Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
Ordinary Man
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 11 December 2017
Wonderful wonderful uplifting music. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
A good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
Very good early album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 8 July 2014
As I was walkin` home one evenin`
I know this takes some believin`
I met a group of creatures
With the strangest lookin` features.
A poor old dog with a worm and a weed
An` a fine old pigeon, yes indeed
Daddy longlegs jumped up sprightly
And danced a reel in the flickerin` light

With spidery-light guitar and Christy`s voice at its lightly lilting best, The Reel in the Flickering Light is a highlight not only of this classic set of songs but, I would say, of his whole career. And it`s not remotely political. Instead, it`s a lovely sprightly song by Colm Gallagher that pops up as the fifth track on this wonderful album from 1985, when yer man was forty.
And that`s not all. Want to hear a candidate for the most beautifully sung song you`ll ever hear? Sweet Music Roll On, which opens what was Side One, is by Graham Lyle and Tom McGuiness, and is so sublime I can`t find words to describe its beauty, except these inadequate cliches. Hear it and swoon.
Next is Delirium Tremens (a state with which CM was not unfamiliar) and it`s a vertiginous hoot, with a killer chorus.
Matty and The Diamond Drover are two more memorable songs on this most compelling of Christy Moore`s many records.
The rest of the songs are equally superb, but it`s the tipsily clandestine tale of the 'group of creatures' drunkenly dancing to the reel in the flickering light which is most unforgettable. Hope you love it as much as I do...

Oh, round we go
Heel to the toe
Daddy longlegs jumped up sprightly
And danced to the reel in the flickering light

Over several ever more gently whimsical verses, our roguish spider proves to be quite a lad, and something of a lady`s man (so to speak).

Unmissable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2007
This is a fine album from arguably the best singer-songwriter ever to have come out of the British Isles (let alone Ireland); certainly the best interpreter and communicator of a song in my view. There's everything you would hope for from Christy here, the soft, lilting Sweet Music Roll On, the surreal verses of Delirium Tremens - peppered with Irish references, the political comment of Ordinary Man, the tragic story of the Blantyre Explosion, the mystic tale of Matty, the sad parting of Diamontina Drover. And then at least as much again in the remaining six tracks. Christy's soft brogue is enchanting whatever the context and the musicianship is first class - notably some beautiful atmospheric whistle and pipe accompaniments courtesy of Liam O' Flynn, delightful harp-like keyboard effects from the multi-talented musician/producer Donnal Lunny and fine accordion work from Noel Bridgeman. But before you write this off as an Irish trad-folk offering I ought to mention there's also ample acoustic and electric guitar (Declan Sinnott)throughout. Christy has managed here to combine traditional and modern, serious and humorous in a perfect mix. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone with an interest in Christy's work or folk/protest music in general.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2001
Christy Moore has done it again, an awe inspiring, mouth watering collection of songs which make this man who he is today. He has captured the essence of Ireland and he has a distinct voice to allow easy listening. Well done Christy, once again!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
A bit of nostalgia here - had a copy destroyed in a house fire. Bought the original at a gig at Leeds Irish Club way back. One of the great political singers, and what a superb voice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2015
Excellent! One of his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
first class listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2016
In my opinion one of his best so another one I upgraded from tape to CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Ride On
£3.66
Lily
£4.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)