Clapton or Hendrix could guitar sound so emotive. Not since ever was a bassist so cool. Not since Keith Moon a drummer/percusionnist with as much raw talent. And it shows. 13 tunes, a range of styles; from the roar of hundred mile high city to the pure emotion of better day to the folky besides yourself on to the crashing all up. Ocean Colour Scene excelled in writing music for the time. Although Moseley Shoals may have fared better, Marchin' Already is more complete. It is, however, not above criticism. Owing much to Weller, The Jam, Queen and 60's Britpop, this was not new cutting edge material. What it is, is a britpop album filled with tunes, crowd pullers, songs you remember entire summers by. A soundtrack for those who were there. Even if you weren't, listening to Marchin' Already, you feel as though you are there. Not the greatest album of all time, but buy probably in the top 10 from the 90's. No egos, no extras, just pure brilliant music
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2001
This is probably the best OCS album along with Mosely Shoals. The singles "Traveller's Tune" and "Hundred Mile High City" are probably the best example of OCS. I would recomend this album to be the first to get. I listen to it in the car, at home, on the bus, I play along to it on my guitar, and now my mum is listening to it! If that don't persuade ya then I give up. 10 out of 10!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 September 2013
After the huge success of Ocean Colour Scene's 'Moseley Shoals', this four-piece band stuck with the winning formula with it's successor 'Marchin' Already'.

The style remains the same, as does the songwriting, meaning that if you enjoyed 'Moseley Shoals', 'Marchin' Already' should be alongside it in your CD collection. If an album can knock Oasis' 'Be Here Now' off the top spot in the UK charts, you know it must have a certain quality.

'Marchin' Already' kicks off with 'Hundred Mile High City', which is probably best remembered as one of the tracks used in the hit film 'Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrells'. However, the whole album is five star material from beginning to end, Steve Fowler's vocals are clean and sincere, and melodic tunes like 'Debris Road' and 'Get Blown Away', and filled with emotion and never fail to sooth me.

The album is easygoing, relaxing and like I've said, soothing. With so many of the songs bursting with such hit potential, it's no surprise that 'Marchin' Already' spawned four UK hit singles: 'Hundred Mile City High', 'Traveler's Tune', 'Better Day' and 'It's A Beautiful Thing'. The latter of which remains one of my all-time favourite Ocean Colour Scene songs.

The '90s was a great time for music, and whilst Oasis and Blur (who are undeniably awesome bands, and whose albums I own) dominated the Britpop scene, Ocean Colour Scene deserve to be thought of in the same league - and here is why.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Rediscovering this album lately, it really is perfection, they should have been massive, no duff tracks songwriting excellence, a band at their creative peak, the next studio album Songs from the modern, is good but has no edge, so they never gave the promise attained by this album, and of course Moseley shoals is superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2001
since the moment i put marchin' already into my cd player, and Hundred Mile High City started to play i have been a fan of ocs. steve cradock on vocals is perhaps the most sincere vocalist i have ever heard, and with amazing support from the other 3 band members, this band really shines. it is one of those albums in which every track could have made a top 10 single. for me, the last track Its A Beautifull Thing, really encapsulates the time, when OCS were the darlings of the British Rock industry. far superioir to there contempories such as Blur and Oasis. So, buy this and listen, and you will drift away to a nostalgic time, when lager started to become fashionable to drink again, going out for a curry with the lads and Friday night was prologed by watching T.F.I friday with Chris Evans. Sheer brilliance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2006
As a follow up to 1996's leaner "Mosely Shoals", this feels like a sprawling album with a folky feel in places.

"Hundred Mile High City" sounded like it and was used in a Brit-gangster flick and is a striking opener. "Travellers Tune" is a retro-stomp that is quite appealing. "Half A Dream Away" is a pleasant enough bit of ska-lite with a lovely trombone slot in the middle. "It's A Beautiful Thing" collapsing under the weight of Brendan Lynch fiddling at the production desk, which is a shame, as had it been trimmed it could have worked.

The rest is a combination of folky tunes and some more stodgy guitar work-outs.

Not a step forward. Just a broader retro brush.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 1999
After listening to this album , i have to discovered OCS are the most underrated bands around.This album is brilliant,the guitar is played brilliantly thoughout and the songs have a wonderfull feeling.Hundred Mile high city is a classic driving song ,Better day is a great song to relax to , Debris Road just reminds me of summer again, Get blown away would have made a cracking single and it's a beautiful thing is a lovely song , It is such a pity the singles didn't make it higher in the charts because they should have done and all the songs are just so related to life and they are peformed brilliantly .What a Fantastic Album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2005
'Get Blown Away' is my favourite song of all time. Just listen to those lyrics and you'll be blown away right enough.
But this album is full of classics!
From the riff of 'Hundred Mile High', the bass on 'All Up' and Simon's vocals on 'Foxy's Folk Faced', the word perfection springs to mind. The strength of tune from track to track, this really puts all those pretentious one-hit wonders to shame.
So under-rated were the OCS during the Brit Pop era, but looking back it's obvious that they on music terms were by far the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2002
Proberbly the most spectacular and underrated rock album of the past few years. Their is no definable weakness on this 13 song journey through this Jam, Queen and not to mention Northern Soul influenced celebration of a time when brit pop was actually something to be proud of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 1999
This album is superb, If you haven't bought it already, get it now. Forget the other reviews, this is THE album to buy. It starts with 100 mile high city, maybe the best song ever written and goes on with other superb song, each one with its own special aura. GO GET IT.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.75
£3.99

Need customer service? Click here