Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2006
I was made aware of Stephen Bishop around the late seventies by my best mate who had the "Bish" album. It was an album of pure class with some great artists guesting such as Eric Clapton, Chaka Khan and Art Garfunkel.

His voice is very smooth, soft and quite distinctive, he did the backing vocals for Phil Collins on "This must be love" on the Face Value album.

This album is the "Careless" and "Bish" albums together and for anyone who may not have heard him, take a listen. It's an album to put on when your relaxed with a glass of wine and you can simply escape to the world through the mind of this unsung hero.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2000
Stephen Bishop was someone I was introduced to at university a long time ago. I spent ages trying to find his first two albums on vinyl, searching second hand shops and the internet, and what do I find? Almost all of both on one CD. It still sounds great and I recommend it for quiet nights in when a reflective mood suits!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2000
if you like your music nice and laidback,look no further than Stephen Bishop.This man is criminally underrated.Excellent songs,lovely arrangements-treat yourself.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2008
Having got into Stephen Bishop in the early '80s, I have only just rediscovered him. (I'll admit that 'Bowling In Paris' was a huge disappointment to me and I lost interest thereafter). How under-rated he is, though. The songs on this CD, (which is the cream of the first two albums), are beautiful compositions and exquistely constructed and played. The all-star line-up of musicians is the icing on the cake and at 70 mins this represents excellent value for money, too. Buy it now. This is one that you won't be putting into a charity shop after your next Spring clean!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 1999
This compilation contains several songs from "BISH'S" first two albums,Carless and Bish. Classic's like "on and on" , Looking for the right one , and save it for a rainy day are all featured on this one album...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2007
Stephen Bishop is one of those artists that a lot of people wouldn't necessarily recognise by name but would probably be familiar with some of his work.

This is a very good introduction with some very good tracks on it. "Careless" and the superlative "On and On" and "Little Italy" are the best known. But there is much more to Steven Bishop and this is worth buying.

He's not a stellar artist and I'm sure that he is comfortable where he is, but not all talent gets the full praise it deserves. Bishop is a writer and performer for the more serious minded listener and in that slot he is very good indeed.

Listen to "on and On" and "Little Italy" when you are sitting in your garden enjoying the sun with a glass of wine. I defy you not to let your mind drift off to a happy place.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
Although the album was good,it was bought as a present and the appearance of the case was poor. My husband thought that it was second hand as the case was broken. It was cheap but it should look new. Therefore 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
As good as easy listening gets. There is nothing ground breaking here just a master craftsman doing what he does. This covers virtual is full recorded output being almost all of both albums Careless and Bish. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Nothing but brilliant. First listened to vinyl in 1970's, but his voice and presentation improves.
Anyone liking guitar music with soft,melodic melodies will like Bish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
a bringing together of some of bish's finest work its a definat cd to have in you collection a must. it flow's like mikk and satin,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£26.41
£32.60

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)