Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

It's Hard
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 May 2009
I have always liked The Who since the sixties, and have been gradually building up a complete collection of their studio albums. This album almost completes the collection ('My Generation' is not on my wish list and the only remaining item is 'Odds and sods' which mostly duplicates tracks I already have).

Since I starting collecting and listening to Who albums I was not previously familiar with, my appreciation of The Who has increased.

The question about his album is whether it can really be"The Who" without Moon. The distinctive fills are certainly missing, but otherwise the sound and songs fit into The Who mould. Therefore, while this album is not one of their best, it is a worthwhile addition to The Who catalogue. It should not be dismissed and it should not be ignored. If it had been released by a group without The Who's background, it would probably have been declared a triumph. That said I would rate Tommy (preferably SACD if you play it back in surround) and Who's Next as better. For a live album - the Deluxe edition of Live at Leeds (which largely duplicates Tommy - showing they could do it live).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2016
Underrated because the who at this point in their career were considered dated, past it and out of fashion!! But if you listen to the songs they're very good!! Rogers vocals are powerful and Entwistles bass is at its heaviest!!! Best songs are cry if you want, I've known no war and eminence front!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2012
When originally released in the midst of the new romantic heyday, the albums cover pretty much summed up the latter day Whos situation, the Who had made the "sinful" decision to carry on after Keith Moons inevitable early death and became a more conventional rock band, which in the eyes of the media was heresy! But listening again now 30 years on (to a CD copy much better than my old vinyl one) I hear a very good melodic rock album that just lacks a classic single, but demonstrates they had still had plenty of invention and fire left in them. John Entwistle manages to write one of the highlights "Dangerous" and apart from "Cooks county" which is filler really, the rest is very good. The reissue comes with live versions of some of the tracks, some of which are better than the studio versions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2017
Good item thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2015
I knew it would be good because all their albums are good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2015
very good would use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2016
brilliant cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2014
Not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2015
The cover really says it all,4 band members staring to the front/future and clearly trying to leave the pinball wizard as depicted in the photo,behind them.
.
It's always amazed me how Daltrey can belittle people he works with/come in to the WHO FAMILY.to the detriment of his and the bands future..in this case Kenney Jones,who was in the impossible position of "do I play like Moonie,or do I play my way.."either way it seems would have upset Daltrey..He has also over the years has bad mouthed producers (Glyn Johns) and basically any backing vocalist,or other musician that has tried to broaden the sound.
This was and continues to be a good solid mixed album..which sadly most Who fans weren't that keen on..It really must do Townshends nut in..trying to expand the breadth of the Who's songs,and at the same time for some reason stay loyal(ish) to the original fans.Why is beyond me..as I only came to the WHO with WHO'S NEXT,..Live at Leeds and then worked backwards..until I was well acquainted with them,and upto date when Quadrophenia came out,which I loved and still do,same to varying degrees the not too
many albums,like this that have come since...Tommy I can take or leave..(GASP).
Poor Townshend for years he has been stuck in the situation where when other bands sound like/remind listeners of the Who..that sound is missed..Yet when they try and do something Who'ish people say they should move on sound different,..yet when they do..it gets slated as this did..Seems that Townshend is stuck between wanting to expand the type of songs the Who do..and keeping his favoured singer happy..sort of stuck between a FACE and a hardcase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)