Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2000
The 'prog rock' group Twelfth Night never made it as big as they should have been, personel changes being one of the problems, along with the fact that they were better live than in the studio. This CD shows you just how good they were live.
This is a recording of final concerts with Geoff Mann as the lead singer over two nights at the Marque club (I was there both nights).
Originally released in the early 80's as a double album, this CD has three extra tracks. The songs are their best and the sound quality is great, (though the mixing of the bonus tracks leaves a lot to be desired.)
Everything's there! The short 'pop' songs, the long 'concept' tracks, the brilliant guitar work, the bizarre introductions and most of all the charisma of the much missed Geoff Mann.
You can feel the emotion. It brings a lump in my throat.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
Probably one of the best live acts I've ever seen, caught live at the Marquee Club.
The pure beauty of the songs coupled with the raw emotion of the crowd (of which I was one) witnessing the late great "Rocking Rev" (Geoff Mann) performing is second to none. The gigs at which this album was recorded were absolute classics. The album is the same.
The songs were performed beautifully, the intros (particularly to We are sane fantastic)
A brilliant album that every prog fan should regard as an essential buy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2002
A near flawless album that really puts over what the world lost when Geoff Mann met his untimely demise. The quality of the music is astounding, and the thought provoking lyrics are second to none. The power of some tracks such as 'freakshow' are beyond my mere words. There is a great contrast of material on this album from very strong tracks like 'sequences' (A comment on the hell experienced by the poor bloody infantry of WW1), to beautiful instrumentals such as 'the poet sniffs a flower'.
A classic prog album that doesn't sound dated even after twenty years, and a must for all those that like intelligent thoughtful lyrics.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
From the opening chords of "The Ceiling Speaks" to the final notes of the brilliant "Love Song" this Definitive Edition is the one all Twelfth Night fans must have. The full and unexpurgated final concerts featuring Geoff Mann on vocals took me back to the days when all I had was the vinyl LP. This, however, is so much more. There are no words to describe how brilliant this 2 CD set is. Yes, you could probably get it cheaper if you look around but getting it from Brian Devoil and Twelfth Night themselves gives a bit back to the band, and that means there are no losers!!! Buy it now, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
This is a review of the 2012 2CD Definitive Edition release on the F2 label.
It features the full set of TNs Marquee gigs of 4-5 November 1983, which were vocalist Geoff Mann's swan song. The set has been reconstructed from various sound sources (including 6 from the original vinyl release) so the sound quality is uneven, but it's the best record of a major moment in TN history that we're going to get.
Twelfth Night's music of this period is summed up in the strengths and weaknesses of Geoff himself. He was enormously engaging, creative, enthusiastic , energetic and a genuinely nice guy. His lyrics were intelligent with occasional really inspired lines ("If every time we tell a lie a little fairy dies/They must be building death camps in the garden"). He was, however at best a moderately talented singer and as time went on his religious views came increasingly to intrude into his lyrics (eg on the Ceiling Speaks and the Collector) so much so that there was a real danger of the band becoming a Christian rock outfit, and I can't imagine a worse fate than that.
Much of the music is excellent. The Ceiling Speaks is a classy rocky opener, We Are Sane is a classic prog protest at abuse of power,the encore East of Eden is the best rendition of that piece I have heard and the finale (Love Song) is powerful and moving. For fans of the original instrumental TN we have the beautiful electric/classical guitar duet the End of the Endless Majority, the Camelesque the Poet Sniffs a Flower and the old classic Afghan Red.
If you appreciate intelligent progressive rock with fine musicianship you should enjoy this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2000
Wasn't there, wish I was, absolutely brilliant. Prog rock at its very best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
Got this on an original vinyl LP in mint condition so i know what to expect musically and love it. I only hope now that when i do get it it's not going to be a shoddy homemade type CD. watch this space !UPDATE...Received my CD today ( 3/7/2013 )a lot earlier than expected and absolutely chuffed. Did not expect 2 CD's one containing unreleased tracks. also the booklet with photos and lyrics to all songs.If you are a Twelfth Night fan and have not already got this,get it. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This 2CD version is a complete record of the original gig. The new recordings have been slotted into the original. After the first couple of listens I have started playing the originals and omitting the newer tracks especially The Collector. The problem is the noticeable difference in recording quality. I think it would have worked better if they had produced the original and put the left out tracks on the second CD as they have done with Live at the Target. Still love the album great recording of a great band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
A great album. I used to have it on vinyl and it is great to own it again. It sounds as good as it ever did - with bonus tracks too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I was lucky enough to be present at these recorded gigs, and have a vinyl copy of the original version.
However, this is better by far (more tracks, much better and clearer sound) and it has not left my platter...
As for dealing with the Main Man himself, Brian Devoil has been very friendly, quick and informative.
Altogether a great experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£21.56

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)